We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Frederick

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Frederick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Frederick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5225 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Frederick
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good location as it was across the street from a shopping plaza. This came in handy when my planned 2 night business trip turned into a stop over to FL for 4 more nights due to an ill grandfather.

The lobby "restaurant" had good basic food. The ice cream sundae was great! Happy hour offered reasonable prices on drinks. I thought the food prices were too high.

Clean room, updated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
9
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We regularly stay in Federick on our way to North Carolina. This year we went back to this hotel after having stayed at another nearby property for the last couple of years. One reason we have been away was that this property was undergoing renovations. The renovations are now complete and they look wonderful. The bistro/bar area is a nice change and lobby is very open and contemporary. They have also upgraded the outdoor patio with new wicker furniture and an open fire pit. We sat around in the evening and enjoyed the relatively seasonal weather. Staff were very courteous and helped my wife find the nearest Target. The rooms were nice and acceptable for a stay of only one night. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will undoubtedly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My 2 sisters and I arrived late afternoon, we checked in only to find a rather smallish room for the 3 of us. The bathroom was tiny, and the foyer was tight. We had explained to the front desk that we were down visiting family two of us had traveled over 500 miles from New England and wanted to be treated special..but that did not happen. I the front desk girl had been more accomdating and understood that we needed more space I think we would have been happier. In fact we had another sister come in later the next day so 4 of us ladies were in a smallish room, very crowded with our luggage etc.
I m sure they could have given us a bigger room..after all its a Marriot Courtyard.
The onsite breakfast was excellent and prepared well, we enjoyed our breakfasts.
all in all it was just ok but not up to the standards we had thought we were getting as we could have stayed at a Sleep Inn for much less and it may have been a bigger room.

Room Tip: Just realize that there is Nothing Special about this Courtlyard. It may be wise to shop around if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Completely surprised by our stay a few weeks ago. I knew Courtyard's are fairly predictable and good quality, but this hotel blew away our expectations.
I'm not sure how long ago the renovations were made to this hotel, but it honestly equals some 4 star hotels that I have stayed at in the past - seriously.
Walk in to the lobby and there is a giant smart screen where the front desk can help you with directions/restaurants/etc... and print out information onsite. I have worked in hotels for 12 years, and I have never seen or heard of anything like that.
The pool, hot tub & gym were all definitely above average and renovated too. The bar/cafe definitely served its purpose - still can't believe someone made and served me a Starbucks latte when I was checking out. The bar at night was incredible as was a big screen tv on the inside, and an incredible outdoor area with walking space and a gathering area with a gas fire pit in the middle. When we were there, the front desk turned on the fire pit for us, and we had a few beers out there. A few other hotel guests joined us - few more beers - and we had a great chat.
The suite was above average and the staff were nice, but the hotel itself was really over the top.
Extremely positive experience. We were only there for 1 night passing through on our way to North Carolina. Quick and easy - located close to the highway and a lot of restaurants (of all types). If I lived close to this hotel, I would absolutely be going on mini-getaways there - it was that good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here for business last month. The lobby had been recenlty refreshed but the room was so so. The staff was pleasant and the location convenient. The walls between the rooms are not well insulated and one can easily here conversation, bathroom activities and television.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
932 reviews 932 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Overall, I had a very nice experience at the Frederick Courtyard Marriott. I arrived at 12:30 AM, in route to Washington, D.C. Even though I had no reservation, the front desk clerk was very friendly and accommodating in giving me a choice of rooms, and then getting me checked in. The rooms itself was fairly nice, with a great bed and clean surroundings. My only problems was that there were three women in the next room who were talking, and simply would not stop. My room was adjoined to theirs with a pass-through door, which appeared to amplify sound. At 2:30 AM, when I finally dropped off to sleep, they were still talking. AND, when I returned from breakfast at 9:00 AM, they were still at it!!! (I didn't know there were that many things to talk about!)

Anyway, this hotel also has a nice array of public rooms, including one fireplace pit in a sitting room near the pool that looked REALLY nice. Had I the time to investigate, it looked like a comfortable place to sit with a book and relax.

On thing you should know about this hotel, though, is that the breakfast is NOT complimentary. You must pay for it, and it did not look especially cheap. No matter; there is an iHop (International House of Pancakes) right across the street that serves inexpensive and attractive lunches.

Summary: this was a nice hotel, and I would gladly return.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not adjoined to another room with a pass-through door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We didn't spend much time here... checked in at 10 pm and left about 9 in the morning. We wanted a good night's sleep though and we know that Marriott beds and pillows are usually pretty wonderful. No disappointment here. Clean room (2 Queen beds) and bathroom... really great shower head and water pressure... fluffy white towels. Front desk was helpful and there was a nearby cooler with soft drinks, beer, and wine that was open until 11 pm. (Pay at the front desk or add it to your bill.) It was a rainy and cool day the next morning, but through the window we could see a really lovely courtyard area with a lawn, fountain, and lots of patio chairs... would be great on a nice day.
(We did not stay for breakfast, but the desk did make sure to tell us that it was not included in the room rate.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Frederick

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Frederick Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Frederick Hotel Frederick
Courtyard Frederick
Frederick Courtyard
Frederick Marriott
Address: 5225 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
#6 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Frederick 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find that the new state-of-the-art lobby and newly renovated sleeping rooms at our Courtyard Frederick MD hotel provides greater flexibility and choice, featuring; inviting, productive spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our hotel's new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides healthy offerings in the morning, plus dinner service with cocktails in the evenings. You'll find outdoor spaces with a Fire Pit & Pond and plenty of seating, indoor pool, plus, a well-equipped fitness center, 24-hour self-serve business center and Quick Print station. Our new rooms offer comforts of home and ample work space. Conveniently located less than 30 miles from either Baltimore or Washington, DC,near the I-70 and I-270 interchange and just minutes from Historic Downtown Frederick. Your stay at the Courtyard Frederick MD hotel is sure to be more comfortable, productive and enjoyable than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.