We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the short side trip off I 17” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Castle National Monument

Montezuma Castle National Monument
1620 W. Finnie Flats Road, Camp Verde, AZ 86322
520-567-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Montezuma Castle National Monument like an insider
Top Rated
$125*
and up
Day Tour to Sedona Red Rock Country and Native...
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stone castle built into a shallow cave on a cliff was once a six-story dwelling with 45 rooms.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth the short side trip off I 17”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A small but well preserved cliff dwelling and not too far a side trip off the interstate. There may be larger cliff dweliings but this one was easy to view even if you can't climb up to the dwelling anymore. Go see it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    307
    93
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spectacular history of the people who dwelt in this area. Well presented with good photo opportunities. Sadly access to the actual caves had been stopped a number of years ago but this does not detract from the experience of the attraction. Highly recommended for the natural beauty of the area as well as the history of the people who made this site their home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“easy to access, kind of neat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was not really blown away by this. There are many things in Arizona that would be a better use of your time. I will say, the park was well maintained and seemed very accessible with paved paths. Good for all ages, and educational.
I just didn't feel like there was a whole lot to see. You can be done in an hour. The good thing is that if you buy a pass for this place, it will also get you into Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, which I found to be more to my liking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something you should see if you haven't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I found this interesting because I had no idea this existed. It is amazing that it still exists after reading some of the history since it was discovered. There are so many things in this country that most of us are not aware of and this is part of the history of the area as well as the US.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester Point
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a neat place to visit. Easy access from the interstate near Sedona. A nice visitor center greets you. A National Park. You can get a real close up view of the ruins, amazing. This site was used in one film - Flaming Feathers with Sterling Hayden.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Castle National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma Castle National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Castle National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.