We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Frederick

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Frederick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Frederick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Frederick
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night, driving back to Toronto, Ontario, from Virginia Beach. Had I known this hotel was going to be this good, I would have tried to stay for at least 2 nights. Extremely clean...even the TV remote had been cleaned and left with a note beside it stating just that. We had a lovely dinner in the lounge/restaurant as well. It was first time staying at the Hampton Inn...we would definitely go back. Great service as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    72
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
68
60
17
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here for a two-week business stint. There are a lot of Hamptons and similar hotels in the Frederick area- including a number in the Hilton family. This one, however, has a good reputation for a reason: The staff. Whether maintenance, front desk, managers, housekeeping- the Hampton Inn Frederick has hired some outstanding staff! Watch the staff when you go- fresh cookies are baked in the evening, and they are absolutely mortified if the cookie supply runs low! Whatever you need, the staff at this Hampton will help you do it. They might as well title the front desk personnel "Concierge Services", because they will direct you to any of three dozen good ethnic restaurants (and aren't shy about telling you where to avoid!) while suggesting interesting places to go.

The elevators here are relatively slow. This is the only con I can come up with. That being said, everything else- staff response to phone calls, requests for maintenance, asking for extra towels, refilling the breakfast buffet- are lightning fast. I've stayed elsewhere in Frederick, but only because this hotel was completely sold out. The friendly employees make this place worth going to time and time again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor- it's high enough that even with the windows open, the noise from the live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful, detailed review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. We will certainly share your comments with our staff....they will all be so pleased to hear your feedback! Our staff strives every day to deliver our signature "We Love Guests!" service - treating every guest as if they were a guest in our own home. Our front desk staff in particular really loves assisting guests with local recommendations for dining, shopping and sightseeing. They will be so proud to hear your suggestion that they should be referred to as Concierge Services - what a fabulous compliment!

We are so happy to be your hotel of choice in Frederick, MD. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

On the way to from Cincinnati to Bethany Beach DE, we stopped here to cut our day trip a bit. Many hotels in the area were not rated too highly and/or no smoking rooms available for my husband. Only the Best Western was rated besides this one. Upon getting there very late in the evening towards 10 or so, they were more than accommodating. There was a lounge and restaurant attached but by the time we got our bags up to the room it was after 10. We were so very tired and I had been sick on the trip and needed something to eat. Unfortunately the lounge/restaurant stopped serving at 10. The employees were more than happy to give me some food from the next morning's breakfast, such as a banana, apple and yogurt and a drink. It definitely saved me until morning. They had a microwave and I think fridge in the room which worked out well. A great breakfast in the morning and better than most. The rooms were clean with very comfortable beds and clean comforter covers. A great stay and wished I could have stayed another night to enjoy that hopping lounge and patio. Definitely a good decision for stopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. We are so happy that you decided to stop on the way to Bethany Beach and stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming upon your arrival and was able to assist you with getting something to eat after the restaurant was closed for the evening.

We are happy to hear that you found the room to be both clean and comfortable. Yes, many of our guests like the convenience of having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. We believe in getting our guest's day off to a great start with a nice hot breakfast and friendly service!

Now that you have found us, we certainly hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Driving in from KY, we decided to stay 1 night prior to our CCL cruise out of Baltimore - we didn't want to get stuck in traffic and subsequently miss the boat. We looked at staying downtown, but the prices were $270 per night or more.

We decided to stay in Frederick, and then drive to the port in the morning.

This was a great choice on my part. Cost of the Hampton was only $110 (we had 3 rooms). After check-in, we drove to Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, parked for $15. The Inner Harbor was awesome. It took 1 hour to get from the hotel to the parking lot. And was very easy to get back via GPS.

When we arrived back at the Hampton, we went down to the pool for some late night swimming (and a few drinks – which we were told very politely that bottles are not allowed in/by the pool). In the morning, breakfast was included and was located right off the lobby. Make your own waffles, and also a buffet style breakfast. It was very good – not that we needed anything before boarding a ship loaded with more to eat.

The Hampton Inn Frederick was clean, the pool area was nice and useable, the staff were all incredibly nice & helpful, and the room was very nice. It’s a great hotel in a nice area. There is a very nice mall down the street with plenty of nice restaurants too (if you would prefer not to drive down to Baltimore for diner). I will stay here again if we choose to cruise out of Baltimore next year. It was a very good choice – Thanks TripAvisor!

Oh, FYI – pets are allowed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a disaster. No air conditioning in the hallways or elevators. Cannot get the room cooled off, either. Half the fitness equipment is broken. The computers in the "business center" are broken. Housekeeping appears to be broken as well: we asked for the room to be cleaned *before* 1:00 pm so we could prepare for a funeral. When we arrived at 1:05 pm, nothing had been done and the explanation was that Housekeeping believed the room was to be done "at" 1:00 pm.
For almost $200 a night? This is obscene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all guest concerns and feedback are taken very seriously by our employees and management staff at the hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the difficulties that you experienced during your stay with us. Following your stay, the treadmill in the fitness room was replaced, so the equipment is now in working order. Also, the air conditioning problem that we were experiencing that weekend was repaired. We also investigated your comment regarding the computers in the business center being “broken”. The computers are all in working order at this time. We are sorry for the miscommunication regarding your early check-in request. We do our best to accommodate early check in (and other special requests) from our guests.

As you can see from our other guest reviews…the challenges that you experienced during your stay are definitely not a typical experience for our guests. We apologize again for the inconvenience you experienced. We do want to thank you again for your honest feedback as it can be used to better train our team and maintain our property’s favorable condition. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time that you are in Frederick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was very clean and it had all the basic amenities I needed for my three night stay and more such as a breakfast buffet and complimentary hygiene accessories. The bed was comfortable and I had no problems with it and the wireless internet worked well although it was slower when viewing videos, which is not a surprise because wireless is slower than wired internet access. The location of the hotel is very good because it is on a major road and there are a lot of points of interest around it such as restaurants, shopping centers, a mall (Francis Scott Key Mall), etc, and many more. It is also close to tourist attractions such as Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and is relatively close to Virginia's Shenandoah Valley, which contains many great nature oriented attractions such as Skyline and Luray Caverns. If you find yourself at the hotel and you want to plan some day trips and you do not really know the area too well, you will be in luck because like most hotels, it does have pamphlets that advertise various attractions in the area and there are also coupons for some attractions such as Skyline Caverns to help save some money. If you are planning to do some sightseeing, I would still look before heading to the hotel to get an idea of what I would want to see.

One of my favorite amenities was the breakfast that was included, and they certainly do not skimp on the quality of the food. It is a buffet and they have different food almost every day. My personal favorite was the scrambled eggs and bacon, which I found to taste great and the coffee was my favorite thing to drink even when it was over 95 degrees outside and humid. One small issue I had with the breakfast, though, was that in my last two days of staying, the juices (cranberry, orange, apple) tasted watery and the flavor was somehow lost. Despite that, I mostly drank coffee and I was satisfied with that along with all of the food featured there.

The front desk staff was great and was helpful in getting me accommodated. One issue I was having was that my alarm clock was still ringing even after I pressed the snooze button. Even after unplugging it, it wouldn't stop ringing, and thankfully, the front desk had someone reset it and after that, I no longer had that problem. It also seemed like there was an issue with the elevator when I saw that a note said it wasn't able to go onto a certain floor, but it still worked fine.

The fitness center was small, but it did it's job when I used it. It had some treadmills along with an elliptical machine. I don't remember there being weights although the fitness center would be perfect if it was expanded and had more of a variety of workout equipment. It did also have free water and it was open to hotel guests; you would use your room key card to enter. From my experiences, I can compare this Hampton Inn to a SpringHill Suites (another 3-star chain) that I stayed at in Alexandria, VA, and I would say that both are great choices, although I would give SpringHill Suites an edge because it's more hotel for the money if you do not include the pool. The main advantage SpringHill Suites had is that the fitness center was much larger and had a wider array of equipment for working out and at the same time, it felt more like an apartment because the rooms were also a good deal larger and had couches. I would also say that SpringHill Suites is more for business travelers while Hampton Inn is more for families or couples, especially with there being an outdoor swimming pool, which are always great for those with children, as I always enjoyed swimming pools when I was younger. This Hampton Inn has been a great hotel overall and it is one I would recommend, but whichever hotel in this class is best for you depends on what extra amenities are most important for you to have (pool, business center, etc.).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Frederick, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Frederick. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable accommodations, our friendly staff as well as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the morning. We believe in giving our guests a great start to their day by offering them a quality breakfast featuring a great selection of food/beverage. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the juice, we will check our juice dispenser to ensure that it is operating properly.

Thank you for providing other travelers with such great information about our proximity to local attractions and great day trip options such as Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. Frederick is also a great destination for Civil War history buffs – as we are a close drive to both Gettysburg and Antietam.

We are pleased to share with you that we are in the process of upgrading our complimentary internet service - which we anticipate will provide faster speed for our guests streaming video. In the next month, we will also begin an upgrade of our fitness room – which will provide both an expanded space and a wider variety of equipment.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Frederick, MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The storm was referred to as "Epic" on WUSA TV9 news. It took power out all over the northeast. We usually tought it out when our power goes out, but with our grandson (11 months old) being here, we had to get him somewhere with air conditioning. From the front desk staff, to the very polite general cleaning man, to the breasfast staff, everyone was wonderful. The room was perfectly cleaned. There were several other rooms with people whos power was out, too. They were also very happy. Oh, and breakfast was delicious and hot with lots of choices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Frederick

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick Hotel
Frederick Hampton Inn
Address: 5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Frederick
#2 Best Value Hotel in Frederick
#3 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Frederick 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the historical town of Frederick, Maryland, the Hampton Inn Frederick hotel is the perfect place to rest after a day out on the town. Explore the cultural landmarks in the city, learn about the development of Civil War medicine, browse the local antique shops and enjoy local dining and entertainment options. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet service, a free hot breakfast each morning, outdoor pool, fitness center, business center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.