We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel was a decent quality for the price. Good hotel staff eager to please; clean room. Breakfast was a typical hotel free continental breakfast - would have liked to see staff cleaning the tables after each guest left. We needed a room for a night - got there at 11pm so it served our purpose. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Best Western Frederick. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to write this review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    98
    39
    32
    16
See reviews for
77
81
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This hotel is below standard. The room was dirty, with toe nail clipping on bed and carpet and dirty toilet paper in bathroom. All electric items were plugged into one large extension cord, the was carpet coming unglued and there was a horrible musty smell . After complaining they reduced the rate to $45, but I don't think it's even worth that. Worst of all, after complaining they sent the manager to speak to us in the room to grill us.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize that your guest room did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping staff and maintenance team and requested they review their room inspection procedures. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We chose this hotel because we thought it was supposed to be close to the historic part of Frederick. While it was relatively close, it still required a car ride to get there. The hotel is a little older and had a 'used' feel but the owners did a very good job of maximizing what they had to work with. The king size bed was very comfortable and the service was very good. The hot breakfast that was included was good too. The only complaint that I had was the level of security. We had a ground floor room which was fine but the window to the parking lot was not locked - actually, it could not lock. It looked like it should have been bolted permanently to the frame but it was not. There were also items stuck in the side and back doors to keep them open and more than once, I saw people coming in - no idea if they were staff or guests. Since there wasn't a room safe, this wasn't a good feeling when we left for the day to visit Harpers Ferry.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the second floor due to the lack of security but there isn't an elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you were comfortable during your stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. We are also sorry for the problems you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing the problem to the attention of our maintenance staff so that it can be repaired.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife, her sister and husband rented the 2 bedroom suite above the lobby Saturday night. BIG MISTAKE. The partying in the parking lot started about 10PM and lasted past 2 AM. At least 6 phone calls to the front desk didn't yield peace. We finally threatened to call the police. It stopped after 2 AM.
The hotel was comfortable and otherwise a good value with complimentary breakfast. The early night staff was friendly. The hotel should hire security to patrol the parking lot. I notified day staff about our horrible night.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room near the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Best Western Frederick. I was sorry to hear that we had a group of guests that were loud and out of control during your visit. I am truly troubled by your experience and have spoken to front desk department regarding the issues you have dealt with.

Although we do have wedding guests stay with us every weekend, we typically do not have an issues, as the weddings do not occur at the property. We are a family friendly hotel and we do not permit parting at the property.

I would like to thank you again for letting us know about your visit, I hope if you are in the area in the future, you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Ordinary hotel for very reasonable price, but very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good-sized, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast standard, but very good. Would recommend short term stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Best Western Frederick. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we hope to see you again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Clean beds, clean hallways, good air conditioning, friendly staff, and easy to find location made this a nice place to stay. I would probably stay here again, but it had a few small glitches. When we arrived around 8:30 pm we had to wait for about 15 minutes before the desk staff showed up. There was a sign on the front desk that they would be "right back", but it took a while. Our first room had a nasty mold problem around the base of the refrigerator, but I went back to the desk and got another room that was fine, They also took a little off my bill for my trouble. Breakfast was good, with a nice variety including waffles. Really, no major complaints, but things were just not quite as top notch as some places. But all the basics were there, so I think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you, choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Historic Frederick. I want to take a moment to apologize for the glitches that you had encountered during your stay. With your feedback it helps us to continually train our staff to offer excellent customer service. We do hope that you will choose the hotel again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Comfortable, clean rooms. Good breakfast available. This hotel ticked all the boxes. Perfect place to break the trip a road trip to DC. Staff were friendly & efficient. Nothing spectacular but a great budget hotel. Interconnecting rooms make it perfect for a family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwf21052, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you, for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to review the Best Western Historic Frederick. I am happy that you enjoyed our Hot Breakfast before starting your days travel. We appreciate you choosing us to stay while visiting and we hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#10 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#5 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Frederick
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is just minutes from the historic downtown Frederick area. King and Queen bed guest rooms and suites, free breakfast, complimentary Internet access and other amenities make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.