We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn - Nice Stay, Nothing Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Frederick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Frederick to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Frederick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn - Nice Stay, Nothing Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a nice Hampton Inn. Our room was clean and the breakfast was a very good spread. The refrigerator in our room did not work and the television stations (ESPN and ESPN2) were spotty at best. We were not staying here for the TV, so it made a nice room. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    101
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
91
75
29
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lima, OH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Other than lacking the familiar Hampton Inn sign, this hotel is typical of the Hampton chain good quality. The room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean with a large tub, bed provided a good nights sleep and the super deluxe breakfast was very satisfying. I had a problem with a smoker next door polluting under our common door but that was not the hotel's fault. After complaining I did not smell smoke again. Also, the elevator went out the morning I was checking out. But in general this stay lived up to the Hampton brand expectations and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night, driving back to Toronto, Ontario, from Virginia Beach. Had I known this hotel was going to be this good, I would have tried to stay for at least 2 nights. Extremely clean...even the TV remote had been cleaned and left with a note beside it stating just that. We had a lovely dinner in the lounge/restaurant as well. It was first time staying at the Hampton Inn...we would definitely go back. Great service as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here for a two-week business stint. There are a lot of Hamptons and similar hotels in the Frederick area- including a number in the Hilton family. This one, however, has a good reputation for a reason: The staff. Whether maintenance, front desk, managers, housekeeping- the Hampton Inn Frederick has hired some outstanding staff! Watch the staff when you go- fresh cookies are baked in the evening, and they are absolutely mortified if the cookie supply runs low! Whatever you need, the staff at this Hampton will help you do it. They might as well title the front desk personnel "Concierge Services", because they will direct you to any of three dozen good ethnic restaurants (and aren't shy about telling you where to avoid!) while suggesting interesting places to go.

The elevators here are relatively slow. This is the only con I can come up with. That being said, everything else- staff response to phone calls, requests for maintenance, asking for extra towels, refilling the breakfast buffet- are lightning fast. I've stayed elsewhere in Frederick, but only because this hotel was completely sold out. The friendly employees make this place worth going to time and time again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor- it's high enough that even with the windows open, the noise from the live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful, detailed review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. We will certainly share your comments with our staff....they will all be so pleased to hear your feedback! Our staff strives every day to deliver our signature "We Love Guests!" service - treating every guest as if they were a guest in our own home. Our front desk staff in particular really loves assisting guests with local recommendations for dining, shopping and sightseeing. They will be so proud to hear your suggestion that they should be referred to as Concierge Services - what a fabulous compliment!

We are so happy to be your hotel of choice in Frederick, MD. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

On the way to from Cincinnati to Bethany Beach DE, we stopped here to cut our day trip a bit. Many hotels in the area were not rated too highly and/or no smoking rooms available for my husband. Only the Best Western was rated besides this one. Upon getting there very late in the evening towards 10 or so, they were more than accommodating. There was a lounge and restaurant attached but by the time we got our bags up to the room it was after 10. We were so very tired and I had been sick on the trip and needed something to eat. Unfortunately the lounge/restaurant stopped serving at 10. The employees were more than happy to give me some food from the next morning's breakfast, such as a banana, apple and yogurt and a drink. It definitely saved me until morning. They had a microwave and I think fridge in the room which worked out well. A great breakfast in the morning and better than most. The rooms were clean with very comfortable beds and clean comforter covers. A great stay and wished I could have stayed another night to enjoy that hopping lounge and patio. Definitely a good decision for stopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. We are so happy that you decided to stop on the way to Bethany Beach and stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming upon your arrival and was able to assist you with getting something to eat after the restaurant was closed for the evening.

We are happy to hear that you found the room to be both clean and comfortable. Yes, many of our guests like the convenience of having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. We believe in getting our guest's day off to a great start with a nice hot breakfast and friendly service!

Now that you have found us, we certainly hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Driving in from KY, we decided to stay 1 night prior to our CCL cruise out of Baltimore - we didn't want to get stuck in traffic and subsequently miss the boat. We looked at staying downtown, but the prices were $270 per night or more.

We decided to stay in Frederick, and then drive to the port in the morning.

This was a great choice on my part. Cost of the Hampton was only $110 (we had 3 rooms). After check-in, we drove to Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, parked for $15. The Inner Harbor was awesome. It took 1 hour to get from the hotel to the parking lot. And was very easy to get back via GPS.

When we arrived back at the Hampton, we went down to the pool for some late night swimming (and a few drinks – which we were told very politely that bottles are not allowed in/by the pool). In the morning, breakfast was included and was located right off the lobby. Make your own waffles, and also a buffet style breakfast. It was very good – not that we needed anything before boarding a ship loaded with more to eat.

The Hampton Inn Frederick was clean, the pool area was nice and useable, the staff were all incredibly nice & helpful, and the room was very nice. It’s a great hotel in a nice area. There is a very nice mall down the street with plenty of nice restaurants too (if you would prefer not to drive down to Baltimore for diner). I will stay here again if we choose to cruise out of Baltimore next year. It was a very good choice – Thanks TripAvisor!

Oh, FYI – pets are allowed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a disaster. No air conditioning in the hallways or elevators. Cannot get the room cooled off, either. Half the fitness equipment is broken. The computers in the "business center" are broken. Housekeeping appears to be broken as well: we asked for the room to be cleaned *before* 1:00 pm so we could prepare for a funeral. When we arrived at 1:05 pm, nothing had been done and the explanation was that Housekeeping believed the room was to be done "at" 1:00 pm.
For almost $200 a night? This is obscene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all guest concerns and feedback are taken very seriously by our employees and management staff at the hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the difficulties that you experienced during your stay with us. Following your stay, the treadmill in the fitness room was replaced, so the equipment is now in working order. Also, the air conditioning problem that we were experiencing that weekend was repaired. We also investigated your comment regarding the computers in the business center being “broken”. The computers are all in working order at this time. We are sorry for the miscommunication regarding your early check-in request. We do our best to accommodate early check in (and other special requests) from our guests.

As you can see from our other guest reviews…the challenges that you experienced during your stay are definitely not a typical experience for our guests. We apologize again for the inconvenience you experienced. We do want to thank you again for your honest feedback as it can be used to better train our team and maintain our property’s favorable condition. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time that you are in Frederick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Frederick

Address: 5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Frederick
#4 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the historical town of Frederick, Maryland, the Hampton Inn Frederick hotel is the perfect place to rest after a day out on the town. Explore the cultural landmarks in the city, learn about the development of Civil War medicine, browse the local antique shops and enjoy local dining and entertainment options. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet service, a free hot breakfast each morning, outdoor pool, fitness center, business center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.