We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to watch the sun go down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla de Javea

La Perla de Javea
Avenida Libertad, 21, 03730 Javea, Spain
966470772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 235 restaurants in Javea
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place to watch the sun go down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have not eaten here for years. The restaurant has definitely gone up market, but "cuisine minceur" has a special significance here. The greeting was friendly and we sat at a good table to watch night draw over the Arenal Beach. We ordered a bottle of white wine, some sparkling water and fish. I had "Sole fillets with fine herbs" and my partner the cod. There was a small "amuse guele which was delicious and then the main courses arrived. Both dishes were excellently presented, but I could swear that my sole consisted of fillets taken from fishes that were less than 12cm long since they seemed to be entire fillets, but each of the six was tiny. There was also a tiny portion of vegetables and 2 smallish new potatoes halved. My partner's cod was a decent chunk of white fish but again, there was very little in the way of vegetables just a skim of potato mash.

To be fair, the flavours were magnificent, though I thought my fine herb sauce was a little salty, but the lack of vegetables made for a disappointing meal For desert I had "home made" truffles and my partner the fresh pineapple. The pineapple was excellent, but the truffles lacked sweetness - I have bought better in supermarkets.

On the plus side, the kitchens were on display at the back of the restaurant and looked immaculate; in addition the toilets were clean, but I felt that at €75 for the two of us, the price was too high for what we got.

If you wish to go, make certain to book a window table and arrive before dusk. Then the spectacular view of the sun going down behind Montgo makes up for the lack of vegetables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    26
    26
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We wanted a restaurant that did great paella, so a quick google and trip advisor search and we came across this restaurant, and what a find!

The decor was modern and clean and we had a great table overlooking the beach shore line.

Service was quick, polite and helpful. I asked the waiter to bring a good white wine to compliment our meal and we were served with a beautiful Sauvignon Blanc.

We red red croquettes and calamari to share between us as a starter, then two shared mixed seafood paella and I shared lobster paella with the mrs. Both were nothing short of sublime, we were craving good paella and we hit the jackpot!

Lobster was beautifully cooked with flavoursome rice. The mixed seafood had large mussels and prawns as accompanying showpieces, and the rice was a deeper flavour to compliment the meatiness of the shellfish.

Excellent meal, would highly recommend. Not the cheapest but well worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Place To Get Out Of The Rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to Javea and walked down to Arenal. The rain came so we needed to find somewhere to keep dry and have some food! La Perla was the location and very pleased we were to have stopped there. I thought the service and the food were of a high order and if it weren't for the fact that we were on a day trip we would certainly have gone back for a meal in the evening. There are great views out over the beach and the sea and we enjoyed our time out of the rain!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived without a booking and were offered a table at the back of the restaurant, fair enough we didn't expect to be given the best table in the house, the waiter suggested to me to have the "catch of the day"' which turned out to be 2 pieces of dry and overcooked fish, one tiny under cooked potato and a few strips of courgettes with an eighth of a roasted onion, all for 22€.
The noise in the restaurant was overwhelming, noisy children and adults who could only communicate with each other by shouting. service was ok and I would totally agree that the staff were so busy falling over the Spanish customers that the rest of the restaurant was forgotten. This was a very expensive meal for decidedly average food, we won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unhelpfull Waiters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked a table on the front for 8.30pm arrived and we were seated just as we requested, the problem was that the sun was shining so bright that I couldn't see I tried to change my seat to the other side on the table and was told in "no" I couldn't do that. so with my mascara dripping down my face unable to see the menu we sat there until the sun went behind the mountain.
I have eaten there many times over the last 10-12 years but felt that that they were no longer interested in English Tourists and were just drooling over Spanish Visitors food was good but that's what you would expect for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla de Javea also viewed

Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Perla de Javea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla de Javea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.