We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Clean and Modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Frederick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Frederick to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Frederick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5225 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Clean and Modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Marriott Courtyard in Frederick, MD, is an excellent hotel. Very clean and modern. The lobby is actully pretty stunning for a business oriented hotel like this. There is a huge interactive touchscreen display for local information about restaurant, directions, weather, etc. There is even a waterfall in the lobby. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and the hotel is close to many restaurants. I stay at this hotel every time that I come to Frederick on business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
17
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Have stayed here on 4 separate occasions. It's very basic, the rooms are comfortable enough, if utilitarian (dark, plastic bathroom, tiny sink and vanity in the bedroom itself, musty smelling carpets, noisy aircon). Decor is very old and outdated. Arriving late at night, your only option for food is reheatable cartons of pasta, etc. from the shop at reception - not very appetising. Breakfast is fine, and they now have a bar so you can relax with a drink at night - used to have to bring your own. Staff are friendly, and the fitness room and pool are fine. It's not a bad place, just not very exciting if you're there for a few days, which I frequently have been.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Great feedback! We have listened. Starting in January of 2012 and ending in March of 2012 we underwent an extensive rooms renovation where we completely updated the bathrooms with new finishes and added additional lighting. In the rooms, we updated all furniture, fixtures, artwork, paint, carpet, and air conditioners. I believe you will be impressed when you stay again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We chose Frederick because of the proximity between Washington, DC and Gettysburg, PA., which was the main reason for our visit. But there is lots to see and do in the city of Frederick and surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011 via mobile

We spent two nights while attending a wedding. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Mini frig is convenient. Free morning coffee in lobby but no breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Got there later than expected and our rooms were still not ready. Was travelling with about 5 to 6 work colleagues and we ended up keeping our luggage in our cars and grabbing dinner instead of checking in. Rooms were average and walls paper thing, though the beds were comfortable. The next day we decided to have a late prep meeting before dinner by the bistro and it was very loud. Do not attempt to do any work downstairs in the common area, as it is a tight open space and noise travels.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 via mobile

Rooms are ok but can be noisey. With the fridge, ice maker and the occasional unidentified bangs, stayed in room with balcony but you can't smoke on it, strange. Bathroom was not very nice needs upgrading. however the staff are lovely which was really nice. Also there are a number of shops and places to eat right over the road.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Great feedback! We have listened. Starting in January of 2012 and ending in March of 2012 we underwent an extensive rooms renovation where we completely updated the bathrooms with new finishes and added additional lighting. In the rooms, we updated all furniture, fixtures, artwork, paint, carpet, and new quieter air conditioners. I believe you will be impressed when you stay again. The new in room refrigerators are now quieter and inside a cabinet where they can not be heard. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I often stay at Marriott hotels and this one definitely did not meet expectations. The room was dirty....blinds torn...dirty bathroom....really really old hotel that is not worth the money whatsoever. Would never stay again. This one needs a complete remodel! I have had better experiences in cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Frederick

Address: 5225 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Frederick
#4 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find that the new state-of-the-art lobby and newly renovated sleeping rooms at our Courtyard Frederick MD hotel provides greater flexibility and choice, featuring; inviting, productive spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our hotel's new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides healthy offerings in the morning, plus dinner service with cocktails in the evenings. You'll find outdoor spaces with a Fire Pit & Pond and plenty of seating, indoor pool, plus, a well-equipped fitness center, 24-hour self-serve business center and Quick Print station. Our new rooms offer comforts of home and ample work space. Conveniently located less than 30 miles from either Baltimore or Washington, DC,near the I-70 and I-270 interchange and just minutes from Historic Downtown Frederick. Your stay at the Courtyard Frederick MD hotel is sure to be more comfortable, productive and enjoyable than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Frederick Hotel Frederick
Courtyard Frederick
Frederick Courtyard
Frederick Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.