We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and restaurants are fine, the services can be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cliff Castle Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Cliff Castle Casino Hotel
555 Middle Verde Road, Camp Verde, AZ 86322   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Hotel and restaurants are fine, the services can be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights because it is close to Out of Africa park. The room is fine, shower has good water pressure. When we checked in, there was a pillow case laying on the bed. Looks like housekeeping did not finish up their job. I have never seen a king size bed has only 2 standard sized pillows. Housekeeping did not leave any soap at all when they cleaned the room. I had to find them to ask for a couple of soaps in the morning. The heater broke at the third night. Even though they came to fix it but it did not work properly. It was our last night there so I did not bother to call the front desk again.
All restaurants are at the casino. The hotel website is not updated and a couple of restaurants are either closed or changed name/Manu. We ate at the steakhouse, Storyteller, on a Friday night. The waiter did not tell us about the specials but gave us the discount on the bill since it was the Lady's night. The filet was good. We had dinner at the buffet restaurant on Sat. It is prime rib night. I liked it that they have a grill and can grill the steak to well done. The buffet does not have a big selection but you will have enough food to eat.
On the all, the hotel or motel provides good value for our trip, and it is only 30 minutes away from Sedona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We can assure you that all of the issues mentioned in your review have been completely resolved and we are reviewing current procedures to identify where we can improve in the future. The entire staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we can assure you that we will exceed all of your expectations on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    27
    16
    31
See reviews for
21
46
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a pretty good vale, but needs to be updated. The hotel is down the hill from the casino. They offer a free shuttle to the casino. They have multiple restaurants in the casino and a bar/restaurant inside the room. The room is basic and one of the sheets was stained. Overall, a good visit and will probably be back

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the restaurants and all of the amenities that the casino has to offer. We can assure you that your next stay with us will exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Overnight parking in RV or travel trailer is allowed in the parking lots north of the hotel. Well lit parking lots; felt safe and secure, off the next morning to see Montezuma's Castle just down the road a piece.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. The hotel parking is very convenient for trucks and large vehicles with easy access to the Casino. The hotel staff and management look forward to exceeding all of your expectations during your next visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place is more of a 2-storrey motel than a hotel, with just the bare basics. It's fine if you are just passing through and need to crash for the night. Nothing much to do around the area except go to the casino. The motel/hotel is not attached to the casino, so you have to call or wait for the shuttle bus to pick you up and drop you off.

We arrived there with 2 busloads of people and even though they were aware of us coming more than 1 month in advance, they were seriously understaffed. Some people waited over 2 hours to get their keys. The staff, that was there at the time, was overwhelmed but tried very hard to get us all checked in.

The Casino is ok... nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize that the check in process was troubling and we are reviewing current procedures to identify where we can improve in the future. The entire staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we can assure you that we will exceed all of your expectations on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Cliff Castle Casino Hotel and found it to be adequate – not great but not horrible either. We had an adjoining room with another couple that we were traveling with. Our room was two queens, theirs was a king. The quality of the king room was far superior to our queen with a better mattress, higher quality linens, and what appeared to be much newer flooring. Overall it is a bare bones lodging option, if you are looking for a mostly clean (the carpet was nasty but everything else seemed fine) and affordable place to crash, then this works. Negatives: carpet was very dirty, patio needed some bug spray (although it had a very large praying mantis trying to keep the spiders down), chairs were not very sturdy (sit carefully!), and the water saver shower had zero pressure. On the positive side: bed was comfortable and clean, 42” TV with satellite, it’s affordable, and there is a shuttle to the casino (which we were surprised to find is NOT attached to the hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of the beds in the room as well as the 42" Flat Panel TV's. The issues mentioned in your review have been shared with the hotel management and we can assure you that your next stay with us will exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I would agree with the bulk of the reviews on this site. This place is pretty much a Motel 6 (at best). It's rooms are OLD and dirty, I even found crumbs on my floor when I checked in. The bathroom was disgusting, and the view was nonexistent. The casino is SO smokey you can barely walk in to it without gasping for air. The only reason I stayed here was for the convenience of being at the location of a training I was attending. Anyway, overall, this place needs a SERIOUS facelift!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
The hotel staff and management would like to apologize that your stay was unpleasant. The hotel continues to upgrade the guestrooms and public spaces to ensure that each of our guest's enjoy their stay. The hotel team strives to exceed all of our guest's expectations and we look forward to delivering a great stay to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Upon arrival (1:30pm), we were told we couldn't check in until 4:00. As it turned out, a room was suddenly ready. The room was relatively clean but you could tell it had been broken into. It was at the very end of the building, far from lobby. The door didn't shut snugly and the patio door frame had damage from a break in. Not a good first impression. The lack of attention to detail in the room was disappointing (ie: the break in locations not fixed well, bathroom shower had cracked drywall, etc). I have to say though, our king size bed was very comfortable. And it was quiet, including the a/c unit. I didn't care for the separation of the hotel from the casino although the shuttle picked us up at our door and was very fast to arrive. I don't believe we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. The hotel is continuing to upgrade the guestrooms and public spaces and we can assure you that the items mentioned in your review have been resolved. The hotel staff and management look forward to exceeding all of your expectations during your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Castle Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Address: 555 Middle Verde Road, Camp Verde, AZ 86322
Location: United States > Arizona > Camp Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to it all! Whether you're coming up from the Valley, just passing through town, or looking to escape from your daily life, The Hotel at Cliff Castle is exactly what you're looking for. Spend the night playing, dining, and partying in the Casino, then take a load off and let us take care of you. With more than 80 rooms, we can accommodate you and your friends, and we're only minutes away from numerous local attractions such as Montezuma Castle, Montezuma Well, Sedona, and many other Verde Valley points of interest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cliff Castle Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Cliff Castle Hotel Camp Verde
Hotel At Cliff Castle
Cliff Castle Hotel
At Cliff Castle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.