We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Inn

Morningside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morningside Inn
7477 McKaig Road, Frederick, MD 21701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I attended a wedding here this past weekend. The venue was a bit out of the way but was absolutely gorgeous once you arrived. The staff was very accommodating, the scenery was gorgeous and it was well organized.

Cocktail hour is downstairs and dinner is served upstairs. The DJ was nice, the food was okay for wedding food (buffet style, chicken/fish/roast beef), the bartender was good and the music was fun and what the bride and groom requested. We took great pictures outside and enjoyed ourselves. It was perfect for a small-medium wedding (not large weddings, that'd be a bit of a pain) and I thought it was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The views of the rolling hills of Frederick County, Maryland are beautiful from the deck on the back of this multi-story building. We attended a wedding and the staff here ran the event with precision. Inclement weather forced the ceremony inside and the change was easily handled by event staff. After the ceremony, while guests enjoyed cocktail hour with a chocolate fountain and cheese display, the wedding party took photos. It was then upstairs to a sit down dinner of salad and main course. Salad was crisp; crab cake was good (a little more filler than I prefer, but more lumpy than many other venues serve), filet cooked medium. The potato and vegetable were unremarkable but adequate. Food could have been hotter. After dinner, it was back downstairs for dancing and cake. The bartenders were efficient and there was almost never a wait for those wanting to replenish a glass. The event staff was totally outstanding and anticipated most needs (boxes of tissues for the ceremony placed under the chairs of the mothers of the couple)...the staff worked quickly, quietly, and unobtrusively during the various set ups/clean ups of the rooms. If there was an elevator here, I did not see it. The bride and groom rooms for before the ceremony were sizable, with bathroom/shower facilities. There were several bathrooms in the building - which was a big plus (not all old buildings have more than one of each). There is ample parking. However, this venue is not visible from the road, except for a sign and a mailbox - so driving out in the dark can be a challenge on the one-lane winding paved private road.

Room Tip: no longer a B&B - only an event location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I attending a wedding here. 11/2013 . The place was gorgeous. The bride and groom had a ceremony outside which was beautiful. The food was not good at all. We had a Buffett. It was a different type of wedding I've ever attended. Downstairs was what they call cocktail hour then we went back upstairs for dinner then back down for cake coffee and dancing. The place itself is literally in the middle of nowhere with a one way road into the field, but it sure was scenic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

i had my son's wedding here .can't complain bout a single thing .great decor , awesome view.the best experience ever.i would recommend this place for every special moment.the greenery kept us fresh and energetic.

Room Tip: great view . very well designed and decorated ..my son's wedding turned out to be a real deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thank you Morningside inn and An Elegant Affair! Everything was beautiful ( setting, the inn, the flowers) I could not be more happy with the way my day turned out. Thank you Morningside inn & Lisa Monday you were all fantstc!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently had a family wedding here. Lovely place! I've been to over 400 wedding venues (as a professional videographer), and this one had the best bride's room I have ever seen! HUGE. The sitting area of the bridal room doubled as a safe place for little children to play during the reception festivities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a beautiful venue! We were so happy with everything at Morningside Inn. The staff was very nice. We also used Lisa Monday @ AnElegant Affair, what a superb job, flowers were amazing!! And Lanie Minze @Crystal Lenze, so sweet and gorgeous pictures! These people know how to do it right!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Address: 7477 McKaig Road, Frederick, MD 21701
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morningside Inn to your Saves list