We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so clean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
MainStay Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7310 Executive Way, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Frederick, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not so clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

While on the outside this hotel looks adequate, I overheard employees making comments that I found disturbing concerning the cleanliness. For starters, bed bugs keep showing up in a few rooms. The rooms get treated, but you know that you can never fully get rid of bed bugs. Second, in one of the rooms, apparently a guest had gotten ketchup and other spills on the ceiling. Rather than clean the mess, the hotel chose to just paint over it! Finally, I heard the staff will let stopped up toilets sit all weekend for someone to clean up Monday, though I have no clue why the maids don't take care of it. I suppose they pass it off to maintenance as there is no maintenance staff over the weekends, so you're stuck if something breaks in your room, or someone else who only works during the week. Who knows what other short cuts this hotel takes. I will never stay here again. You shouldn't either!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    6
    5
    20
See reviews for
21
14
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Our experience wasn't nearly as bad as the other reviewers, but this place was a serious disappointment. The lobby and hallways were nice enough, but it went downhill quickly upon entering the rooms. The furnishings are cheap, dirty, and VERY poorly-maintained--almost everything in the room was ugly, discolored, dinged, or outright broken, and everything was highlighted by harsh white fluorescent light. The heater was very noisy and awakened me from my sleep! The continental breakfast featured the smallest selection I've seen in years.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Please do not stay at this hotel. It was given 3 stars by AAA and on Travelocity. The carpet in the hall was disgusting, dogs barking, dirty walls in room. The screen on the window was frayed and half ripped off. There was a huge cart of bags of garbage on the second floor next to the elevator. The entire hotel had a funky smell.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserville, MI.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel is nasty. It smells terrible and is dirty, outdated, and in disrepair. There really is nothing more to say.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Like others have said, the room had a funky smell. The rug was very worn. The linoleum in the bathroom was old and looked lumpy. The beds had very outdated worn comforters on them. The pull out couch was totally broken up. The screens in the windows were ripped and the windows were unlocked in the first floor room. Me and my kids wouldn't even get in the beds. On the good side, I went to the front desk and asked if I could be moved over to the Comfort Inn next door and they were very happy to honor my request. The Comfort Inn was much better. They are owned by the same company and they did have a sign in the room for 100% satisfaction.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Funky smell in room. Popcorn on the floor from who knows when. Thick mold covering the air conditioning vents. We asked to see another room. Manager could not open the door to the other room they were going to show us. We waited 10 minutes to see the room. After standing in the filthy lobby waiting for her to fix the key problem and looking at the black, dust-filled vents in the ceiling, we told them we were not staying. We have never been in such a dirty hotel. There was no way we were going to spend a night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We drove 14 hrs and was very upset when we checked in,, I booked this hotel months in advance so we would not have to worry about where to stay. Once we checked in we unloaded our cars and when we got to our rooms we found in our room roaches nasty refrig bathrooms were so nasty.. My daughters room in the bathroom had fecus in the toilet tub nasty and the smell was so bad in all the rooms it would make you sick. I emailed the home office and was told that they would forwarded my concerns to the manager of the hotel because they are independently owned and operated. good luck on that have yet to hear back.. needless to say we checked out and went next door to the comfort inn which are only two years old and really nice.. .I cant believe the health dept hasnt shut this place down.. if they dont care about customers then they dont deserve our business.....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 7310 Executive Way, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Frederick
Mainstay Suites Frederick
Mainstay Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.