We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. Unexpectedly up to date.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5579 Spectrum Drive, Frederick, MD 21703 (Formerly The Hotel Frederick)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice. Unexpectedly up to date.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We helped our son move and needed a bed to sleep in at the end of the day, rather than bunking on the sleep sofa. The Country Inn and Suites was a nice surprise! The company has worked to update its look and features! My last experience with this chain was less than memorable. The lobby had a large sofa and comfy chairs. It looked like a nice living room.

Our king suite was small, but had been updated with new furnishings, etc. There was a spare blanket and "synthetic pillow" in the closet. Moments after walking in, the phone rang <LOUD!> Puzzled, I picked it up and it was the front desk making sure the accomodation was acceptable. Thats a new thing.

After heading into historic Frederick for dinner, we returned to the room. We realized that there weren't enough "empty" outlets to charge our various electronic devices. Thats something that could be added - a charging station of some sort. Climbing into bed, the sheets/blankets were tucked so tightly under the mattress, it was a struggle pulling the blankets up to cover my shoulders, and my toes got a bit mashed.

A HUGE plus: The HVAC unit was QUIET! I typically need to wear earplugs because most in room units are so very loud. This one was barely noticeable.

The bathroom was on the small side, but we typically take turns with the sink/shower anyway. The single sink vanity wouldn't easily hold much in the way of toiletries.

Breakfast was a nice assortment. Eggs, ham, hashbrowns, and even a pan of diced onion/peppers for anyone wishing to create a custom omelet. There were raisins and brown sugar for the "home made" hot oatmeal. And there was a waffle maker plus fixings.

Overall, we were very pleased and will certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
12
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I work in the Frederick area a couple of times a week and often stay here. Front desk is very friendly and always helps if there are any issues. Rooms are your basic set up and are always very clean. Beds are very comfy and pillows are amazing! Within walking distance to the mall and other restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I work in Frederick close to this place, and decided on a spur of the moment to stay here when the weather was poor outside since I could not make it home that evening. I was able to get a room last minute with a king sized bed. The hotel was being renovated and did not have a working elevator, but I did not mind the walk to my room. My room was clean and I was impressed with the amenities available. The hotel was quiet which was a plus as well. My only complaint was that the heater in my room made a clicking/banging noise while it was running......but I just slept with the heater off. Check out was a quick process as well. If inclement weather forces me to stay in Frederick overnight again, I would definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed at this place at the spur of the moment. It has a convenient location next to several shopping mall, not too far from the historic down town. The staff went out of their way to make the stay a pleasant one. Paula, manager and Chastity made this a pleasant stay (sorry the name of the friendly young man that checked us in, escapes me). The completely newly renovated and decorated rooms and exterior was all a pleasant surprise, not the run-of-the-mill Country Inn. The only issue was a sparser than usual breakfast. Recommended value for money place!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management5579, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
What wonderful comments about my staff! I will be sure to share these comments with Paula, Chasity and Akin. Hospitality is our business and they are true examples of friendly and professional staff. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful week.
Lee Ireland-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick

Address: 5579 Spectrum Drive, Frederick, MD 21703 (Formerly The Hotel Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story interior corridor hotel featuring rooms with two double beds or one King size bed. Hotel offers free hot breakfast, High speed wireless internet access, free parking, business center. Each room has a coffee maker, iron and ironing board , refrigerator and microwave. 24 Coffee available. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frederick Hotel Frederick
Holiday Inn Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.