We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay visit but probably wouldn't stay here again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Holiday Drive, I-270 @ Route 85, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay visit but probably wouldn't stay here again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a room here fro a wedding that was held at this hotel. The room on the first floor not near the pool with a king size bed had nice space the bathroom was clean. The bed looked really nice and updated with a white coverlet and nice pillows but the sheets were not nice, they were of poor quality and nubby. The price for a night was reasonable, and the pool area with the little golf course looked like fun especially if you had children with you. The food here is average at best.

Room Tip: I liked the pool area rooms although it may get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us! We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities of the hotel; like the pool and miniature golf area! If you are ever back in the area, we hope that you will stay with us again, even if you are not here to attend a wedding! Hopefully it was a fun and enjoyable time though! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    37
    25
    18
See reviews for
37
24
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Since we are Holiday Inn rewards members, we chose this hotel for the night on the way to our final destination. For $5 more, we had the breakfast buffet for four. We had a first floor room with two queen beds that had direct access to the pool.As I waited for our pizza to get delivered, my husband and the kids swam. There was also a little mini-golf area that was designed for kids 7 and under. Since it was a Saturday night there was a wedding & another party going on, in the area directly across from our room. We got the kids to bed by 9 but we had a hard time sleeping. When the pool closed at 10 that part quieted down. But the band was still jamming and there was a lot of noise in the hallway. In the future, I would not want a room that faced the pool. And I would check if the conference center was booked as it made things very loud. The breakfast buffet was good but they were slow to refill and I would have liked more fruit on it. But for $5 to feed 2 kids & 2 adults a hot breakfast, it was great. If you're looking for a quick stay and want a pool, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Frederick Holiday Inn this weekend and we appreciate that you gave us your feedback. It's certainly nice to see that you were able to partake in so many of our amenities; the mini-golf area, the indoor pool, and our restaurant for breakfast. Of course, we apologize that noise was an issue during your stay! If you are ever back in the area; please let me know so that we can make sure your room location is away from the pool and Courtyard area as requested! As an IHG Rewards Member, we are glad that you were able to stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We intended to spend the night here after a long day, but upon walking down the hallway to our first floor room, we began to second-guess our reservation. The hallway was rundown, although it appeared to be under construction since the ceiling was covered in plastic... Our room was clean, but felt dark and dismal due to the fact that we were stuck poolside with no windows for natural light. We cleaned up, rested for a little bit, and then checked out. The hotel staff was nice and I'm sure had we asked to be relocated, they probably would've accommodated us, but by this point, we were just ready to leave and make the drive home.

Room Tip: Request a room that in NOT poolside if you like natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Shellcapri,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean place to stay.

Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret we did not live up to your expectations. Regarding the construction plastic you saw in the hallway, we recently had a sprinkler head fail and the resulting water damaged the walls and ceiling. We are happy to report that work has currently in place to repair and finish the hallway.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are two Holiday Inn’s at opposite ends of the Francis Scott Key Mall property. One is an Express, this is the normal Holiday Inn. Neither is connected to the mall.

I had a king size nonsmoking on the first floor. I was a tad worried walking down the hallway as the property felt old and the ceiling had plastic hanging (see photo). Not sure if they had water leaks (doubtful as this was first floor) or hallway upgrades. However upon entering the room I was happy to see a modern clean room. All was in working order.

This hotel has two floors. If you have any luggage, request a first floor room as there are no elevators. Only stairs.

It’s nice to see free internet for all guests. No wired connection, only wireless. Sadly, internet is outsourced to AT&T and for any problems they direct you to call the 800 number. I had a room at the end of the hall by an outside door and the wireless signal was spotty.

One outlet at the desk that is available through the lamp. No available outlets bedside without unplugging a lamp or clock. This is one of those frustrating parts of traveling that is so dang easy for hotel management to fix.

Both PM and AM front desk staff are awesome! PM staff was sympathetic of internet issues but said its out of their hands and I need to deal direct with AT&T. If there was a problem with power, would they also have me contact the power company direct???

Aside from the internet, this is a nice hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: When checking in, do not bring in luggage. Find out where you room is as you can most likely drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your recent stay. I was very happy to see that you experienced a good stay and were pleased with the service you received from my staff. I do apologize for the spotty internet service and the response you received upon inquiring from my front desk. We work with an internet service provider and usually they are able to resolve guest problems with a simple call to the 800 number. Regarding the construction plastic you saw in the hallway, we recently had a sprinkler head fail and the resulting water damaged the walls and ceiling. We are happy to report that work will begin this week to repair and finish the hallway and will not interrupt any guest stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment and please come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Found myself stuck in the area late at night do to car trouble. Ended up with a nice clean room, comfortable bed for a reasonable price.
Has a nice pool and family area for kids to play.
Parking is free.
Is located just next to a Sears and a two minute drive from aother shopping.
Rooms have a fridge and a microwave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Even though you didn't intend to stay overnight in Frederick, we are glad that we were able to accommodate your stay and it was a pleasant one. Hopefully your car is back up and running, but thank you for posting your feedback about our hotel and your recent stay with us! If you are ever back in Frederick (hopefully not because of car trouble); we hope that you will stay with us again! Have an awesome day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had some issues during my stay but prompt and decisive action by Lisa Saylor was above and beyond the call of duty and was much appreciated. I will be back in July in large part thanks to attention from Lisa

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Wow - that is so great to hear! Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on your stay with us in June. We work very hard to make our guests happy and it sounds like Lisa was able to make that happen for you! I'm glad that she was able to take care of you. We look forward to having you back again this month. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family recently lost a family member to a motorcycle accident. Upon planning the memorial service, we could not find a traditional gathering place for a memorial service. A call to Frederick Md Holiday Inn Conference Center was a dream come true. The staff welcomed us in with open arms picking out favorite colors for tables coverings and the menu for the lunchen. The day of the service we were greeted with a beautiful room with waterfalls that just set the mood for a tough day.Lamonte took care of the last minute, I forgot to bring that, items for us and was just super to deal with. I would highly recommend Holiday Day Inn for a memorial service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so sorry to hear about your loss within your family! Hopefully the service was a peaceful time to reflect and remember your loved one! Thank you so much for allowing us to host this event for your many friends and family who attended. We are glad that we could help assist you with this planning as best as possible during this rough time and we are glad it was what you were looking for to celebrate his life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5400 Holiday Drive, I-270 @ Route 85, Frederick, MD 21703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center! We are conveniently located at the intersection of I-270 and Route 85 at the Francis Scott Key Mall. Our central location to historic downtown Frederick, Washington DC and Baltimore makes for an easy drive to any local area attraction or businesses.We are just minutes away from local attractions including Fort Detrick, Frederick Fairgrounds, Frederick Keys, Adventure Park, Hood College and more! Are you in town for business? We are located near several companies including State Farm, Allegheny Power, Lockheed Martin, Landmark Aviation, Bechtel, BP Solar and FKI Logistix to just name a few.This Frederick Hotel offers 155 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Our rooms offer the new Simply Smart bedding collection, complimentary high speed wireless internet access and all the conveniences of home. Dine in our 5400 Market Place Restaurant where kids 12 and under eat free. Our indoor recreation center features a pool, sauna, whirlpool, miniature golf, games, fitness center, business center and more! Planning an event? We have over 13,000 Sq Ft of event space. Our experience staff will help you plan your next meeting, wedding or event. We offer catering and equipment rental.The Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center is the perfect hotel for your business or leisure travels. We are also pet friendly! Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel And Conference Center
Frederick Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.