We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back for more...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nou Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nou Roma to your Saves list
Hotel Nou Roma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Del Cid 3, C. Nueva 28, 03700 Denia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Denia
Mirepoix, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So good we came back for more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent a night there arriving on Valentine's Day to be welcomed by a single red rose and petals scattered over our bed. Nice touch.We stayed in the annex because we had a dog, but it was modern, comfortable and clean. Having spent 7 hours driving we decided to eat in at the restaurant and as it was Valentine's night, it was full with mostly Spanish customers. Food and service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were only sorry we had only 1 night there. However we decided to stay another two nights on our return trip home in March. This proved to be a bit of a disaster. We arrived on the 15th March to discover the whole town in Fiesta! Youngsters were letting off fireworks outside the hotel at 3pm when we arrived, the hotel carpark was out of bounds due to the celebrations and we had to park in an underground carpark which was a nightmare to manoeuvre in. The receptionist informed us that the celebrations were likely to continue all night and right through till Tuesday. So we jumped back in the car and drove home. Although very disappointed we didn't get to see Denia and enjoy the various tapas bars etc, we would still go back to the hotel, but avoiding the Fiesta period.

Room Tip: The hotel has two carparks, one outside which holds about 6 cars and one underground which is tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night but will be back for more. Denia itself is a delight but to find a hotel which was so relaxed clean and comfortable right in the heart of the town centre was a real bonus. Friendly helpful staff combined with an incredibly good breakfast buffet (open to non- residents) and an interesting looking lunch and dinner menu make this really good value. There is competition however as the hotel is located very near to a range of really good restaurants in an adjoining pedestrianised street. The rooms and shady courtyard have immense character and although we were there in February this would be the place to be in spring and summer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from a really lovely 3 night break at this hotel. The hotel is situated in the old town and is a beautiful old building with gorgeous court yards for chilling out in with a drink or tapas, even in January we managed this with the fantastic patio heaters the hotel has invested in . The hotel is a little difficult to find on arrival and parking around the hotel is not easy. However the hotel has its own car park but this is a tight fit if you have a large car. Our room was lovely old fashioned with modern touches we had a lovely terrace over looking the roof tops of the old town, we had booked a superior room and it was worth the extra money. The bed linen and towels were changed daily and the room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. We booked half board and the food was outstanding, everything home cooked and beautifully presented. The restaurant is in the gastronomy guide for Denia. Breakfast was delightful and typically Spanish freshly squeezed orange juice, home made tortilla, hams and cheeses with pastries, cereals and fresh fruit. Dinner was very good and we have no complaints although one evening there was confusion over what was covered by the half board option, generally this was a salad two starters to share and a choice of fish or steak as a main course. and then dessert( and coffee all food was delicious and homemade. There was a good selection of reasonably priced wine and although drinks were more expensive than outside the hotel they were not to dissimilar in price, the only down side to having a drink at the hotel is there is no bar area inside the hotel to sit in. What really makes this hotel special is the staff they are fantastic very friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble. We have no hesitation in returning soon. The hotel is in the centre of the historic town so get a map and explore the old street and the square with its townhall and church. There are plenty of tapas bars to experience Spanish life.

Room Tip: There are two parts to the hotel. The main hotel and an annex. We stayed in a superior room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Booked the hotel but was told they had no rooms !!
However was offered a dwelling opposite at a slightly extra cost with the same facilities, wi fi and breakfast at the hotel. Which we agreed to.
Upon arrival to Denia the hotel was not easy to find in the back streets if the one way system.
We drove four hours to get there only to be told there was no wi fi which we needed to log in for our flight tickets with British Airways home.
So there we are very tired and hungry trying to find a room for the night at the last minute.
A member of staff did try to assist us but she was stretched as she was managing the front desk and the busy restaurant which also was not professional.
Bad enough as it was we were thankful that we had no young children.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This really is a great hotel, the room (with terrace) was beautiful, and the breakfasts were probably the best we have had. Everything was home cooked, the orange juice was freshly squeezed and each day presented something slightly different. There is a room on the first floor where you can relax. We played chess before dinner in this room and the staff bought wine and tapas up to us. Being that the hotel is in Spain, it is useful to speak some Spanish as not all the staff speak English, although I would not let this deter you as they were all so helpful.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant (a decision made on the strength of the breakfasts) and it was delicious. The menu was good and the wine list extensive.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel anyone, it is a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I loved this place. It's in a well located, old, gorgeous building but has great modern style that pairs so well with it. Our room had exposed wood beams, amazing bathroom, the most amazingly comfortable bed, and a gorgeous little terrazita. They provide you with lovely sparkling water in the mini bar - and gorgeous glasses to drink it with. We are not really early risers, so we did not make it to the breakfast until the last day - which OMG I regret - that was such a good buffet breakfast - lovely garlicky tortilla and they just bring over this carafe of fresh squeezed orange juice that shamed every other orange juice I've had before.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Right in the heart of Denia All the staff are great & very attentive The room was big light and airy with a lovely balcony Breakfast was superb with as much to eat and drink as you can possibly manage. Don´t miss an evening meal in the restaurant eat outside in the beautiful courtyard the food is first rate & as good as any top restaurant I have eaten in. I have stayed here twice before and will be back again soon. The whole experience of staying here is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nou Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nou Roma

Address: Avda. Del Cid 3, C. Nueva 28, 03700 Denia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Denia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nou Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an exceptional location just below Denia’s castle and a few meters from the sea…bordering the area where Denia reached its culminating moment of expansion under Muslim dominion…a place surrounded by history.With an original architecture in a peaceful atmosphere full of verdure…blending in with mementos of Mediterranean style and the remains of ancient Roman walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nou Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nou Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.