We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive, poor amenities and filthy rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Agadir
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive, poor amenities and filthy rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Came here for a two day stay, I found the rooms unclean, the bathrooms and carpeting were in bad shape. Location is good because of the hotels proximity to the west view mall, but beside that this hotel is not worth the super high price they charge, it's downright wrong. Breakfast was poor as well. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
21
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Got a good AAA rate for a nice stay. Not fancy, but staff was pleasant, clean rooms and a GREAT continental breakfast. I read a few reviews from people who didn't care for the breakfast, but for an included continental, we thought the selection was great! I would rather have stayed in walking distance to Frederick and not in the mass hotel area, but that is not the hotel's doing, it was my choice!! If you need anything, EVERY store and restaurant you can think of is near by!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel provided exactly the combination I was looking for during a business trip. They offered a government rate, were close to my business location, had a very quiet and clean room on the third floor, allowed me to check-in early, provided the type of modest breakfast I eat at home, and provided first class exercise equipment. In addition, the front desk staff were far more friendly and helpful than I have found to be the norm elsewhere. I spent four night here on this trip and have already booked here for my next business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed at the Marriott Fairfield Inn located in Frederick, MD. From check in to check out, my family received excellent customer service. The staff was very attentive to our needs. The room was clean and comfortable and the free breakfast was a big hit with our family. I highly recommend that you consider Fairfield Inn and Suites for your overnight or weekend stay when in Frederick or vacinity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked two rooms at this hotel
for one week and it was horrible. After having stayed at the hotel for one full week, I was late for checkout, around 3 pm. Once I arrived at the hotel, I found that all of my belongings were removed from my room and placed in an industrial sized bin, basically thrown in, clothes, documents, everything. Not only was this shocking, but worse I was forced to unload the bin and pack my luggage and all of my personal items in the lobby of the hotel!! This is by far the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Having spent thousands of dollars for the stay (extremely over priced for what it is) I could not have imagined having been thrown out like a prison inmate. In addition to this horrible finale of the stay, the staff is extremely inexperenced, I think
the employees are mainly highschool students. The rooms have no windows that can be opened, there are only plexy glass type enclosings that allow sun to come in, providing a very uncomfertable environment. The complimentary breakfast is basically coffee and granola bars. Overall the staff here is completly incompetent, immature, and horribly lack experience. The manager is also hopelessly inept. Avoid at all cost, horrible service, exceedingly expensive, and uncomfertable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Quiet, clean, comfortable beds, good free wi-fi, and a good shower. Location is great, close to 270 and 10 minutes from charming, historic downtown Frederick. Also right across the street from Westview Promenade, a good sized shopping center with half a dozen or more restaurants, several well known retail shops (Chicos, Loft, Cold Water Creek), a Regal Cinema and Mom's Organic Grocery.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Frederick Fairfield is your average chain hotel, built the same way in a different location. Very similar in concept to the Residence Inn and Courtyard hotels right next door, along with the Garden Inn, Hampton Inn, Towneplace Inn, etc, all within about a mile or two of one another. You feel like you've come to a hotel convention for hotel chains.

Nothing special or extra ordinary about the hotel. The people are friendly, the rooms are clean, the free continental breakfast is there...all exactly the same as if you we're in Frederick, or Fredericksburg, or Frederickton, or Fred-city USA. Having stayed there for two, two-week stretches recently, everything starts becoming routine and the same day after day. I guess that's what US chain hotels are like now: follow the McDonalds model of consistently regardless of location.

Ask for rooms on the end (there are four on each end of each floor) or at least the top floor if you want to avoid outside noise. Also, be amazed at how many people work at this location. There have got to be at least 5 or 6 people in the hotel lobby area each morning that do nothing more than greet you. That's a little over the top for me. Just one with sincerity would do nicely.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the four end room at the end of each floor for less noise. Avoid the ground floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick

Address: 5220 Westview Drive, Frederick, MD 21703
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Frederick Fairfield Inn & Suites! Located conveniently from I-270 and I-70 and just 2 miles from Historic Downtown Frederick, we are the perfect hotel destination for all of your business and leisure travel needs. At the Frederick Fairfield Inn & Suites, you can always count on a friendly welcome at an affordable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Frederick
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Frederick Hotel Frederick
Fairfield Inn Frederick
Fairfield Frederick
Frederick Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.