We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most expensive, still worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites to your Saves list
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Papa Luna 113, 12598 Peniscola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Most expensive, still worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is ideally located next to the beach, the advantages stop there. At minimum 130 euro, you will get a double room where you can you hear you side neighbour snoring and your top neighbour peeing. If you want to use your terrasse, you will be in the smoke of all those (badly educated) parents smoking at the pool in front of their children. The meals are all frozen, you will get powder juice in the morning, frozen mushrooms and croissants, undrinkable coffee. At dinner, you will get frozen beans. Still the ham is acceptable (kind of the 1euro ham at the supermarket). I didn't get a smile, a Hello or Bye in the restaurant.
Don't count on the WIFI, the connection is slow.

I go to 50euros hotel as well as 200euros hotel, but this one should really be a 1 star hotel and not worth more than 30euros (just for the closeness of the beach)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio A, Manager at Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Kooger,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor with regard to your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear that the Hotel did not live up to your expectations. I just wish you had spoken to me about your concerns whilst you were here, so that we could have acted upon the points you have mentioned.

It is strange for us to have poor comments about the staff; I have of course fed this information back to them.

Every point you have mentioned will be reviewed, feedback is so important and we will do our very best to improve on all points.

We hope that we will see you again in the near future, so we can restore your faith in our hotel,

Kindest Regards

Rocio – Manager

Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    82
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
92
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We travel extensively and had not visited
Peniacola before and chose the Casablanca Suites.
We arrived and were warmly greeted by all at reception with smiling faces and lots of information.
Our room was very hot due to it having been cold weather and warm air con was on. I was very hot and got anxious and my husband went to reception and everone was fantastic. Theu moved us immediately to a beautiful large room with sea views and even put our clothes in the wardrobes for us. Elena the receptionist is a wonderful caring person and was so very kind.
The hotel is very clean and facilites good and food plemtiful and varied.
We would complement management on having great staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio A, Manager at Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Good Afternoon SpainRosie,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites and for taking time to write a review after your recent stay.

I am very happy that after an anxious start, we were able to help you settle into a new room and from there on have a lovely stay with us.

We always do our very best and I am delighted you have mentioned our caring staff. I will of course share your kind words with all the team.

We look forward welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kindest Regards

Rocio – Manager

Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in half pension. Although it was clean and correct it did not reach the level of a four star hotel. The breakfast was very poor and food at dinner was neither good. Completely disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio A, Manager at Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Mallorca 11585,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Hotel RH Casablanca.

I am sorry to hear to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. I can tell you that we have improved the buffet on many aspects since your stay both at breakfast and evening meal.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and restore your faith in our hotel,

Kindest Regards

Rocio – Manager

Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel is right at the beach, our room had the nicest view on the sea and a huge balcony. The food was great, it's impossible to stay fit with such tasty food! The staff was really nice, also one of the greatest things was the wi-fi ! You could catch everywhere, sometimes even on the beach, which I really enjoyed. Most recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio A, Manager at Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear MagdaM913,

Sincere thanks for your review of the Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, after your recent stay.

Your review was shared with all the team at the hotel and I must say it is very motivating to receive such positive feedback.

Thanks again and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest Regards

Rocio – Manager

Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We happened upon the Casablanca by accident as we were driving through Peniscola. A very fortunate thing indeed....... upon enquiring we were offered a fantastic, clean and confortable room overlooking the central courtyard. We were also offered the "half board" meal option for a unbeatable rate.
The food was buffet style with lots of variety and very tasty, service was excellent and the reception staff went out of there way to be helpful. They also had a excellent book exchange selection.
The highlight for us was the fact that the majority of the other guests were "mature" Spanish nationals, they were a delight!
Despite our lack of Spanish and their lack of English we got along famously...... including egging each other on for "solo" dancing spots.
The hotel is well located just across the road from the beach with views of the breathtaking Peniscola Castle, make sure you visit!
What was intended as a place to spend the night, turned into three even though we had to revise our itinerary to do it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio A, Manager at Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por reflejarnos su opinión y por supuesto siempre se intenta mejorar y sus opiniones son el principal vínculo para conocer esos aspectos que no hacen del todo satisfactoria su estancia. Tomamos nota de los puntos que nos indica a mejorar en el buffet. Sobre la música sí hemos regulado mejor el sonido para que no se escuche tanto en las habitaciones y la luz también la hemos dejado hasta más tarde encendida aunque tampoco podemos hacerlo hasta muy tarde porque hay a otras personas que les puede molestar. Esperamos que a pesar de estas opiniones, ganen los buenos aspectos y el intento de mejorar cada día para escogernos en sus próximas vacaciones. Un saludo, Rocío
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in mid October. There was no air-con switched on in the room - although the corridors were cooled. The daytime temp was 25C - which I would consider warm for us English - but to the predominantly spanish clientele it was obviously cool as they minced about fully clothed with hats and scarves on! After 3 days the room (which faced due south into the noonday sun) eventually cooled down to an acceptable level.

Anyway, the hotel reception & restaurant staff and were all excellent - friendly and helpful. This hotel is mainly for the spanish - we only heard english voices once on one day. Few french & northern europeans - but 95% spanish. Therefore, as you would expect, all of the evening entertainment in the bar was designed to cater for spanish tastes, and in the restaurant and at breakfast most of the fare offered was designed for the local tastes with only a small selection of "international" dishes on offer. I thought that there was a good selection of food, but if you want egg, bacon, sausages and beans every morning for brekky then don't come here!!!!
Fried eggs cooked to order were on a couple of days - but mostly it was crepes / hot cakes etc
but plenty of varied meats and cheeses plus cereals. Most of the 'specials' in the evening were various sorts of fried fish. Although there was a varied selection of dishes, apart from the soup which was always delicious, everything was cool or cold. There was one microwave (fortunately only used sparingly as there were 100+ guests eating most evenings) but we survived OK.

Having moaned a lot - we actually thought the hotel was very good value for money. The deal included free wine with the evening meal which was quite palatable and the hotel facilities were good with nightly entertainment, gym, jacuzzi and rooftop sunning areas. The hotel is about 2 miles from the castle but we had transport and there were a few bike hire places nearby. There is only limited street parking at the front of the hotel - but it has secure underground parking at a very reasonable cost (6e / day)

Finally, the entire area (not just the hotel) was plagued with flies.........not the hotel's fault and possibly the time of year. By the end of our stay a few had managed to infiltrate the restaurant.
We managed to avoid them when walking about by staying at the water's edge - but not good anywhere in Peniscola or Benicarlo. They also seemed to be immune to swatting or sprays!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our European vacation started by picking up our rental car in Barcelona. Once we had our wheels we made our way two hours south to a true Spanish resort town called Peniscola. We stayed at the Hotel Casablanca and Suites (Avenue Papa Luna 113 12598 Peniscola). It was situated across from the ocean and less than a mile from the bustling town center complete with views of its medieval castle. The Casablanca Hotel was fabulous. It had clean modern rooms, a large pool, and excellent breakfast and dinner buffets. The receptionist at the hotel also recommended a great restaurant called La Raspa where you should order their signature tapas called patatas bravas. The staff helped us find some great restaurants like La Raspa. This hotel was the best place we stayed during our entire vacation and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone else who wants a high quality Spanish resort experience.

After exploring Peniscola’s wonderful restaurants and charming castle, it was time for us to make our way to Cote d’Azur. This time we stayed in an aparthotel called the Resideal Antibes (240 Avenue Jules Grec 06600 Antibes). At an aparthotel guests are responsible for providing their own toiletries and sheets. It’s a good solution for families who want to economize or cook some of their meals in the kitchenette. We never cooked in our apartment but it suited us because of its proximity to a market, a bakery as well as all the sites we wanted to explore. We had an excellent pizza at a restaurant near the aparthotel called L’Oiseau Qui Chante. Nice has a beautiful coastline, excellent shopping, and plenty of places to eat. However, the most spectacular thing we did was take the scenic drive from Nice to Monaco. Monte Carlo can only be described as fit for a princess. We recommend splitting an entrée and ordering tiramisu at an Italian restaurant called Pulcinella. People watching outside of Monte Carlo Casino is also a must. We enjoyed it so much we visited twice.

Unfortunately, we had to leave the magnificent Cote d’Azur to drive back to Barcelona for the next part of our trip. We found a great hotel called Hotel Parale lel close to a metro and within walking distance of the famous Las Ramblas street. (Poeta Cabanyes 08004 Barcelona) Our room was modern and clean and we had great customer service. The man at the front desk pointed out where we should go and warned us that even as a local he had been pickpocketed three times. If you ever go to Barcelona heed his words. A high school guy tried to pickpocket me. He was unsuccessful but be vigilant about protecting your valuables. Besides, the “pickpocket episode” we had a great time exploring Barcelona and watching championship soccer at local spots. Our only regret was that we should have stayed longer.

We spent our final week in Amsterdam. My daughter studied abroad for a semester there so I stayed in her apartment rather than a hotel. The real estate market is highly competitive so all the locals were amazed that she lived in the sought after Amsterdam West neighborhood on Plantage Muidergracht. If you’re in that area grab a pizza for about 11 Euro from De Pizzabakkers on Plantage Kerklaan. During the week I stayed with my daughter we took our time exploring the city but everything was easier to access because we were staying within the center ring. Wake up early one day and take a bike ride to Pancakes Amsterdam on Berenstraat 38 for some signature Dutch pancakes. Other places sell them but this place had the best quality. For lunch, we followed the locals’ lead and picked up some sandwich spreads and bread from the local grocery store, Albert Heijn. Our favorite dinner place was Café De Klos on Kerkstraat 41. Ignore the all you can eat spare rib deals and come here for the best spare ribs in town. I split an order with my daughter and it was more than enough for two. If you’re in the mood for a beer stop by Mulligans Irish Music Bar on Amstel 100. You’ll get some great live music and dancing and enjoy a pint. Amsterdam has something for everyone but make sure you don’t leave for home without riding a bike for the true local experience.

Europe has so much to offer it’s impossible to see everything in three weeks. Try not to get too overwhelmed. We enjoyed the Mediterranean coast but we wished we had more time for Barcelona and Amsterdam. It was a great itinerary but we highly recommend more time for the major cities.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites

Address: Avda. Papa Luna 113, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Castellon Province > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peniscola
#3 Green Hotel in Peniscola
#3 Family Hotel in Peniscola
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peniscola
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rh Casablanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.