We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cliff Castle Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Cliff Castle Casino Hotel
555 Middle Verde Road, Camp Verde, AZ 86322   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Payson, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed there on Feb. 7. The carpet was filthy and stained in our room, walls are paper thin so you can actually hear conversations in the next room. Televisions are antique tube type with poor reception. It was bad. We were awakened at 6 am by the sound of the television in the next room. I should have read the reviews prior to booking a room at this hotel/casino.

Room Tip: Book a room at a different hotel in Camp Verde and drive to the casino. The casino hotel is filthy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    28
    16
    31
See reviews for
21
47
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there after gambling at the Casino all night. They advertise it as a hotel, but it's an old motel a quarter mile from the Casino. The door lock was broken on our room and the door would not stay closed. We were given another room. Rooms are small, old, and dingy. Would not stay again unless it was free or I was too intoxicated to drive to a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUN CITY WEST, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

They do not state on their website the hotel is a distance from the casino. They do provide 24/7 shuttles from your door to the casino and back with no more than a five minute wait. The hotel is really more like a motel (enter from outside): Cons: no mini-fridge, no microwave (unless you update and pay more), no flat screen TV; Noise level was bad. I think the rooms need to be updated...newer TV's, paint. We've stayed in many "hotels" for $90 that provided all the above. Pros - the room was clean, spacious, nice comfortable beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel. Pillows not comfortable but mattress was good. Very basic room, little to no decor, front desk indifferent to rude. Exterior hallways but did felt secure in the room, towels very rough and small. Poor lighting and lightbulbs burned out. No flat screen TV. TV remote tethered to a short wire so only able to be used on one side of the bed. No individual shampoo or rinse provided but what was in a large plastic wall dispenser mounted in the shower. One lotion was provided. Hotel requires a shuttle ride to the casino. Ate dinner in the Gallery at the Casino and the meatloaf was cold, dinner roll hard, steamed vegetables dried out. Fortunately we planned a one night stay, won't be back. Rate was $79 for the night. The indifferent front desk clerk set the tone for the visit. As you approach the Casino complex the signage directing guests to the hotel is very poor. We went in the Casino so ask how to get to the hotel. This place has potential but needs some serious management attention to provide quests an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been going to shows at the Casino's Stargazer Pavillion for years and have never been able to book a room as they are always full. I finally got a room for Roctoberfest concert night. Checkin was wierd. The room was plain with an antique tube type TV. Stayed out late so did not use room much. I woke up with a sore neck from the pillows that were shaped like basketballs. The bath towels were as good as burlap. Cold pool. Lousy breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We came for a wedding so took advantage of the block of rooms set aside. Room was clean, but had the intolerable chemical cleaning solution smell. The walls are very thin, we were kept awake by the neighbor's TV. We asked that the room not be cleaned to abate the smell, and i think it improved a bit after leaving the windows open for a day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived to our room (238) the door was ajar and would not close.We went back to the front desk and asked for a different room and were told they were booked and would send someone to fix the door. Shortly thereafter the door was fixed. The next day, after returning from breakfast our room keys didn't work. Again we had to see the front desk for assistance. After along day of sight seeing we returned to our room and found the bed cover on a chair, hair in the shower and dirty plastic cups in the bathrooms. We were very displeased with the lack of care and attention in the hotel upkeep and service. We do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Castle Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Address: 555 Middle Verde Road, Camp Verde, AZ 86322
Location: United States > Arizona > Camp Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to it all! Whether you're coming up from the Valley, just passing through town, or looking to escape from your daily life, The Hotel at Cliff Castle is exactly what you're looking for. Spend the night playing, dining, and partying in the Casino, then take a load off and let us take care of you. With more than 80 rooms, we can accommodate you and your friends, and we're only minutes away from numerous local attractions such as Montezuma Castle, Montezuma Well, Sedona, and many other Verde Valley points of interest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cliff Castle Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Cliff Castle Hotel Camp Verde
Hotel At Cliff Castle
Cliff Castle Hotel
At Cliff Castle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.