We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay convenience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5579 Spectrum Drive, Frederick, MD 21703 (Formerly The Hotel Frederick)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One night stay convenience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I work in Frederick close to this place, and decided on a spur of the moment to stay here when the weather was poor outside since I could not make it home that evening. I was able to get a room last minute with a king sized bed. The hotel was being renovated and did not have a working elevator, but I did not mind the walk to my room. My room was clean and I was impressed with the amenities available. The hotel was quiet which was a plus as well. My only complaint was that the heater in my room made a clicking/banging noise while it was running......but I just slept with the heater off. Check out was a quick process as well. If inclement weather forces me to stay in Frederick overnight again, I would definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
12
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this place at the spur of the moment. It has a convenient location next to several shopping mall, not too far from the historic down town. The staff went out of their way to make the stay a pleasant one. Paula, manager and Chastity made this a pleasant stay (sorry the name of the friendly young man that checked us in, escapes me). The completely newly renovated and decorated rooms and exterior was all a pleasant surprise, not the run-of-the-mill Country Inn. The only issue was a sparser than usual breakfast. Recommended value for money place!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management5579, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What wonderful comments about my staff! I will be sure to share these comments with Paula, Chasity and Akin. Hospitality is our business and they are true examples of friendly and professional staff. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful week.
Lee Ireland-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Frederick, Md is just a couple hours from my home but I decided to stay a night in Frederick, Md and explore the historic town after a lecture at the Weinberg Theater by Jane Fonda. The hotel is tucked in a corner off of Spectrum Drive by the mall which was a little difficult for me to find because there is not much signage. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. I had difficulty with the key card working which was frustrating but not a big deal. The 2 bedroom Queen on the first floor was large and super clean with WIFI and a TV. The price was 82.00 dollars which was middle price range for Frederick. The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good with a waffle maker, fresh fruit and yogurt and the standard bacon, eggs and home fries. If you are looking for ambiance, romance, a pool and fine dining this might not be your best selection. The location by shopping and chain restaurants is good and it was surprisingly quiet. It is a good value for basic lodging and pet friendly is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management5579, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Charlotte, thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your positive comments and I will be sharing them with our staff. I hope you will return in the future. Have a great week!
lee Ireland-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a convenient,clean,remodeled hotel in the Frederick Md. area right off interstate 270/85 look no farther!
We stayed here overnight and really enjoyed our stay. The check in went great and the room was spotless and very modern! The hotel is still being renovated but it didn't have any effect on our stay.
There are many places to eat close by and also a mall.
You can't go wrong staying here and we would not hesitate to stay here again when we are in the area.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management5579, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! we are delighted you like the new look and had a very positive experience at the property. We look forward to your return.
Lee Ireland-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted at the desk by a very pleasant clerk. She was courteous and helpful
Twenty minutes after we arrived we received a call from the desk asking us if the room was satisfactory and to check if we needed anything.

The room was sparkling clean and looked recently remodeled.

The breakfast was much more than I expected. It wasn't your typical coffee and pastry bar. They had a hot breakfast with several choices available.

Over all very pleasant.

For smokers, you might want to find someplace else. The whole place was posted throughout as a non smoking facility (saw some die hards outside the door feeding their habit in the snow).

One note to management: Check the e-mail you have on the web page. I sent you a note five days prior to arrival and never got a reply. Didn't matter, question was answered during reservation phone call.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management5579, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. First, let me apologize for not receiving your e-mail. We make every attempt to answer incoming questions from our guests on the facility or the surrounding area. Your comments were appreciated and we look forward to you and the family visiting in the future.
Lee Ireland-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick

Address: 5579 Spectrum Drive, Frederick, MD 21703 (Formerly The Hotel Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story interior corridor hotel featuring rooms with two double beds or one King size bed. Hotel offers free hot breakfast, High speed wireless internet access, free parking, business center. Each room has a coffee maker, iron and ironing board , refrigerator and microwave. 24 Coffee available. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frederick Hotel Frederick
Holiday Inn Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.