We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Manor
5820 Carroll Boyer Road, Frederick, MD 21769   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Frederick B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I had planned to escape for a night over a long weekend to recharge away from the kids. Stone Manor seemed perfect, and we were excited to find they had availability just a few days in advance.

Unfortunately, hours before we were scheduled to hit the road, one of our children came down with a terrible bug. We called the inn to tell them we couldn't make it and to see if we could reschedule our stay. We told them we didn't want a refund. Our kid just got sick and we were very much hoping to reschedule once she got better.

They said no.

Now mind you, when we booked (just a few days ago), we were told that they had only one other booking that weekend. So, there were no capacity issues at all.

I know they have a no refund policy. But we have stayed in many B & B's and hotels over the years. And on the rare occasions that we have had to cancel due to circumstances beyond our control, we found that most places were willing to work with us, particularly if they were not full.

But not Stone Manor. I would expect this kind of a treatment from a large chain hotel, but was very disappointed to receive it from a local inn that prides itself on the personal attention it gives its guests.

I know for most people this review may not matter. Chances of folks having to cancel are typically slim. But as a parent with small kids, I know that life requires a certain amount of fluidity, and I don't appreciate people in the "service" industry that don't understand that.

We were excited to stay here -- given the proximity to our home in DC, we were hopeful that it might become a regular getaway location.

But as a result of their unwillingness to work with us, they have not only lost a potential long-term customer, but we will urge everyone we know (particularly other parents) looking for a getaway that they look anywhere BUT Stone Manor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved the picture perfect setting. Rooms a good size and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures and furniture is showing its age in the Laurel room but still comfortable. The inn keepers are very inviting and attentive. The breakfast is nice homemade touch. It is a popular wedding venue there was one every day we were there. The wedding tent was on the opposite side of our room so noise was not an issue. One of the best bed and breakfast we have done.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I just had a remarkable mid week anniversary visit to Stone Manor and it was one of the best B and B visits we have had and we have been visiting B and B's for 30 years. The manor is beautifully situated on 100 acres of forest and farmland with a lovely pond and fountain as well as gardens which we viewed from our porch. We chose the Laurel Suite which was perfect with a parlor with a fireplace as an added luxury. The bed was very comfortable and the separate double bath and shower were great. The house was meticulously kept and the innkeepers, Astra and Vern, were exceptionally nice people as well as excellent resources. They could not have made us feel any more welcome and Astra fixed amazing breakfasts as well. This was an extraordinary getaway for us and we plan to go back in the winter to appreciate the manor in the winter as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were delighted with the beautiful suite we stayed in - it was spacious and equipped to the highest standard.
We service was very good and nothing was too much for the staff!
We certainly will be back one day in the near future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I highly recommend Stone Manor for couples. My boyfriend and I visiting from Arlington; its a quick getaway from northern VA and DC. We visited several wineries nearby, and highly recommend Sugarloaf Winery (but that's another review).

Be aware that Stone Manor does host weddings, and I suspect they are a frequent occurrence during the season, due to the beauty of the location. There was a wedding taking place when we checked in, but there was ample parking and the wedding was outside in a tent removed from the house, so it wasn't much of a distraction. We actually thought it was fun to see everyone dressed up and got a little entertainment sitting on the porch when the guests started departing. If you are looking for a silent retreat, you might seek somewhere less popular for the wedding circuit.

Nevertheless, the Stone Manor was very relaxing and a charming experience. The rooms are beautiful, large and still cozy. If for no other reason, just go stay to get inspiration for the next gigantic bathroom/sitting room that you add to your home ;) (ok, wishful thinking, every woman's dream).

The inn keepers, Vern and Astra were lovely, courteous and endearing hosts. They were immediately friendly and accommodating, which lasted throughout our short stay. Some B&Bs are overbearing, not here. They made themselves available for whatever was required, but did not bother you or hover over you at breakfast. It was the perfect balance of hospitality and privacy.

I would highly recommend this to all DC-area couples for a short getaway close to home, and to out of towners who want to see a cozy little part of (what I consider) rural MD.

It looks like the only 1-star review here is due to the fact that the family brought 2 children; the website clearly says no children under 21 are allowed. This is also a perk :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in mid-March. The weather was gray and gloomy, but we had a fantastic time. The Laurel Suite was pretty and roomy, and the fireplace made it even more cozy. It was wonderful having an extra room, where I could read, while my husband, sleeping beauty, caught up on his zzzzs. There was a small table outside our door with coffee and tea, which was a nice touch. Having a back entrance was a plus, as we didn't have to traipse through the building to get to our room.

Vern and Astra were incredible hosts! They are such nice, friendly people, and a joy to talk to. They gave us great suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. Astra's breakfasts were delicious, and the room where breakfast was served felt so warm and welcoming.

We loved that this inn is tucked away in a beautiful rural area, and yet only a few minutes drive to Frederick. We fell in love with this great walking town, with its wonderful assortment of shops, restaurants, and cultural attractions. I loved the art museum (check out the angel drawing that can be seen in proper perspective only from the museum window) and the Civil War Museum of Medicine. As for restaurants, we loved Ayse, which featured mezza (small plates - kind of like tapas, only Mediterranean, and Olives. The restaurants we loved that were a little outside of town included Monocacy Crossing, Dutchess Daughter, and Braddocks. Crossing (Vern's suggestions!)

We really enjoyed visiting Harpers Ferry, just a short drive away in West Va. In fact, that was the great thing about the location of Stone Manor. It's so close to everything! It's near the border of Virginia, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania. On the way back to Jersey, we stopped at the Inner Harbor and then walked to Little Italy. (I had the best cappuccino I ever had in my life at a pastry shop there - shouldn't be hard to find, as it was the only bakery we saw.)

Now, mind you, we did all this in cold, stinky weather - and had an incredible time. And, we were able do so much in because of the location. We arrived late in the day on Thursday and returned home Sunday afternoon - yet, it felt as though we had a much longer vacation.

Room Tip: Loved the Laurel Suite. It was nice to have a room adjacent to the bedroom (w/jacuzzi) that had a ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for two nights. It was an outstanding experience from start to finish. We were the only guests the first night. Vern and Astria greeted us as though we were old friends coming for a visit. They escorted us to the suite (the Trillium) which was a bit of a surprise. In order to get to the room, we had to step out on a landing that was outside and then step into our room. At first I was concerned. However, once we got in the room, I realized that it was perfect for us. It is a two room suite with a beautiful sitting room. My wife likes to sleep later than me, so this gave me a place to relax with a book in the morning. The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was homemade and delicious. We have had mixed experiences with B&B breakfasts before. This was oustanding.

Since no one else was there, we looked at the other suites. We were blown away by the Gardenia, Laurel and Thistle suites. I would not hesitate to stay in any available suite in the future.

The inn is about 15 minutes away from Frederick. This turned out to be a great asset. The location could not be more beautiful or quiet.

Room Tip: The Trillium is off by itself and therefore very quiet. The Gardenia, Laurel and Thistle suites hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor

Also Known As:
Stone Manor Hotel Frederick
Stone Manor Hotel
Address: 5820 Carroll Boyer Road, Frederick, MD 21769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th-century manor offers elegant lodging in a sophisticated, yet unpretentious atmosphere. Luxurious suites feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, fine linens, and period antiques. Nestled in the Middletown Valley, the pastoral views of working farmland, preserved parkland, and beautiful mountains create a tranquil backdrop for a spectacular Inn. The expansive grounds of the 100 acre estate encourage wonderful country pursuits. Let nature's beauty restore your senses before you set out to enjoy the many nearby attractions. Relax, Rekindle, Restore, Rejuvenate, and Refresh at The Inn at Stone Manor - So Far Away, Yet So Close To Home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stone Manor to your Saves list