We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday can't wait to go back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mares Hotel Grand Yazici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mares Hotel Grand Yazici to your Saves list
Mares Hotel Grand Yazici
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Mah Ataturk CD, Icmeler 48720, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Icmeler
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great holiday can't wait to go back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Have just returned from a two week stay at the mares (21st April to 5th May). What a wonderful time we have had. I traveled with my husband and 3 children aged 10, 3 and 2, on reading some of the reviews on here we were not sure what to expect, we arrived at 4.30am n were the second from last drop off, on arrivel the porter got our cases from the coach n took them inside for us, check in was fast and we were even asked if we were hungry and wanted anything to eat, which I found rather nice considering the time of day. We had booked a two bedroom family room n I thought that it would be in the bungalow part of the complex, which we had read on here that it was dated n not very nice, but we were given 2 rooms in the maid building on the first floor, (1150 and 1152) they were lovely, spacious and clean n had interconnecting doors between them. Twin beds in both rooms n a sofa bed in each, large walk in shower, sink n toilet in both bathrooms. Great having the use of 2 bathrooms with us having 3 kids. After a few hours sleep we got up for breakfast, huge buffet restaurant, with lots of choice, we were bit worried after reading that the food wasn't great but there was always lots to choose on every meal time, from cereals, fruit, continental n hot breakfasts to the usual mix of salards, hot food and deserts to die for at lunch n dinner times. Always chicken on n always chips n pizza along with the other lovely things. All the waiters were great n very helpful, ours was called fathie n he was excellent, never short of drinks n he remembered what we were drinking so didn't need to ask.
The pool areas were great with plenty of sunbeds to go around, large pool n kids pool on bottem area then up some steps to another large pool where the water slides come out into n another children's pool. Most of the pool side entertainment happens near the main large pool at the bottem area. We stayed near the water slides n other kids pool as it was quieter n had both pools to our selves on most days!. We found a smashed glass in the kids pool on our second week, when we told the life guard he quickly got the pool shut off until it had been cleaned of every last peace of glass. Was very impressed by how fast they delt with it.
The entertainment team work hard through the day n night, kids club open every day even though when we got to the hotel it wasn't very full n they had no kids in it, evening entertainment was hit n miss on the first week as it was the start of the season n hotel not that busy, live bands in sultan bar most nights but it was the same acts that played both weeks, there was a mini disco for kids every night at 9pm same songs every night which was good n bad, at least the kids got to learn the dances by repeating them over n over.
Did a boat trip in the first week, booked it with a man stood on the sea front near hotel. It was called the grand yazici mares boat trip n cos £10 per adult n £5 for children over 6yrs. this had to be the highlight to our trip, were taken around to different bays where we were given swim breaks then lunch at one bay (which is included in the price) n a short stop for some retail therapy where u put ya haggling skills to test. Had to pay for our drinks on board but the entire trip only cost us around £55 for all of us for the full day. Booked the cleopatra trip thru our rep, this was £80 for us all but well worth it, picked up by jeep n taken on a safari thru beautiful countryside to a waiting boat that we had lunch on then it took us to cleopatra island, where we could see the famous beach n swim in the sea n take a short walk around the island to see some of the Roman ruins, then back to the jeeps which took us back to the hotel. Great day out n the jeep drivers stay with u all day n they were sooooo funny. also booked the shoppers trip thru our rep which was £5 per adult n £2.50 per child over 6yrs, this was great value for money as u were picked up n taken by coach to a gold shop, leather outlet, Turkish delight factory, the covered bezzar in marmaris n then to the market to haggle ya heart out. (Great fun)
All in all this was a great holiday, we had never been to turkey before but we are already planning to return next year to the mares as it is set in a great position to explore or to just lay back n enjoy th beautiful surroundings!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    238
    134
    82
    51
See reviews for
345
236
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Decided to book this hotel as a package via Thomas Cook as they offered a great package deal and the dolphin park next to the hotel sold it for me. The hotel as most people say isn't a true 5* more a 4 but I have never stayed in turkey before so not sure what other hotels are like to judge. The location and the decor etc is most definite 5* but I feel the food and lack of service I received made it almost a poor 3 star at times.

We where given a room on the 2nd floor of the main building which faced the dolphins so the room itself was excellent and everything was clean. Only issue wih the room is that our fridge was broken and twice we asked for it to be fixed and was told by the reception that they would send someone to repair it but they never did.

The food was awful had to eat out a few nights so didn't really get my moneys worth of the all inclusive. Ended up eating bread and cheese for most of the holiday. Although I admit I am a fussy eater there has never been an issue which any other hotel. Nothing was plain it all had sauces and veg in it. I even asked the staff if it was possible to maybe make something plain like a cheese pizza and they said no. The food was cold and the meat was tough and chewy and they served greasy wedges instead of chips most nights. We also weren't asked once if we would like our drink refreshed at the all inclusive buffet where others mainly 40+ year olds where waited hand and foot on. There was also small red spiders crawling all over the tables and onto my food. I feel they concentrated on making the salad area look amazing and not enough time
And effort into the real food. Hardly any selection either although breakfast was slightly better as they had a fantastic chef dedicated to making eggs of all forms.


However the two restaurants that are free the Italian and Turkish one are amazing. You can have lunch here everyday for free with no reservation. It differs slightly from the evening menu but serves burgers, pasta and pizza etc and fantastic staff who can't do enough for you. I really recommended them book as many evening meals as you can and go at lunch. Also if you want more food ask
And they will bring your a few sides or another main.

The staff at the suttons bar were also amazing and beach bar as well. Although the staff not all but some at reception
Are useless and one in particular is rather unpleasant. Not sure of her name but she is a young blonde Turkish girl who appears dead behind the eyes. When you ask her a question she stirs at you blankly and palms you off to someone else without a smile or anything.

In addition when I asked the staff where the beach bar was they just pointed out the door or I asked on another occasion where the evening entertainment was and they shrugged and didn't know.

The hotel itself is in a great location there is a bus stop outside the hotel which goes to icmeler and marmaris for about £1.75 return pp which is great and they run a lot. The hotel itself is a bit of a maze and not much signs, took me an hour to find the beach bar. However it is based on the strip of marmaris and you can walk basically in a straight line to the centre with lots of restaurants and bars on the way which is nice. One tip is never buy from self owned markets there is supermarkets which have set prices which are much cheaper. We paid 3lira for a bottle of water on the strip and the found some for 0.50lira at a supermarket.

If you have the time visit the dolphins its amazing it's only £34 to meet them and you get to kiss, stroke and play with them. I was a little worried about the dolphin park being cruel but it's the opposite they are feed constantly the pools they live in are very deep I couldn't even see the dolphin when it drived to the bottom and the staff are amazing clearly animal lovers and they aren't Turkish more carribean.

Another tip is that if you don't like Germans or Russians then this hotel isn't for you as its full of them and are loud and Ignorant but I think Turkey is full of them so can't blame the hotel for this.

All in all the hotel is pleasant and great location just the food and lack of service to myself was a huge let down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

when we first arrived we were received by a very unfriendly member of staff at the reception he didn't even greet us or smile so we were really worried thinking that we had come to a beautiful place with unfriendly people, the porter that took our bags to the rooms was very cheerful and it was a great relief and the rest of the staff were very friendly especially the animation team kept the kids entertained throughout our stay. there were so many activities to choose from but they are quite expensive so be prepared to pay that extra bit. not a lot of evening entertainment

Room Tip: stayed in the villas, they are quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey ci
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are just back from our first trip to Turkey, we chose Marmaris because family had been there. We decided to go all inclusive and After looking at numerous brochures my mind was set on the Mares. Well what an EXELLENT chose! The hotel was nice, the food was absolutely fantastic and the staff even better! We had a 14 yr old boy who spent most of his time with the entertainment staff and a 6 year old who got lots of attention from the staff. I have to make a special mention of Kristina who was brilliant (especially our last day when our son went walk about) and Alison and Kenan all from entertainment and Fatih (hope spelling right) in the main restaurant who couldn't do enough for us! Even the bar/restuarant manger was great fun, really made the guests welcome. There was great entertainment through the day and every night eventhough it's not in season yet and a mini disco for the little kids and kids club in the afternoon. The only slight downside was the bungalows needed refurbishing. But we didn't spend much time in it anyway, there was so much going on! Would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you have children! We will be going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Went with partner and 2 kids. The hotel was obviously not a 5 star , but was still very nice. There is no proper beach, and the hotel is in a quiet setting, and is suited for families and couples. There is not a lot to do, but sunbathe, swim and eat !!! If you do want more you can get a cab to Marmaris , which is 10 minutes away.
We went to Marmaris for a Roman bath, which was lovely, and we went on a day trip to Pamukkale, which was amazing , but it was a long day.
There are only 2 pools in the hotel, which are not heated, so were a bit cold in Easter, but would be ok in summer when it is hotter in the region.
The staff at the hotel are lovely, but very hard to communicate as only very few spoke English, and even when they didn't understand you, they still nodded and agreed with you, so you were under the impression they did understand you, very frustrating!!
The hotel, was one of the nicest in the region, and the food was lovely, although I did get fed up by the end of the week, because there were not a lot of hot vegetarian options.

Room Tip: The rooms which are in the main hotel are the most recently refurbished, and are therefore the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time writing a review on our holidays and I think it does deserve one. I had my doubts about this holiday as it wasn't the hotel we booked previously. But after a fight with Thomas cook online we cancelled the first hotel and was told by Thomas cook at shop to book this one.

We arrived at the hotel with the bellboy taking our luggage off coach and showed us to our hotel so we didn't have to lift a finger. Our room was lovely and clean and the beds were proper thick mattresses not the thin ones you usually get. Pillows were also plump and thick just the was we like them lol.

As we went in April weather was a bit hit and miss with 2 days rain and a few overcast but when we did have sun it was hot. Entertainment was ok with a band and a couple singers. There is also a kids club for up to ages 12. Manager was a good highlight for us with his dance moves he pulled out on the dance floor. The staff there were so friendly and couldnt do enough for you,especially one member of staff Cumali. He was our main highlight of the holiday and we were glad we met him. Also kenan another entertainer was also lovely and took time out to come and talk to us. Borak the waiter was also another great member of staff and his English is brilliant.

Food was lovely and the 2 restaurants are nice to eat at. I especially loved the pizzeria and the margarita pizza is to die for. Will miss that pizza lol. It's cooked to order and the burgers are also cooked to order. The indoor food is also lovely but do go when they open as it does tend to get cold if you go to late. Drinks are good measures and food is on nearly all day. Only disappointment was the ice cream on a day was not included in the all inclusive only after 6.30.

We will defiantly be visiting marmaris again but not at this time of year as everyone was out working the beaches and hotels for the main season to begin. I would defiantly go back to this hotel again as long as the staff there stay there!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Ideal location for family holiday. We had a great time. Friendly staff bent over backwards for us.

Only downside is non-heated outdoor pool with no indoor pool so difficult to get the kids swimming.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mares Hotel Grand Yazici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mares Hotel Grand Yazici

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah Ataturk CD, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#13 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#26 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mares Hotel Grand Yazici 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mares Hotel Grand Yazici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mares Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mares Hotel Grand Yazici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.