We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a B&B Should Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollerstown Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hollerstown Hill to your Saves list
Hollerstown Hill
4 Clarke Place, Frederick, MD 21701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a B&B Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We could not have been more pleased. The hosts are charming, welcoming, and informative. The breakfast was outstanding and very filling. Everything is generous - coffee and bottled water are always available and the toiletries are high quality. Certainly the decor is over the top (collectibles everywhere). My wife and I are minimalists, so this wasn't our style, but it was well done making it a nice place to visit even if we wouldn't want to live there! The location is close to ideal, quiet, but within walking distance of downtown Frederick. For those dining at Volt, it is a longish (15-20 minutes) but doable walk. Certainly we would not have the slightest hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: If you are dining at Volt, you can always walk there and get a cab back, if you don't feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Hollerstown Hill B&B was as adverstised: quaint and convenient. I'd never stayed in a proper B&B before: it isn't an Inn or a hotel, so make sure your expectations are properly focused. Our bedroom (big on in the back) had a great bed, nice bathroom and a lovely deck.
The couple the owns/runs the place couldn't be nicer.

Room Tip: Get the big room in the back. The deck is nice and the bed was comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Hollerstown Hill looks like another old house on Clarke Place until you go inside. Immediately, you feel like you've traveled back in time and you start to be aware of your posture and ponder on what to wear for dinner :)
Betty and Phil are charming, easy going, and attentive innkeepers. Betty's casseroles are reason enough for you to go.
The rooms are very comfy but a bit dark. Plumbing is definitely worthy of praise especially considering the age of the house. I do recommend the Cottage Garden room as it has a claw foot bathtub and a private balcony.
The B&B is not walking distance from downtown Frederick, well, it is a long walk. However, there is always parking in downtown and the inn.
We have stayed here twice already in one year and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I were overwhelmed with all the "stuff". The unusually large collections of dolls, ceramic Victorian lady-candy dish things, animals, etc etc did not create a nice atmosphere. The mantles, tables, shelves, and all other pieces of furniture were just packed with these things. There is a way to display things, and this did not work. It looked like one of those antique/thrift stores with shelves loaded with stuff. Because the house was very Victorian, the furniture was not comfortable, and there was not a comfortable place to sit in the room. No night stand between the beds (we got the room with 2 twin beds) so no clock or place to leave your eyeglasses, cell phone or watch to know what time it is, water, etc.
The owners talked..and talked...and talked our ears off in the morning. We both enjoy good conversation but it was non-stop and I just wanted a bit more peaceful atmosphere for breakfast. Unfortunately, this was not one of our better B&B experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hollerstown Hill B&B for a quick romantic getaway on a Friday night. It was just the right place to be after a long week. The hosts, the LeBlancs, were as nice as could be. After checking in with Betty, we walked to dinner at the Tasting Room (also recommended) and around lovely downtown Frederick. Betty's breakfast included a casserole w/ ham and strawberry smoothies--yum! I would have appreciated a vegetarian option, but no biggie. The location is just great, as most other B&Bs in the area are outside Frederick city. We liked being able to walk everywhere during our brief stay. It's true, there are a lot of dolls around--kind of kitschy but charming in its own way.

Room Tip: The website describes each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I were attending a conference in Baltimore, but we wanted a more personal experience than staying at a downtown hotel. So, we elected to try Hollerstown Hill, and we are glad we did. The room was comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The hosts were friendly, and the inn is very close to all the fantastic restaurants of Frederick, including Volt, the famous eatery of Top Chef finalist, Bryan Voltaggio. We loved our stay at Hollerstown Hill and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge Area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for a night on a motorcycle trip thru Maryland. Great location. Once we get off the bikes after a day of riding we like to be able to walk to dining and attractions. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Everything was within walking distance. The Innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the area and helped us with our dining decisions . They did not dissapoint us. We would definitely stay here again. Cute dogs!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#10 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollerstown Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollerstown Hill

Address: 4 Clarke Place, Frederick, MD 21701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victorian Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollerstown Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.