We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Manor
Save
You added Stone Manor to your Saves list
5820 Carroll Boyer Road, Frederick, MD 21769   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Oak Hill, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a delightful time at Stone Manor. Vern and Astra were gracious hosts. We wish we could have spent more time. It is one of the nicer bed and breakfasts I have stayed out. We stayed in the Laurel Suite. If you plan to visit Frederick or just want a cozy getaway, this BnB is highly recommended.
They told us that part of the manor dates back to around 1760!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We live in the Washington DC area and we were looking for somewhere close to go away for one night to celebrate our 30th anniversary; Stone Manor turned out to be the perfect choice. The surrounding country side is beautiful, the inn is lovely and the inn keepers are very accommodating. It is close to Frederick where there are numerous really good food choices. We stayed in a large 2 room suite. Although we don't normally consider ourselves "inn" people we really enjoyed Stone Manor. I agree with the positive things others have said; charming, good breakfast, romantic setting (no TV's in the room) . There is only one concern I have. Stone Manor specializes in weddings and has a large semi permanent tent set up to host receptions. The inn keepers said that they have numerous weddings which makes sense as the venue would be a very attractive place to have a wedding. We stayed over on a Monday night and were only one of two guests which definitely added to the ambiance for us. I'm not sure my review would have been as positive if we had stayed on a night on which there was a wedding taking place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

As part of my birthday weekend getaway, we stayed overnight at the Stone Manor Country Club in the Thistle Room, a multi-level room complete with a two-person jacuzzi tub. A separate shower/bathroom is on the upper level with a skylight and cathedral ceiling that amplifies the queen size canopy rice bed. The room was elegant, private, and provided a great "mini retreat" for us. I can see how the Stone Manor is popular for romantic getaways and weddings. Breakfast for all the guests is served promptly at 8:30am in the historically charming Stone Room and is made by Astra Grams herself. We chose a table by the window and were served our choice of hot tea and orange juice. Then we started with a vanilla yogurt parfait with peaches and granola. It was light and tasty. Next, we were served a hot and comforting dish of an egg casserole similar to a fritatta, consisting of eggs with sausage topped with potatoes and cheese. On the side were a couple slices of a delightful lemon poppy cake. Although our stay at Stone Manor was short, the hospitality and service by Vern and Astra was above par. The breakfast was far better than typical continental style breakfasts offered by many hotel chains. I happily took home a bag of cranberry nut oatmeal cookies that Astra made as well. They were a delicious snack for the road trip back home to DC.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Inn Keeper's Vern & Astra were quite friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The room did not have a TV...so no college football or news. The breakfast was delicious and filling. Extremely clean room and Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were having dinner at Volt in Frederick and there were slim pickings for a nicer place to stay in the city. We spent a night at Stone Manor and greatly enjoyed it, clearly the best place to stay in the area. Very warm and welcoming inkeepers, fine breakfast, beautiful building and grounds and generally good accomodations. Only issue is that beds in many rooms are small, would much prefer queen or larger. But would definitely return, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms vary, make certain to get what you want in room size and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I went there on my wedding night and both Verne and Astra were very accomodating!! They were very nice and showed us how to use our jacuzzi in our room and also helping us out when we were leaving. I really appreciate how helpful and respectful they were of my husband who has a disability.

Breakfast was also very good!! We had yogurt with granola and fruit, stuffed french toast, and sausage... also with tea, coffee, water, orange juice. It was all very nice. We were extremely pleased!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Great spot about 15min outside Frederick; idyllic location and beautiful house - very well kept, very clean. Innkeepers Vern and Astra are very welcoming and even guided us to some nearby trails for a hike. Overall great experience, we hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor

Address: 5820 Carroll Boyer Road, Frederick, MD 21769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th-century manor offers elegant lodging in a sophisticated, yet unpretentious atmosphere. Luxurious suites feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, fine linens, and period antiques. Nestled in the Middletown Valley, the pastoral views of working farmland, preserved parkland, and beautiful mountains create a tranquil backdrop for a spectacular Inn. The expansive grounds of the 100 acre estate encourage wonderful country pursuits. Let nature's beauty restore your senses before you set out to enjoy the many nearby attractions. Relax, Rekindle, Restore, Rejuvenate, and Refresh at The Inn at Stone Manor - So Far Away, Yet So Close To Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Manor Hotel Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.