We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“150th Anniversary Gettysburg Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Frederick to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Frederick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5225 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
1 review
“150th Anniversary Gettysburg Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just back and don't normally write reviews, but this is the exception. This hotel is located in a great location, close to everything regarding the battlefields, etc. The hotel has recently been remodeled and is very nice. I've stayed at a lot of Courtyard properties, and this ranks up there as one of the best. The room was large and comfortable. Refrigerator in room, and REAL coffee mugs, not styrofoam cups. The front desk people are ALL friendly and helpful. Went out of their way, each time we asked for directions, hotel recommendations, etc., to assist us. They have the new interactive computer screen where you can pick the destination and print out the map. Very cool. Starbuck's right in the lobby with very comfortable seating area. The outside courtyard is really nice with fire pit and plenty of cozy places to sit. It was warm, so we didn't sit outside, but a fall trip would make it very inviting! Only noise we heard from our room was a few voices outside the door, but nothing out of the ordinary and it only lasted a few minutes. My husband said the large jacuzzi was very nice. The indoor pool is a tad small, but people seemed to be enjoying. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room had little noise, so don't hesitate to select a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy C, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for a very kind review of our Courtyard by Marriott. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and your time in Frederick and Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
20
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent 2 night here,very nice room,had adjoining rooms.Nice décor,beds were comfortable.Very easy access to restaurants and shopping.Pool was warm.Outside there was an inviting patio with a big fire pit.The only 2 things that would have been nice would have been a microwave(no way to heat up the babies food) and possibly a continental breakfast.Overall it was great.Staff was friendly.The chair in our room, unfolded into a small single bed,which my grandson thought was "cool".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for feedback. I agree with the decor, the Marriott beds, the location, and our awesome fire pit. Huge hits. We have select group of rooms that have those sleeper chairs and 2 Queen beds as well. Microwaves are available upon request and we have plenty. I just don't see the Courtyard brand offerring free breakfast with our Starbucks and wide a la carte Bistro design, but that's why we have other brands that do. Thank you so much again. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed her for one night for an out of town wedding. Check in was very quick and easy and the lobby area was nice and inviting. The room was very clean and nicely decorated and we had a very nice little balcony. The bed was not so great and the mattress was too soft for my preference. The outdoor area was very nice and the fire pit was great. We had a get together outside with other wedding guests including the bride and the groom. The hotel had a great location close to shopping and restaurants. I would stay there again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Holly F.

Thank you for the feedback. Nice summary of our great amenities including the Fire Pit. It's a huge advantage to have such a beautiful Courtyard like we do.. I hope you do make it back.

Thanks again.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice cafe in the lobby and staff is very good.
Mattress needs to be rotated and generally needs a refesh in the rooms. Wallpaper, bathrooms, etc

Noise from the hall goes right through the door.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Courtyard in Frederick has a pretty decent location. It is close to Downtown Frederick, which showcases great shopping and restaurants like Volt. There were a few negatives about this Courtyard compared to most Courtyards though--one exercise machine was out of order, no water cooler in fitness center and the police came at night and the rollers were on for a while, which was disruptive.

Pros: Decent location, clean and comfortable--consistent with other Courtyards, friendly service.

Cons: Room rates can be surprisingly high here, fitness center was not as well equipped as most Courtyards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Anthony,

Good feedback. We are in a great safe location that's normally very quiet. We added a cold water dispenser to our exercise room lately and I thought of you.

Hope you have a chance to come back.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The staff at this hotel was very helpful and pleasant. The newly renovated lobby is inviting. There's also a nice back patio with a fire pit.
The location is convenient to sevaral restuarants and a mall.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear srmcrowder,

I feel lucky to have such a great pleasant staff. Thank you for recognizing them. Also - that fire pit is nice and a big hit as well.

High Regards,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Recently spent one night in Frederick, Maryland, to dine at Volt Restaurant. Stayed overnight in the recently refurbished Courtyard by Marriott hotel. It is chic and modern in decor, especially the lobby/bar/restaurant areas, but retains a comfortable and cozy atmosphere. Staff could not be nicer. Rooms are sizeable and beautifully decorated. Bathrooms are up to date and attractively functional.
All in all, this is the kind of chain hotel that gives "chain" a good name. It's reliably nice, but also has some individual personality. We recommend this one highly if you are looking for a great place to stay in Frederick.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be quiet. If you are particularly concerned, ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Cassie227,

Thank you for the nice summary. I feel lucky to be here in such a great property where Marriott hit it on the head with some design features and great owners that have so generously reinvested above and beyond to give the hotel some nice extra touches and added individual personality.

Thanks again.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Frederick
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Frederick

Address: 5225 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Frederick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Frederick
#5 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find that the new state-of-the-art lobby and newly renovated sleeping rooms at our Courtyard Frederick MD hotel provides greater flexibility and choice, featuring; inviting, productive spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our hotel's new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides healthy offerings in the morning, plus dinner service with cocktails in the evenings. You'll find outdoor spaces with a Fire Pit & Pond and plenty of seating, indoor pool, plus, a well-equipped fitness center, 24-hour self-serve business center and Quick Print station. Our new rooms offer comforts of home and ample work space. Conveniently located less than 30 miles from either Baltimore or Washington, DC,near the I-70 and I-270 interchange and just minutes from Historic Downtown Frederick. Your stay at the Courtyard Frederick MD hotel is sure to be more comfortable, productive and enjoyable than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Frederick Hotel Frederick
Courtyard Frederick
Frederick Courtyard
Frederick Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.