We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Javea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Javea to your Saves list
Parador de Javea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. del Mediterraneo, 233, 03730 Javea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Javea
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Parador de Javea is beautifully situated, and to have a maximum benefit from its geographical position, it is advised to book a room with sea view. The building is very well maintained. Wifi, in the garden (which is beautifully designed and gives to the sea) too. Great breakfast buffet, to be consumed outdoors if you like.
Within walking distance of many good restaurants and tapa places as described on Trip Advisor's web site

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
26
118
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

great position on this very pretty bay - seems to be one of the most unspoilt areas of this coast. the Parador is very basic although has all the amenities you would need - we had a suite and it was lovely in size although looked over rear parking bays! Breakfast is very good with plenty of selection and really lovely sitting out on terrace. Easy walking distance to the Arenal de Javea where all the restaurants/bars are.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed a lot of times in the Parador de Javea and I really love the place!
The location is great, just at the end of the famous Arenal de Javea where you go to have a great dinner or just a small drink. The views over the bay and ocean are fabulous, but not available from all rooms, so make sure you get yourself a room in the upper level and at the left or right hand side, not in the middle, because you would see more palms than the great, blue ocean.
The rooms are in good shape, maybe they could invest into maintenance a little bit more, would cheer up the place of course. WiFi reception is not available in all rooms and internet is quite slow.
Make sure you get yourself the breakfast buffet, very much choices and really good quality, but not cheap...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Parador at the end of April and am a little bit confused as to why so many travellers rate it as excellent, I think maybe they need to get out more.
The location might be excellent but the hotel is just about OK
Firstly reception was fine, no problems, helpful staff, quick check in.
Hotel shop in reception - hideous.. cheap tacky tat.
Bar... don't know, closed for redecoration, nobody thought to mention it when we booked.
Hotel lounge, absolutely horrible, souless badly lit and badly decorated, the Interior Designer wants shooting. Reminded me of an old peoples' home.
We couldn't sit outside because of the wind and lashing rain.
Our room was fairly large, and pretty clean although it had a peculiar smell when we first went in, which I would describe as 'toilet duck'. I think maybe it was the floor cleaner the tiles had been mopped with, because the smell became less obvious after the first day. The manager came up to have a sniff and tried to resolve the problem by offering us the only other room he claimed was free, but unfortunately it was a smoking room (yes they are still allowed) so the alternative room smelt of fags AND toilet duck so we stuck with the one we had. I did find it hard to believe the Hotel was full as we didn't see or hear anybody at all on our floor and the Restaurant at breakfast never had more than a dozen other people in it.
The safe in the room is opened and closed with the use of the room card which while simple, does compromise it's secuity I would've thought.

We had been contacted by email by the Hotel shortly after we booked, and asked whether we would like to book for special dinner & wine tasting which was due to take place on the evening we arrived and we agreed. Having been up since 3am the night before, we thought it would be nice not to have to trudge around looking for somewhere to eat. We asked what time dinner would be served and were told 8.30pm. Arriving at the Dining Room starving hungry at the correct time we were met with an empty room, and blank stares from the staff setting out the tables. A Reception staff member explained that Spanish people eat late! We waited until 8.45pm then went into the Dining Room (another cold charmless room) as a few other people had begun to arrive. About half the Dining Room had been set up for the wine tasting with a lot of extra glasses on each table and a projector screen at one end of the room. We were seated by a waiter at a table which was clearly not in the correct part of the restaurant for the special meal, and given a bog-standard menu so we tried to explain that we'd booked up for it via email.
Two rather surly staff put their heads together over a computer presumably showing the bookings, and finally after about ten minutes of muttering and furtive glances at us, a waiter came back and said they had no record of our booking. Really hungry, fed up and tired we told them to forget it and left to look for something to eat along Arenal Beach. (To be fair to them my husband left his phone on the table and when he jogged back for it a bit later they had located our booking and set us some places but we had copped the hump by then and didn't return)
Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice, with some of the little regional hot dishes served in small dishes like Morcilla & empanadillas changing day by day. The Restaurant staff we found a bit offish (I did wonder whether we'd got off on the wrong foot!) Bucks Fizz was a nice touch, always cheers me up!
Struggled to get a pot of tea from the waitress, always had to hunt down milk and never once detected the hint of a smile.
There was a power cut one night when we returned to the Hotel which was not obvious from Reception or the corridors, but when we put our room card into the power slot nothing happened. I went to speak to Reception and the young lady in charge inexplicably followed me back to the room to explain that there was a power cut! It was so pitch black we had to get ready for bed by taking it in turns to hold the door onto the corridor open so the other one could see in the bathroom!
On the subject of the bathroom, I remarked to my other half that our toiletries weren't being replenished and somebody must have been listening because on the last day we got every single freeby that Parador provide. I was opening boxes for about 10 minutes! There were razors and toothbrushes slippers, hairbands, every sanitary product known to woman, ear buds, foot scrubbers, you name it. Shame they didn't arrive sooner.
On the whole I probably would stay again but that is almost entirely down to the Parador's great location and not much else.

Room Tip: Take an air freshener!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Was my first time staying in a Parador and overall the experience was very good. The location of the hotel was excellent, overlooking the bay and canal. The surrounding grounds and pool were fantastic. The food and drink is not cheap, which you might expect from Parador, but there are a lot of better options just outside the hotel so you have choice. The rooms were great and you have adjoining options if you are in a group, as we were. All in all we would stay again if visiting Javea.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We have a house in Javea and had often intended to visit the bar in the Parador. Unfortunately our visit last week will be the first and last time. The bar is soulless and, the main part, is full of harsh uncomfortable bistro style tables and chairs. The view from the bar across Javea bay is nice but the gardens must have seen better days. The waiter service was good and speedy but at a real cost. The price of drinks is conservatively double that charged at good local bars on the Arenal, port or in the old town. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is not one of the beautiful buildings one associates with the Parador chain, being a concrete- built 1960's style with little character. However the setting is superb, overlooking the sandy beach and the canal with lovely gardens. Recently renovated the whole place is modern, bright and well maintained, but pretty soulless. We own a house in Javea so have not stayed in the hotel for several years but often eat in the restaurant and on the lovely terrace overlooking the gardens. The service is friendly and efficient and the food is very good. A good place to have a drink near the beach but away from the crowds, and children can run around the garden.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the sea and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Javea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Javea

Address: Avda. del Mediterraneo, 233, 03730 Javea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Javea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Javea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Javea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Javea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Javea Hotel Javea
Parador De Hotel Javea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Javea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.