We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Holiday Drive, I-270 @ Route 85, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

A nice and clean hotel with big spacious rooms. We were in a room with two double beds and we had more then enough room with the four people we had in our room. The rooms come equipped with a microwave and fridge as well. The bathrooms were clean but the front desk and maids were a bit stingy on the towels. We were situated by the pool, also known as poolside...which we thought was a benefit. We were wrong. It was an indoor pool and it's great for kids. The complex also had a ping pong table, mini-golf and a hot tub. All within the atrium. The problem was the noise echoes....and you have no choice of sleeping after 8 or 9 in the morning after the pool opens up. The pool itself and hot-tub were well maintained and it was extremely clean.

The hotel is not centered within walking distance of downtown Frederick so you'll have to drive to downtown which was a minus. Also, the hotel has a sports bar in it's center as well. Drinks were fast....but one had to question why so much security in this place. A few rent-a-cops took there jobs too seriously. They were actually an eyesore. I get "bouncers" but these guys were a bit much. Overall for the price it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    41
    25
    20
See reviews for
41
26
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel has an atrium setup so the rooms are in a square around it and in the atrium is the pool and put put course. SO its very loud because people bring a lot of kids here. The rooms are clean and good size and also have a fridge and microwave which comes in really handy. The rate was cheap but its also a good drive from downtown Frederick so if you're going here to walk around I suggest staying somewhere closer. On the upside it does have a bar onsite with a dance floor and karaoke which is always entertaining.

Room Tip: Not poolside if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were here for ACUI conference from 11-3-11 to 11-6-11 and at no time were we informed it was "pet friendly". A large dog has barked all day for the third day causing two other small, yappy ones to bark too....if you can't stay with your pets, don't bring them! Also room opens to pool area and in all wehear are screaming children of all ages and screaming parents trying to keep up with them which is probably why the dogs are barking! We've had headaches because we haven't been able to rest! This is a lot of money for three days without sleep.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were told by the Manager that we reserved a "block of rooms" for our wedding. Turns out, they never actually blocked off the rooms so wedding guests were scattered throughout the hotel.

Check in took 1 hour...for everyone. The front desk was rude and slightly inept. They tried charging the Bride and Groom upon check in and check out for which they had promised a Free room upon reserving the lot.

We were also told we would have discounted rooms for the guests of wedding staying there. Turns out they still charged people FULL price even after telling them they were with the wedding party.

The only positive was Karaoke night Thursday and Friday night in the lounge to which we had a blast.

I strongly advise looking into other hotels before booking this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I recently stayed with a wedding group that had arranged for a block of rooms at this hotel. The young lady at the front desk had an awful attitude, the overall condition of this old hotel (I am guessing 60's vintage, but redone) is only fair, the cost of the breakfast buffet incredibly does not include coffee or juice, but the waiter did not tell us this when we ordered, and the housekeeping is marginal. Strangely, there is a Holiday Inn Express in the same complex, and directions to the much larger hotel are poor. Many of the arriving guests mistakenly stopped at the more visible Express first. I would not stay here again, and do not recommend this hotel which seems to survive by booking conventions of government contractors and such.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Normally I stay at budget motels but was here for a wedding, and it was very nice. They are pet friendly but there is an extra fee for pets. The front desk staff was exceptionally cordial upon check in, and the hotel also catered a dinner associated with the wedding, and the food was great. My room was very comfortable and there are large grassy areas in which to walk a dog if one is with you. Some relatives stayed in rooms that were poolside and those rooms were not as quiet as mine was (I was away from the pool area), but they liked being near the activities in the Holidome. The pool seemed very clean and well maintained, and there was a fitness room and saunas available also. We all enjoyed our stay here. No complaints. The children enjoyed the mini golf located in the Holidome also. And the shopping mall is right next door but we were occupied with the wedding festivities and didn't visit the mall. Macy's was right across from the hotel. We had breakfast at the buffet one day and it was delicious. Everything was fresh and well made. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your remarks!! My staff and I work hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay with us and it is wonderful when a guest has a great stay and let's us know. Our hotel is convenient to alot of destinations with the area, and as you noted, is directly across from the mall making it very convenient for shopping and dining. I am glad that family members with children enjoyed the Holidome. We always try to place our gests in rooms that cater to their needs and family's truly enjoy the poolside locations. We look forward to having you stay with us should your travels bring you to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Easy access from RTS 270/70 and 85. Next to Francis Scott Key mall and less than 10 minutes to Downtown restaurants. It had an active bar and the area it is in has many restaurants. The dining scene in Frederick is vibrant. The area is also about 20 minutes from historic Harper's Ferry. On check in the desk staff was friendly and helpful with accurate directions. The room on Priceline was less than $85 with tax, so it was a good deal. The room was clean as was the pool and spa area. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5400 Holiday Drive, I-270 @ Route 85, Frederick, MD 21703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center! We are conveniently located at the intersection of I-270 and Route 85 at the Francis Scott Key Mall. Our central location to historic downtown Frederick, Washington DC and Baltimore makes for an easy drive to any local area attraction or businesses.We are just minutes away from local attractions including Fort Detrick, Frederick Fairgrounds, Frederick Keys, Adventure Park, Hood College and more! Are you in town for business? We are located near several companies including State Farm, Allegheny Power, Lockheed Martin, Landmark Aviation, Bechtel, BP Solar and FKI Logistix to just name a few.This Frederick Hotel offers 155 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Our rooms offer the new Simply Smart bedding collection, complimentary high speed wireless internet access and all the conveniences of home. Dine in our 5400 Market Place Restaurant where kids 12 and under eat free. Our indoor recreation center features a pool, sauna, whirlpool, miniature golf, games, fitness center, business center and more! Planning an event? We have over 13,000 Sq Ft of event space. Our experience staff will help you plan your next meeting, wedding or event. We offer catering and equipment rental.The Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center is the perfect hotel for your business or leisure travels. We are also pet friendly! Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.