We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not very clean!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Desk staff very friendly and helpful.
We have stayed in better Best Westerns in the USA and when we first arrived this one looked fine and going on the previous reviews we thought this one would be OK as well. The bath room was very very small (a previous review had mentioned this, but this was smaller than I thought it was going to be), the sheets on bed looked tired and old and would have been more appealing if they had been ironed.
We returned one evening to find our room had not been cleaned, towels changed or bed made. Basically the cleaning staff had just not bothered to come in. We had been advised if we left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door past 10AM then the room may not be serviced that day. We left the room at 09.15 and had not put the sign on the door! The evening desk staff advised us that the house keeping manager was away and sometimes that can happen!!! We complained to the manager in the morning and were assured that they would look in to it and were very apologetic.
That day we left the hotel at 09.15AM returned at 08.30 PM to find the towels and bins had been emptied but the bed was not made! The evening desk staff advised us again, that this can happen, had we left anything on the bed as the staff won't touch the beds if there is anything on the bed that doesn't belong to the hotel i.e night wear. We found this strange as on the first morning we had left nightwear tucked under the pillows and had no problem with them making the bed.
We complained again to the manager in the morning and he was very apologetic and adjusted our bill when we checked out that day.
Fortunately we had only booked for 3 days, otherwise we would have found somewhere else to stay. We will never stay in that Best Western or any other again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor over looking the car park for being quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    102
    41
    33
    19
See reviews for
85
83
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in October of 2012. The hotel is within walking distance to historic downtown Frederick. The hotel was in an OK part of town. I felt comfortable enough to walk up the street to a strip mall to pick up some snacks at the grocery. Not sure if I'd walk it alone at night, though. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. My room was clean and spacious, and was equipped with a hair dryer (an absolute essential when traveling). I enjoyed the free continental breakfast. There is an area in the lobby with computers and printers for those who need to check in for flights and print boarding passes. Should I return to this area, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone needing an inexpensive yet nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms equipped with hair dryers. Not far from a strip mall with a small grocery to pick up snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent service and value. Stayed here for the Frederick Running festival again. Provides early bag breakfast for runners. Very accomodating for all your needs. Very clean. Great breakfast. They always go out of there way to assist.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
547 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As with most Best Westerns they're more than adequate. This one was located just minutes to downtown. There was a bit of confusion on check-in but overall was a pleasant stay with the exception of horrible, hard, lumpy pillows and a creaky, springy bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel was nice and a better then expected breakfast. Great location for somebody passing through. With the great location right off the freeway comes the noise from the freeway. I will stay here again but when I do I will ask for a room on the second floor near the front of the hotel which I think will solve the noise issue. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our stay and we were. Some of the reviews talk about a bad mattress, not in my room, I slept well. The back part of the hotel in the hallway was very smokey as well and being a non smoker I did not care for it. Will stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: Stay in the front of the hotel to avoid the road noise and smokers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than enough and the room was clean as well. My wife and I will definitely be coming back for another get-a-way close to home. Location is good. It is a decent walk, or $10 cab ride to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#10 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is just minutes from the historic downtown Frederick area. King and Queen bed guest rooms and suites, free breakfast, complimentary Internet access and other amenities make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.