We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming restaurant- still delivering a good formula” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante los Almendros del Montgo SC.

Restaurante los Almendros del Montgo SC.
Calle Muela 4, 03730 Javea, Spain
+34 965790104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 235 restaurants in Javea
Price range: $20 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming restaurant- still delivering a good formula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have visited her most holidays for past six or seven years and happy to find its car park still full and the menu del dia still as good as ever. Excellent value with good quality wine included. We felt welcome and this is far from an expat restaurant. We made two trip in the evenings in past weeks and each time there were many family groups with older children, like our own, and all nationalities. The restaurant is configured in a way which allows privacy and a choice of inside or out.inevitably some dishes are more to ones taste than others but we all ate very well! Stand out choices were stuffed mussel starter and the grilled sole and braised beef cheeks as mains.the service can get stretched at times but is good natured and we had good evenings there. If you want the paella you need to give a days notice which we hadn't realised. We will try on another visit as the French family party of ten eating it on next table clearly liked it! Do try if in Montgoarea. We love the menu and the little touches..like the glasses of soup and aioli and bread too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    17
    18
    4
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed a great evening at this restaurant eating from the Menu of the day which gives you a great quality meal but without racking up a huge bill.

The food was excellent, the plates were pretty clean when they cleared away each course and the staff and surrounding gave you the feeling of it being a very high quality place.

Would not hesitate to recommend visiting this place, number of changes that have only improved the restaurant even further.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still Excellent Value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Whilst back in Javea, I visited this restaurant on three occasions.
The food was and still is excellent but the service on the first two visits was a little slow.
However, this did not put us off. Again for the money paid for the Menu Del Dia ( 14,95 euros)
its still outstanding value. We has a complimentary starter plus Bread and Ali Oli.
3 further courses with a wide choice plus coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very poor service, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were told about Los Alemendros by some people we met whilst on holiday so thought we'd give it a try. Hmm... the problem with this restaurant is that there aren't enough staff. The wait time between courses is anywhere between 35 mins and 1 and 1/5. We had two staff to approx 70 people on the night we went. We got there at 6.30 and were one of two couples there.... it still took 40 mins for our starter to come out....It then went from bad to worse. It's not the staffs fault - they were very friendly and apologetic - there just aren't enough of them. I was also disppointed with the food. I ordered the lamb chops and they came out all bone and no lamb :(. I guess you get what you pay for - the menu del dia ( 4 courses and 1/2 a bottle of wine) is 14.95 EUR) But in this part of Spain you expect more for that kind of money. Lovely setting, great location but a big let down :( We wont be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port elizabeth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Culinary nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

At first it seemed that we were in for a tasty meal as the decor was lovely and the staff attentive, but alas this was not to be. Our food was tasteless, over cooked and devoid of fresh ingredients. Quite the worst meal that we have had in a very long time. Also, as the restaurant began to fill up the service deteriorated somewhat as there were not enough staff to cope with the then, full restaurant. Such a pity as had the food been good it would have been a great value for money experience. Will definitely not be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante los Almendros del Montgo SC. also viewed

Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 
Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Restaurante los Almendros del Montgo SC.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante los Almendros del Montgo SC., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.