We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino's Buffet is a Gamble” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Springs Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mountain Springs Buffet
555 Middle Verde Road, Cliff Castle Casino, Camp Verde, AZ 86322
(928) 567-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 40 Restaurants in Camp Verde
Restaurant details
Clarkdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Casino's Buffet is a Gamble”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The salad bar had the usual mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, etc. and a nice selection of salad dressings. I had the blue cheese, and it was very good. An extra touch was the big bowl of blue cheese crumbles that could be added for even more flavor. Everything was fresh, but there were no unusual items for the adventurous to try.The shrimps at the salad bar are large and tasty, but several were not deveined. The beef selection at the carving station was a dismal pot roast cooked well done, and dry. After reading other reviews, it seems the entree changes regularly. There is a prime rib special on Sundays, which is good. A companion mentoned they sometimes have good pork loin. Other selections during my visit included a tender chicken breast with salsa and black beans. It was delicious. A rockfish and rice dish was dry and the fish flavor was unpleasantly strong and "fishy" tasting.Next to it was a lovely shrimp and garlic pasta with loads of cheese and greens. A cheesy crumb-topped mac and cheese rounded out the entree selections. Vegetables included steamed carrots, and tender asparagus spears. Dinner breads were packaged, and desert tray had a large assortment of cakes, cheesecake and petit fours, but none seemed homemade either. I appreciated that it was easy to eat low-carb at this buffet, while my pasta-loving companion wished there had been more carb selections. At $13 for dinner, it is an average value. Non-alcoholic beverage is included with your meal. The room is well lit, and easily accessible for those using assistive devices. There are tables and chairs, no booths. Servers were pleasant and helpful, with the exception of the carving station server, who disappeared to talk to a friend just as I reached his station. If you are going to eat at one of Cliff Castle's restaurants, this one is probably the best value, but Storytellers has a better (and pricier)selection

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Verde, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Blah!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a fairly new establishment, the remodel is very nicely done! It is just too bad the chef does not know what a buffet is, I mean I expect to have a nice variety of food to choose from, when at a buffet, but they fall short by more than just a little bit! The food that they do offer is second rate even for a buffet. They do as an advertisement claim it is a Vegas style buffet, but I don't think the chef has ever been to Vegas let alone eaten at a buffet in Vegas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Delicious selections of entrees, very friendly staff. The carved London Broil melted in your mouth. Highly recommend a stop at the Buffet if your are visiting Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
“Mother's Day - great family location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful Buffet - something for everyone - children, adults, vegetarians and vegans. Bountiful variety - crablegs and shrimp, roast pork carving stsation, omelet bar, eggs benedict, great salad bar with many condiments, fun selection of deserts inclufing an ice cream bar. Final lovely gesture - every mother was presented a red carnation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to the Cliff Castle Casino Dining Offering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I had the opportunity to enjoy the new buffet at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel on Mother's Day. Wow! The decor is simply gorgeous and the food was incredible for the price. We went with my mom, our two children, my brother who is vegetarian and my husband. There was something for everyone at the Buffet.

Personally I enjoyed the omelette station, the Alaskan King Crab legs and two delicious mimosas. My kids loved the desserts and being able to go up as many times as they want. My husband was a big fan of the carving station with roast pork. My mom enjoyed the eggs benedict and my brother enjoyed the salad bar, bread station and custom omelette station.

We didn't feel rushed and were able to enjoy each other's company while sampling all of the great food. We are looking forward to going for dinner. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Springs Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Springs Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Springs Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.