We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough Neighborhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Frederick
Ashburn, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rough Neighborhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

This hotel is new but the surrounding neighborhood seemed rough.

We where there with a wedding group and one evening when we returned from a restaurant, we were approached in the parking lot by some people asking for money. There was no security and the whole episode was rather intimidating. After that we were frightened to go outside the hotel after dark.

Oddly enough, despite the name of the hotel, we found out it only has one suite. Still, except for a stain on the carpet, the hotel room we did get was nice and we had no real complaints about the service. The hotel's hot tub was a nice feature.

Their breakfast could have been better. The french toast sticks we had one morning were tough and chewy. The following day they served eggs that looked like something on the space shuttle.

We weren't the only people in our group that thought the hotel was a bit expensive for that area. Not quite the value that we've come to expect from Hampton Inns.

  • Liked — Pool area.
  • Disliked — Rough neighborhood.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
74
53
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
evanston illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

this is a nice quiet clean hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful,the complimentary breakfast was fresh and hot each morning we would definately recommend this hotel to a friend,this is a newer hotel so it was hard to find on-line but definately worth looking for.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — the pool closes at 10:00pm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I stayed at this hotel twice over the last month, each time for 4 days. My overall experience was excellent.

Rooms:
My first room had 2 queen beds and a sitting chair. The 2nd room, with a king bed, sofa bed, and coffee table, felt more spacious, although neither was crowded. There was also a 2nd table next to the fridge/microwave that was great for extra storage or to leave a suitcase on.

Nice things about the room include a large work desk, great lighting (not often seen in hotels), very comfortable beds, a choice of pillows ("soft" or "firm," with a noticable difference), and 2 large mirrors.

The bathroom was also good sized. The sink is in the same room as shower/toilet. My room with the queen beds had a shower/tub, and the king bed room had a shower-sized stall (no tub), so make sure to ask if you want to take a bath!

I have 2 minor complaints with the room: a somewhat limited channel selection on the TV (about 25 channels; hotels like the Hampton usually have more channels) and no newspaper on the weekend.

Common areas:
The first floor of the hotel has the check-in desk, meeting rooms, a pool with separate whirlpool (both very nice), a work-out room (which has 4 aerobic machines only - no weights), 2 computers with internet access and printing (free), and a small pantry. Opposite the front desk is a relaxing sitting area with couches, a fireplace and TV. Next to that is a large dining area that feels more spacious due to the 2-story high ceiling. There is an extensive, free, continental breakfast, supplemented with 1 hot entree. Coffee is available all day.

The common areas were very nicely furnished and created a very welcoming feel to the hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful; they were easily able to direct me to a local gym.

A big plus is the free in-room wired internet and free wireless throughout the hotel. They can even provide an externel wireless antenna connection if you don't have a wireless card.

Location:
The hotel is right off the highway and a few miles from downtown Frederick. A grocery store is within walking distance (although I'd probably drive since it's across a very busy road). Also a few miles away is a shopping center that includes another grocery store, Wal-Mart, Starbucks, Panera, Cold Stone, a few other restaurants, and a local chain called 5 Guys that had amazing hamburgers.

Overall, for a mid-range hotel, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet with free use of an antenna
  • Disliked — Limited TV selection
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

One of the newest design Hamptons. Very slick lobby. Nice rooms, expansive desk. Both wired and wireless high speed internet in the rooms. Dbls have Qn beds, great lighting, Micro/Fridge in the rooms, Marble Vanity. Nice breakfast and everyone friendly. Limited cable selection is the only less than "A" rated aspect. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

The room at the Hampton Inn was exceptional.

Plenty of parking and lighting in the parking lot. Felt safe.

Lobby is very large and spacious. Two internet terminals for use or you can use your laptop in your room.

Breakfast offers quite a variety, different coffees, and other juices, fresh fruit, biscuits, danishes, sausage and eggs, sometimes waffles.

The hotel offers 5 floors of rooms, and 2 elevators.

The room was super nice, with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Plenty of lighting in the room and bathroom. Mattress very nice, with 3 pillows for each bed. TV has plenty channels, weather channel, news channels, and regular channels, HBO and pay per view.

The bathroom was very nice, plenty of nice towels, curved shower curtain. Plenty of outlets in bathroom, some on each side of the sink.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

We just got back from a night at the newest Hampton Inn in Frederick. My husband and I are fans of Hampton Inns - we have two small kids and we always find them affordable yet much more upscale, clean and friendly than other hotels in this category.

This hotel just opened six months ago, and we were impressed. The lobby/front desk is beautiful, with lots of cherry wood and granite. They have a little snack area next to the front desk that is open 24 hours a day - the front desk just puts your purchases on your room bill. Kids loved it...and they even had beer and wine for the grown-ups! They also have a few computers set up in the lobby with internet access. Cool.

The room itself was typical of a Hampton Inn - clean, spacious. We really loved the practical changes made in this newer hotel - they must be listening to their customer feedback. The power outlets were very accessible and plentiful, there were even outlets on each side of the bathroom instead of just one with the built-in blow dryer hogging it up. For business travelers, the desk was large and well-shaped for spreading out and getting work done. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, with was a bonus for a Hampton Inn. King-sized bed was SO comfortable.

Kids liked the indoor pool - it's not large, but it's clean and they had fun. The hot breakfast was great (included in the rate), as usual - and there were a few employees on hand to constantly replenish the food and help the guests. One of them even offered to put a whole new table on the floor if we could not find seating.

My only complaint, and it's kind of a biggie if you have kids, is that there was no bathtub! The shower was the length of a bathtub, with glass doors...but that didn't really help us with a three-year-old who hates showers. Also (sorry if TMI), shaving my legs and trying to keep my balance was no fun! Really did NOT like this aspect of the hotel...but that's about the only thing I didn't like.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick for a week in early June 2006 while we were looking for a house to buy in the Frederick area. We lived in Frederick for 10 years before moving to MA and my husband's job is transferring him back to the area. We have stayed in several hotels in the Frederick area and this hotel is a standout. Note that there are 2 Hampton Inns in Frederick; the other one is located off I-270, at 5311 Buckeystown Pike. The hotel in this review is the newer of the two.

The hotel opened fairly recently and the rooms and common areas are in excellent condition. There is a large lobby area with 2 computers for guest use, 2 tvs, and a breakfast area where coffee and tea are available 24 hours a day. A free breakfast is provided each morning. The first floor also has several business meeting rooms, a guest laundry with a washer and dryer, a fitness room, and a pool/hot tub room. The fitness room is tiny, with a tv, treadmill, cycle, and an elliptical trainer. The indoor pool is very small. There is a large parking lot with free parking.

The hotel is easily accessible from I-15 and there is a grocery store nearby, as well as several fast food places and restaurants.

We had a large room with a king sized bed, microwave, medium sized refrigerator, loveseat with pull out bed, and a desk. Free high speed internet access is available in every room. The bathroom was fairly large with a tub sized shower enclosure, but did not have a bathtub. There was a hair dryer which worked well. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were polyester filled and were lumpy. The air conditioning worked very well. The room itself was quite clean, even the bath, and we found housekeeping to be outstanding during our stay, far above average. Sometimes when you have an extended stay at a hotel, they can get lax about cleaning your room. Here our room was cleaned daily in a timely manner.

All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. I would definately recomend the Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Address: 1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frederick
#2 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location in Maryland’s second largest city, the Frederick-Fort Detrick offers easy access to Fort Detrick along with all the other attractions of the city. Whether you prefer to take in the historical sites or stroll through the town, browsing antiques, this hotel is conveniently positioned for both business and leisure travel. And during your stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet service, free parking, an indoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.