We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy was Turnoff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
1305 West 7th Street, Frederick, MD 21702
301-668-1522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 316 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Seafood, Afghan, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Hershey, PA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Spicy was Turnoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love seafood but my shrimp fettucine was very spicy unbeknownst to me - it burned my mouth and throat. My wife's more expensive fish was very good so I reordered but was awkward as her meal was almost finished when mine arrived - and I was charged the high price. Will not return to that restaurant. Gave good rating based on other fish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food! Awful staffing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For starters the Hostess looked like she was either half drunk or half-lit; I recall her name was Margo. She was blatantly rude with my wife and I, the last Wednesday we went to $5.00 bang bang shrimp night. We complained to our waitress, asking for the manager and the manager never came over to our table. As we left that same hostess, Margo, stood arms crossed glaring at my wife.
We love food however, in our opinion bad staffing can deter anyone from a restaurant regardless the quality of food. We refuse to come to this location due to this dreadful employee and experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food at Bonefish is always good, and I've eaten at Bonefish in other locations. Every time we've gone to the Frederick location, it's been a longer wait than they've given us by a large margin. We were told it was going to be about an 80 minute wait - Ok, an hour and 20 minutes we could handle, especially as it was a Saturday night so we expected as much. We were with friends, so we had some drinks to make the time go by. An hour and a half later, we went up to the hostess's desk to ask what our wait was like, and in a very snotty tone, she told us that they were waiting on a table to finish dessert. 15 minutes later, we went up to check again, and were clearly given an attitude with a response of "I can't force those people to get up." It was completely uncalled for - we were very friendly and were not showing any frustration towards her, as we know it's not her fault. We just think that it's a courtesy to tell customers what is going on, when it's clearly way past the estimated time that you give them.

Two hours after we arrived we sat down to eat. We were starving, and luckily we had a great server who made up for the bad hostess service we received. And like other reviewers have said, it is very loud here due to the crowds. We didn't mind, but others may.

I'll never go on a weekend again without a reservation - lesson learned.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We love the food at Bonefish. Dinner is always enjoyed here. Most of the time service is excellent. We have had a slow occaison but that is rare. Happy Hour is great and I love the $5.00 bang bang taco's. My husband gets the 5.00 bang bang chicken.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Busy but quality: Order straight fish, not home special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very popular.. Wait is worthwhile/. Make reservations ahead of time. Waiter service excellent. Lots of bread. In ordering I had a mixed fish dish, rather than a filet. Had lots of indigestion after. This was also frue of friend's mother. Ask for fresh fish, no combinations. Next time, I will.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.