We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a nice time at the marti” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marti Resort de Luxe

Save Saved
You added Marti Resort de Luxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marti Resort de Luxe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cumhuriyet Mah. 78. Sok. No:2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 hotels in Icmeler
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“had a nice time at the marti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

my partner and i work in the travel industry and have stayed in a variety of hotels from 2* up to 5* all over the world. we booked the marti because of its location and the reviews seemed ok. On Google Earth the hotel looked like it was in a good location and we werent disappointed. Icmeler is quite a nice town and there are restaurants and bars a short walk away.On wednesdays there is a market where you can get lots of bargains.You can get into Marmaris easily enough if you want to visit there.

As regard to the Marti. We really enjoyed our stay there. We paid £400 each to go All Inclusive and i would say that it was worth it.

Starting off with the rooms. The rooms are a little dated and ours didnt have a balcony as it faced towards the mountain. The room has a safe and a fridge in it which i like so you can keep your valuables safe and keep water/beers cold. Not much else to say about the rooms really.

The food. Cant believe what some people say about the food.Thought is was excellent.We took full advantage off AI and had BK,Lunch,afternoon tea,Dinner.There was a wide variety of food which was all tasty. I would love to know what some people eat at home if they thought that there wasnt enough variety. Once during the stay you could eat at the Groto Italian restaurant which you ordered from a menu.This food was also good.

The drinks. Most of the time i had beer and the other half had wine. Again as we were AI we didnt need to worry about the cost. The fridge in the room is refilled with a couple of small bottles of water each day unless you have the do not disturb on outside the room. One thing i would say is that during a meal it is better to order a couple of drinks each as the staff can be busy during meal times.

The Staff. The staff worked hard.One of the waiters seemed to be on duty the whole week without a break. The animation team were ok. They didnt have much success getting people involved in daytime activites apart from water polo. At night the entertainment was ok it did the job but no more.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Marti and would recommend it and would go back. I would say that anybody staying at the hotel should stay all inclusive as the cost of the drinks if you are paying is very expensive. I didnt notice that prices in general in Turkey have gone up in recent years and even a beer outside the hotel wasnt that cheap. Is it 5* if you bear in mind it is a tourist hotel in a tourist location i would say yes.

PROS
good location
excellent food

CONS
expensive for drinks if not all Inclusive
rooms a little dated

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    200
    81
    26
    15
See reviews for
217
311
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

June 2008
Just returned from Ichmeler after a horrific week of poor service, intolerable incompitense from staff, rip off prices when on Half board, 9 lira for a tiny glass of wine, which is exactly the same wine served by the bottle to all inclusive guests. No international wines to choose from, similiar buffet every night, no al a carte menu. I booked a wheelchair accessible room on the ground floor with Hotels4you.com this was confirmed, I also emailed the Marti direct informing them of my special needs and that I could not walk. They replied suggesting the best room suitable was the de-luxe, on arrival 05.00 a.m.we were shown to our room which to our horror had 4 steps to the sitting area and balcony and was not ground floor.
Back; to reception, we waited until 9.00a.m.for the manager who eventually found us a standard room on the 4th floor, it was now 12.00p.m. the next day and we had been up all night, it seems that all de-luxe rooms have steps.
On the 3rd night the lift broke so we could not gop out or even get our dinner, so we had room service which was cold and taen from the buffet, then the waiter had the cheek to ask for a tip, it was not my fault the lift was broke, so why tip, he even offered to get change from reception.On checking out no refund of the supplement fo a de-luxe room, no apology or anything was offered. All in all, don't go!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whittlesey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

12 years ago my wife and I visited Icmeler ,so we decided to return this year and see the difference. We booked with Eclipse-one week before we were due to go, they informed us the builders were still in the hotel!I wrote to Eclipse but they ignored my letter!! We paid an additional £139 to travel Premier-what a mistake-we were surrounded by small children and parents were changing nappies!!

The journey from the airport to Icmeler is far too long-almost 2 hrs!
The hotel-on entering it is very impressive -the gardens and outdoor pools are too. Our allocated room was described as a mountain view--
what a joke!It overlooked a builders yard and a tennis court-the mountains ?-hid behind a row of trees 80 ft high!

We never saw the sun once. The rooms are very dated and need serious attention. The best rooms seem allocated to the Germans and Russians--Eclipse take the inferior rooms!

The restaurant looks impressive but that is really it -the food is NOT 5 STAR--unless you like eggs for breakfast there is not a great deal ( the bread is good )-dinner consists of salad mainly( which is cheap to provide ) and every variation of chicken ( again cheap ) -choice is even less if one doesn't get there by opening time. Sometime a " trio of gentlemen " play suitable music which is nice. Prices in the hotel are atmospheric-a small glass of carbonated water is £2 and a small beer is almost £3 -we didn't even look at the wine !

Of Icmeler--we were very,very disappointed-it has lost all it's character and charm--small intimate shops and restaurants have been replaced with "head banging, loud music places "--the owners still make one's life a misery all the time trying to get into conversation to eventually get you into their shop/rest.---this gets all TOO MUCH after a couple of days!

And how the British holiday maker has changed- for the worse ! Huge over weight ,tatooed bodies--covered in gold chains etc--I was ashamed to be part of the "Brits" there--what on earth the reserved Germans thought of these "people" I do not know! What has gone wrong with our country that we turn out more and more of this type?

Icmeler was cheap years ago, not now--many of the items for sale are cheaper and of better quality in England-shop keepers were complaining of terrible trading-trade killed by All Inclusive Hotels.

Beware, several people had been conned by internet deals adv. 5 Star hotels, all incl. but when they arrived they were disgusting places.
Would we return? -NO---Turkey is not what it used to be-but the people are lovely-tourists have spoilt it-especially the so called British.

  • Liked — Great setting near the beach-secluded
  • Disliked — Almost non-existent entertainment in the pm-poor quality and choice of food-prices-rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

went to the marti in sept 07 and had the best holiday ever. the staff were remarkable the only let down was the reception staff who always had a face on no matter what time of day it was. the food wasnt as nice as i had hoped but i did tend to judge it on last time i visited turkey. overall i had a fab time. the location is just right too and its literally a five min walk into icmeler but its a really enjoyable walk. right on the beach front too and it is a lovely beach. i found that drinks in the hotel were very expensive if you dont go all inclusive. luckily we were but you still get a bill that is set at 0.00 but you can still see what it should have cost. i did think the all inclusive was well worth it as it was proper spirits and mixers and the mini bar in the room was great. if the noticed you were drinking more wine than anything else they would stock you up with extra. i will definatley be visiting this hotel again without a doubt!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London Finchley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Before booking a trip to this resort, ask yourself, do I want a holiday in a resort where every bar is showing the footy, selling indian mexican italian and chinese, showing Big Brother on the Big screen and the vendors shout out "oi mate cheaper than Asda"
If that is your idea of a holiday ( and when I was younger the answer would have been YES) then skip my review.

I have now been six times to Turkey and this is the first time I have experienced a Canaries/Magaluf feeling. I did not like it, even though this is clearly one of the best hotels in the area.
The rooms are poor and certainly not 5 Star. You are only allowed one key. This is to stop you leaving one of the keys in the room to keep the air con on all day, which you need to do as it is not very efficient. The rooms are clean and adequate but the new hotels near Antalya are so much better. This suffers from being older and established and well, just not new.
The food is more than adequate, a huge breafast buffet. Be sure to take your cheese and fruit from underneath. That way there is less chance that the flies and wasps will have landed on them.
There is no air conditioning in the restauarant, much of it is in the open anyway and if you like to smoke this is heaven for you! I had no real complaints about the food even if the banana, like stars, only come out at night and if you are late down they will all be gone, taken by others wanting one with their breakfast. Several chefs cooking fresh food, Turkish Pizza being made all though dinner, pasta, lots of bread, of all kinds, fresh grilled fish, good Turkish night. All in all the food is good though all the guests who had been before complained that it was far worse than in previous years. Just remember the wine at Dinner is really really bad. Better to buy a bottle outisde ( not cheap) and drink it before you come down. The drinks and ice cream etc are all expensive ( well Turkish 5 Star) but pop downstars and its all half price just outside the hotel.
Also, although the Brits are the biggest group, we dont dominate and the international flavour of the guests, lots of Dutch not too many Germans, the Russians prefer the beach (Yep the Russians make the Germans seem like saints!). However step outside into Icmeler and you are transported into Lanzarote, and Magaluf with roast beef, Ello mate, cheaper than Morrisons all over the place. Blackpool in the sun. not my choice. There are so many better places to visit in Turkey.
There are many good points. The resort has lots of room and no need to worry about getting a chair or shade, even in the last two weeks of August. we had no problem with wasps other than a few in the restaurant on the food,The pool can be very very noisy,especially when the entertainment team are working. Dont try to sleep by the pool. The entertainment team do try and get you involved but soon left me alone and let the teenagers join in.

The hotel and resort are in a magical setting a lovely bay, a shingly beach ( can get very hot in high season),not stony. It is a most beautiful spot.

I can understand why visitors go back. However I have been to similar priced hotels in other parts of Turkey ( see Gloral Golf in Belek) where the rooms are bigger and better, the air cond works and you have the choice of a la carte restaurants at no extra cost.
I wont be returning

  • Liked — Beauful views, Lots of room by the pools Nice comfortable beds by the ppol
  • Disliked — Old Hotel with unattractive rooms, Noisy, Didnt like the resort
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

Lovely hotel, but the rooms and restaurant/canteen/service are not in the 5 star class the hotel sees itself as. We eventually had to pay £10 a night supplement for a room with a balcony and a view out to the coastline (worth it to us). The original room we were offered had a lovely view over the laundry(not) and the bathroom tiles had a lot of black mould showing. We were admittedly there in very hot weather but the AC did not cool the room at all, we bought a medium sized fan for £20 while in Marmaris and that sorted the problem.
A whisky from the room mini-bar was equivalent to £10 and a vodka £6, beer at the bars around 4-5 pounds a pint and cocktails £6 a shot. The meanest thing the hotel did was to shut off all the water and juice dispensers in the restaurant at night to force you into buying drinks if they were required.
The opening hours at night are 7-9:30 but the dishes start to get cleared away about 9:15, closing at 9:30 is what it means, dont wander in at 9:25 and expect any favours. I complained to the manager about the potatoes being finished at 9:00 one night and he called over the chef to ask why. The chef replied that there were plenty chips left and I should have them instead...5 stars eh !. My wife and I just thought the restaurant was so badly run its comical, the wine list never appears and you cant get a large glass of wine you have to buy two small ones and then go find yourself a big glass, when ordering water its just a bottle that appears (7 times the price it is at the local shops), you then have to DIY it for glasses and ice.
The pitza oven is in full swing every night and its excellent breads go well with the nightly spaghetti dishes, the Turkish stews in the clay pots didnt look so good but tasted lovely .
Breakfast is great if you like eggs, but dont expect bacon or sausages to go with it, bacon seved once in 14 days, beans about 4 times and sausages maybe twice but once was enough for me anyway. The milk is creamy but cold and refreshing and plenty cereals.
The pools, beach and gardens are excellent and really well laid out, join in with the water polo, pool and beach volleyball and you soon get to know the entertainment team and have a bit of banter with them. There are loads of pubs, cafes and ATMs close bye so If you can keep smiling in the restaurant (very difficult) you could have a great time like we did and my wife was wishing she had booked 3 weeks even with all the faults.

  • Liked — good sized room with sea view
  • Disliked — AC not up to the job.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Returned yesterday from another week at the Marti Hotel following our stay in Sept 2006 and looking to go again in Sept!

We were looking forward to the refurbishment of the rooms which apparantly happened over the winter as this is really the only thing that lets this hotel down. Disappointed that it was only a lick of cream paint. Our bathroom really needed re-doing and the grouting was awful. I complained to reception for a room change but unfortunately the hotel was full so we had to put up with it for the rest of the week. Fortunately the rest of the hotel made up for this short coming.

The air conditioning isn't great and is only on at certain times of the day though I'm not sure about when it reaches the scorching temperatures during July & Aug. Previous review also said that the mini bar did give out a lot of heat and didn't keep the drinks all that cold which we also found to be the case.

Our week, the hotel was full with a large amount of rowdy Russians (who seem to spend all day at the bar!) though this wasn't the case in September.

This is a lively, fun hotel (where people actually speak to each other!) with daytime activities and music around the pool at certain times but then also quiet times.

Spent most nights at the Dream Boys Bar on the Canal. Just can't beat that place for atmosphere and fun and great friendly staff that are great dancers, so make sure you visit and get Yahyah to deliver your cocktails to you balanced on his head!

Oh, remember to take insect repellant and bite cream, I think that end of June/July is their peak time. Lovely brown legs complete with unsighly bites!

  • Liked — The pool area, the views across the bay, the food and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — The rooms, air conditioning, bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marti Resort de Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marti Resort de Luxe

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. 78. Sok. No:2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#15 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marti Resort de Luxe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martı Resort Deluxe, the unique architectural design of our hotel brings it to a cut above among the other hotels in Marmaris. Its construction, consisting of stones and wood combined with wonderful gardens makes a pleasant impact on to the guests. It is located in the most beautiful part of Icmeler Bay and has the cleanest beach in Marmaris region. Our beach was awarded the "Blue Flag" award. Marti Resort is located on 31.134 sqm and has separated 4 buildings included in 257 full renovated rooms, 11 suite rooms and 12 Deluxe Villas which have the sea, side sea or garden views. Two board options are given to the guests; Halfboard or Ultra all inclusive. Marti Resort Hotel was opened with 30 rooms in 1969 and started its operation in Turkish tourism sector in 1970. With additional buildings, reconstructions and renovations done by the years our hotel has reached its capacity of today and became a 5 star complex. Marti Resort, as a leading brand name, always helped to improve the tourism in Icmeler, always supported the economy of the country and enabled a high standard of life to local people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marti Resort de Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marti Resort De Luxe Hotel Icmeler
Marti Hotel De Luxe
Marti Resort Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marti Resort de Luxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.