We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla de Javea

La Perla de Javea
Avenida Libertad, 21, 03730 Javea, Spain
966470772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 254 Restaurants in Javea
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This looked a lovely restaurant and so my Husband & I decided to go here the only night we managed to escape the rest of the family! The setting was superb, we were given a lovely table over looking the beach the only problem was the sun was still beating down and so this made it rather uncomfortable, had we have eaten an hour or so later it would have been fine (we went in at just after 8pm). We ordered the mixed Paella and was very disappointed with it. My husband had cooked one a couple of evenings before and I hated to admit to him but his was so much tastier. There really wasn't much seafood in just alot of squid rings (and we do love squid). The service was very good just wouldn't rush back as there were other restaurants with better food and slightly less expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Another pearl of a restaurant on the seaside in Javea. Great food, lovely views over the bay of the Arenal beach and excellent service. We had fish as stater and main course and for us it was superb. Not cheap but worth the money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overpriced..... Food nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Four of us ate there last evening
Two of us had the garlic prawns to start...take my advice & don't order them! They tasted very nice, but 18 Euros for three small king prawns is an absolute rip off!!!!... 6 Euros a prawn???.. I don't think so!!!!
One of us had a fillet steak which looked good & was a good size & was of good quality, but if you ask for a medium steak, it will come quite rare
The rest of us had a mixed paella.... This was not the best I've ever had... Quite overlooked & very greasy with not much in the way of ingredients
The setting of the restaurant is good & the service was fine, but the food was disappointing ...probably wouldn't go again

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful view with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have eaten here consistently over the last 5 years and it never fails with the quality of food and of course the view of a Javea sunset makes it special. We have been with our family and friends and as a couple in the summer and in the storms of winter. Always a great welcome, service and food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best paella in Javea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have tried many restaurants for paella, until we tried La Perla.

A great location in front of the Arenal with very friendly staff.
Have a large menu with lot´s of dishes to choose from. The paella is very tasty and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla de Javea also viewed

Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Perla de Javea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla de Javea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.