We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value: Smiles not included” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Frederick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Frederick to your Saves list
Days Inn Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5646 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off three night stay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value: Smiles not included”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We are fans of the Days Inn in Frederick. We stayed there twice last December and January, and now again in August. The room was clean, housekeeping staff were friendly, and the services were good. We had significant problems with our key card (same in December and January), and when I asked for help after the third or fourth time, the promised maintenance man never materialized.

We were concerned, however, that management may have instituted a strict no-smile zone around the front desk. At one point, I may have seen slightest genesis of a nascent grin under the surface of the stony exterior, but I cannot be certain. It may have just been the lighting.

Senior management may consider a joke of the day policy (could be the same joke for each shift), one smile-per-customer quota, or offer a bonus to the clerk who cracks a smile two consecutive days in a row or something to insert the contagion of good spirit. Who knows what levity might catch on!

Room Tip: I always get the non-smoking rooms on the first floor, which face the grassy area in the back. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosette P, General Manager at Days Inn Frederick, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for writing such a thorough review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced with your key cards and let you know that we will work faster to fix any issues that you may have with them in the future. Our staff is typically quite friendly and I am sorry that you did not get the chance to experience their warm and welcoming demeanors. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your trips to Frederick and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    85
    62
    38
    10
See reviews for
84
56
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weirton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The employees were very pleasant and helpful. They recommended restaurants and gave us directions to get there. Our group was early for check-in, so the rooms were not ready. The manager upgraded our rooms and put them together. The whole group was very pleased and appreciative.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosette P, General Manager at Days Inn Frederick, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate all of your good sentiments. Our staff works hard to provide our guest with a great experience and we were glad to hear that we could deliver. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again. Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The room wasn't particularly clean. Toilet seat pretty much fell off when used. The clientele during my stay seemed to be mostly workers, so lots of men sitting outside drinking beer by their rooms or trucks at the end of the day. Every time I went to the lobby for coffee, breakfast etc., the tv there was BLARING Fox News at an almost shockingly high volume. Frankly, we all have different political views and beliefs, and it was disturbing be subjected to that. Evening staff was just plain unfriendly and rude. Downtown Frederick is just a beautiful place, but staying at this place was not very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosette P, General Manager at Days Inn Frederick, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I would like to apologize for the poor impression that we left on you. We were unaware of the issues that you had during your stay. Please make the front desk aware of any problems with the room. We are there to help and make your stay as pleasant as possible. We appreciate you sharing your review and hope that it does not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Frederick

Address: 5646 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY HAS BEEN COMPLETELY RENOVATED. WE HAVE BRAND NEW ROOMS WITH ALL THE LUXURIES AT A VERY VALUE BASED RATE!WE ARE LOCATED 30 MILES FROM WASHINGTON DC, 40 MILES FROM BALTIMORE, AND 20 MILES FROM CHARLESTOWN. WE ARE CENTRALLY LOCATED TO MANY HISTORIC BATTLEFIELDS AND ONLY 20 MILES FROM GETTYSBURG. WE HAVE A CERTIFIED TRAVEL AMBASSADOR ON PROPERTY TO ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS AND INSURE YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL STAY IN FREDERICK, MD.PLEASE CALL US DIRECT TO INSURE THE BEST RATES AND ROOMS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.