We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad first impression but nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Frederick to your Saves list
Super 8 Frederick
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Monocacy Blvd., Frederick, MD 21704 (Formerly Travelodge Frederick)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Toms River
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bad first impression but nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good clean looking hotel, lobby is large, rooms are nice, bathrooms are good. Lots of behind the building parking with no signed access to the hotel. A staff member was annoyed with me that I had to get a roll away bed and I had 3 people in my room. Day people were nice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    66
    57
    33
    38
See reviews for
66
41
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, helpful & made us feel welcome. General manager was extremely rude to 2 employees in front of not only me & my fiance but also 3-4 other guests that were in the lobby at the time! He was so rude & unprofessional one family actually walked out said they would go elsewhere and stay! When i asked to speak to someone in charge to make a complaint he stated he was the General Manager and I couldn't believe he would treat his employees that way, especially in front of guests! Was not expecting that from a Wyndham Hotel as I've stayed with the Wyndham chain all over the USA including Jamaica and had never experienced anything but welcome from staff and management. I will be calling and making a formal complaint to the Wyndham chain hoping he id reprimanded if not fired for his attitude and unprofessionalism!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the most scary place I ever stayed at. I first entered the lobby, or what you can call a lobby. All over the lobby were advertisements for snacks that were locked up. It made sense why they were all locked up given the type of people that stay or as you can say live here. The elevator is tiny, maybe fits 4 people max and felt like it was going to break. The hallways are extremely thin, dark, and long. When I mean these are long hallways, I am not kidding. I was terrified and it takes a lot to scare me. There are several "lower" class individuals staying at this hotel on a temporary basis. This is almost a hotel meant for long-term residents. I think the hotel is renting the rooms out for an extended basis for cheap, which attracts less than unsavory characters. The breakfast was terrible, pretty much cereal that's it. For those thinking this hotel is a good deal at the price, it is definitely not. You would have to pay me to stay here. Stay somewhere else for your own safety.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at a quite decent Travelodge in San Francisco and assumed that they all would be pretty much the same. Well, wrong assumption! This place was one of the seediest places I've ever been in. Ever! The room smelled strongly of chemicals. The sheets were so threadbareI wouldn't save them for rags. The lobby is filled with poor souls hanging out who have obviously been given short term housing subsidy vouchers. Oddly, when we arrived there were signs all over the property indicating it was now a Motel 8, but when I booked the room, it was considered a Travelodge. I was shocked by this experience and couldn't wait til morning to leave, so we didn't try the breakfast. Admittedly, the room was fairly clean and recently renovated. Still, this place was unacceptable to me, and I am not overly picky.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, mi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Stayed there overnight and just locked myself in my room. Didn't even want to go outside. Was on 4th floor. It was a large place and had only one small elevator. Saw lots of children hanging out by themselves in the lobby. Appeared to be a welfare hotel. Got it through Priceline and would never have booked on my own. They said it was a 2-star, I would rate it 1-star. It did have the fastest wifi of any hotel I have ever stayed at. Clocked at 55 mbps download.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Frederick

Address: 20 Monocacy Blvd., Frederick, MD 21704 (Formerly Travelodge Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story hotel with indoor corridors. Available free car and truck parking. Located within the city of Frederick MD but easily accessible from Interstate 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Travelodge
Frederick Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.