We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location near DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Frederick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Frederick to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Frederick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save Big
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect location near DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here as we did antiquing in the Frederick, Hagerstown, Baltimore area. It was the perfect spot. We had a very large corner room with big windows on two walls. As with all Hampton Inns, the bed was heavenly. Our room faced the highway and it was a bit noisy, but we still slept well. The room was spotless. The breakfast area was well-staffed and very pleasant. There is a shopping mall very nearby and many restaurant choices within a five minute drive. We have only one very minor criticism: the staff at the front desk upon check-in was just a bit inattentive and seemed disorganized. There were two women behind the desk and they both seemed to struggle for an unusually long time to check in one person. But we would return to this Hampton. It was a great choice.

Room Tip: Try for a suite corner room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    110
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
97
78
33
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was overwhelmed with the customer service we received at Hampton Inn Frederick! It didnt matter if it was an employee in the elevator, an employee walking down the hall or the front desk....EVERYONE greeted you and asked how your stay was.

I was quite amazed on the customer service! The atmosphere showed that it is a pleasant environment to work in and the positive energy flows over to the customers.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Frederick for one night in late December 2012. We were in Frederick to dine at VOLT restaurant's Table 21. What a cute town! It made a nice weekend getaway destination for us; we live about 3 hours away by car.

This property is a better-than-average Hampton Inn; it seems as though it may have been another chain property prior to becoming a Hampton Inn because of the layout and the additional amenities. There was an independent restaurant/bar (Pastimes Cafe) on the property; however, it closed just weeks prior to our arrival after being in business for 20 years (or so the sign claimed). An on-site restaurant/bar would have been a welcome amenity; it would have been somewhere that we could enjoyed a nightcap after dinner without worrying about the drive home.

Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is provided (or you can grab a bagged breakfast on weekdays if time is short) in the cafe area, which has both indoor and outdoor (seasonal) seating. Wi-Fi is free to certain levels of Hilton Hhonors members. There is an outdoor pool that is open in the summertime; we think that we saw a sign indicating that the maximum occupancy for the pool was 100 or so people, so it is rather large, surrounded by concrete decking. Lounge chairs were stacked for the winter, but seemed numerous. There is a natural-looking pond with a lighthouse-type structure in the center (it used to be the bar for the restaurant). Plenty of free parking is available, and many chain restaurants and a shopping mall are nearby, along with many retail and commercial properties. Downtown Frederick (the historic part) is a 10-minute drive (it is too far to walk; you also cannot walk to the mall, even though it is close, because of the busy roads). The hotel is located adjacent to the highway, but we did not hear any road noise. It shares a parking lot with some office buildings. A fitness center, laundry facilities, and event/meeting space are also available. We did not see the pantry/store area that we have come to expect at a Hampton Inn, but it seemed that the hotel had plenty of space for one, so perhaps it is tucked out of sight.

Our room was a king-bed study, standard Hampton Inn issue, with a king-size bed, sofa bed, coffee table, and desk/chair, and the bathroom was a decent size. The exit map on the back of our door indicated that there were larger rooms available, and the hotel did not look anywhere near filled to capacity, but we seemed to have received the room that we booked - no Diamond Hhonors upgrade. Our room had a mini-refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker.

We would stay here again if we were traveling, or if we visited Frederick again, particularly in the summertime when we could relax for an hour beside the pool.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed overnight Mar 9th and we are always pleased with Hilton family hotels. Hampton Inn is one of my absolute favorites. This location is right off of I-270 south of Fredrick Md. 9 milescaway is I-70 and buckeystown. The rooms were clean and pillows available to suit your preference. I really enjoyed the shower head and towels. Breakfast is complimentary but there is an assistant who watches over you as you eat. That part is a little creepy but you know these folks are there to keep the area clean. Cookies were out when we arrived and we were offered fruit after our long ride. Service at the front desk was terrific. Parking was free and available. Getting out of the parking lot wad a littlecstrange. Furniture was a bit worn and housekeeping stopped by too early but all in all, this is a great location to rest or go shopping at the outlets up the highway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We met with a relative couple celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary. We spent a lot of time in the breakfast area enjoying the free coffee and fruit. It was very comfortable. Then we met in the morning for breakfast which was very good, as usual. Everything was Hampton Inn quality. The room was large and the bed was great. We've stayed at this hotel before and it remains consistently great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick! We are pleased to hear that you had such a nice time celebrating your relative's 50th wedding anniversary. What a magnificent achievement! We are so happy that you enjoyed the comfort of our lobby and breakfast area and your spacious room and comfy bed!

Thank you for returning to stay with us again....we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed here several times & each time have been greeted pleasantly by the staff, housekeeping, maintenance, etc. I like the free breakfast & that they have a bar-restaurant attached for evening meals/drinks. On weekends there is music/dancing so it's more of a nightclub-type atmosphere if you're in the mood for that. This location is also easy access & close to major haighway. It's also very close to shopping mall & several restaurants. Decent price, value, rooms, staff, everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT overlooking back partio area to the attached bar/restaurant. People go out there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We reserved a block of rooms through Reba who was very accomodating and helpful. The rooms had just been refurbished and were very nice and clean. The staff from the front desk to the night time security guard (Willie I believe) was excellent. They went out of their way to accomodate our needs and made our stay very pleasant. This is the second time we've stayed here and it just keeps getting better!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Frederick

Address: 5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Frederick
#6 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the historical town of Frederick, Maryland, the Hampton Inn Frederick hotel is the perfect place to rest after a day out on the town. Explore the cultural landmarks in the city, learn about the development of Civil War medicine, browse the local antique shops and enjoy local dining and entertainment options. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet service, a free hot breakfast each morning, outdoor pool, fitness center, business center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.