We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Frederick
Durham, NC
1 review
“Good Value for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

As others have noted, the bathrooms are very small. That being said, this hotel is an excellent value for the money. The location is convenient to the downtown area where there are a lot of nice restaurants and shops. We found the hotel clean, the staff helpful and our room was quiet. The hotel provides breakfast (what you'd expect - waffle maker, bread, bagels, cereal). We booked through Expedia and got a rate of $79 per night which is very reasonable for the area. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    27
    18
    12
See reviews for
44
51
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Staff was very nice. Front desk very polite both at check in and check out. Great breakfast hostess - wanted to make sure that I know about the hot waffles!

Rooms were clean, tv worked great. The noisy idiots in the next room were read the riot act by someone in authority and the baloney ended very quickly.

The bathroom was the smallest thing I have ever seen except in a WWII submarine! If you weighed over 250 lbs you'd get stuck sitting on the loo! It was almost laughable.

Good overall stay - wush the price had been a bit cheaper but anything within 70 miles of Washington DC is expensive these days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend as part of a Washington DC tour. The tour cost was very reasonable, so we weren't expecting our accommodation to be much. Best Western Historic Frederick proved an adequate place to spend the night.

We were given a twin room, which was large and could easily have accommodated a family. Included was a fridge (large by hotel standards), a microwave, coffee machine, television, and several items of furniture. The bathroom was clean, oddly the vanity was in the room and not the bathroom.

Perfect for anyone who needs to break a long journey.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We were in Frederick for 3 days for a wedding so wanted something convenient and comfortable. This place was both, but nothing exceptional.

If you want a comfortable place at a modest price this might fit your needs. The room had a good sized desk and comfortable desk chair, along with an easy chair. The bathroom was tiny. We appreciated the iron and ironing board in the room.

The front desk staff was indifferent, but we didn't have any problems so that didn't come into play much. Swimming Pool is tiny.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Stayed at the BW Frederick for a week on business. The desk staff was fine and very helpful. Housekeeping did fine as well, but I would say they are very noisy...I was working nights and sleeping during the day.

Room overall was just OK. Bathroom is tiny...I mean really small. Sink counter space is minimal. Bed was comfy and there was a microfridge as well.

Wireless internet service totally sucked. Could not get online and stay on at all. Had to go to the business center to retrieve email. Not good at all. And I was on the 1st floor. They could use a few more 110V outlets.

Breakfast was minimal, waffles, cold cereal and juice.

Not a lot of dining choices in the immediate area, but a grocery store and a few places to eat in the shopping center right next door.

  • Liked — Great staff, good location
  • Disliked — Wireless internet was non-existant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsonsburg, md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night for business. The room itself was spacious. The bathroom was very small, but there was a separate sink/vanity area. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was perfect for the short time we were there. The hotel staff that we dealt with were all very friendly especially Cedric at the front desk. It is a no frills hotel, just a clean and comfortable place to sleep, which is all we needed.

  • Liked — price, cleanliness, comfort, friendliness of front desk
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The hotel was awful when I checked in. When I complained they "checked me out" only didn't tell me, until they re-rented the room and someone tried to get into my room. Then the manager called the police and had me evicted (at 1 a.m.). I hope this new name signifies new management, because the management was absolutely unresponsive to my complaint. At the time it was a Quality Inn. I never got any answer from the hotel itself even though I complained to the Choice Hotels chain.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeshore, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, January 9, 2008
This stay was nearly two years ago when the hotel was a Quality Inn and under a previous owner. It is now under new ownership and new management and has a new flag (Best Western). The hotel has been completely rennovated from top to bottom. This review is no longer applicable to this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.