We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Frederick
US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was clean, had a microwave and refrigerator, and well taken care of. There was breakfast provided in the hotel, from 6am-10am for the hotel guests as well. The only negative to the hotel was the really slow 500kbs internet connection, wired or wireless that was provided by the hotel. Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    61
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
50
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here recently due to a snow storm that was being predicted (and never happened). As with other Hampton Inns, it was very comfortable, very clean, and very welcoming. The staff was friendly and helpful. Internet access, parking and an ample self-service breakfast were all included. We hadn't really planned to spend two nights in a hotel and the staff provided us with everything we were missing. The hotel is convenient to the highway but the rooms are still very quiet. There is a pharmacy next door and a small shopping center across the street, which is an added convenience. This is definitely a major step up from Comfort Inn and Super 8 and well worth a little extra cost!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited this hotel originally about 6 yrs ago and I must say that the hotel is just as beautiful now as it was then. The staff and owners keep the place meticulous and the new rooms and lobby are first class. Truly a great place to stay either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great experience from beginning to end. Very clean and comfortable room and a really nice variety of breakfast foods. Excellent customer service from all staff. Front desk staff provided us with dinner recommendations, directions and a menu!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend conference held by my professional association and felt it was a great choice! The conference rooms and support services were very good. I would be happy to stay again just for fun next time. The property is in convenient location; there is a Walgreens right next door, restaurants and shops across the street and more shopping and restaurants up the road. Parking was not a problem.

Check-in went quickly and smoothly; front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Coffee, hot chocolate, hot apple cider, fruit and cookies available in the lobby were very welcoming and the hotel sundry shop was well stocked. You could even get bags of popcorn from Catcotin Popcorn Company, which is a delicious local favorite!

I was happy with my non-smoking king room that was spacious and well appointed with nice furnishings. There was a comfortable sofa and and a huge king bed that was also very comfortable; it was also nice to have a lapdesk, microwave and mini refrigerator in the room. The bathroom was clean and roomy but would have been even better if there was a bathroom fan and more shelving in the shower. Also, the toilet was a little loud when flushing and sometimes it took a couple flushes to clear out. I had no problems with the free Wifi; however, I had a snowy TV on my first night that I reported right away but it couldn't be replaced until the next morning. The function menus on the TV were a little bit of a pain to navigate but at least there was a wide variety of offerings.

The fitness center was on the small side but more than adequate with cardio machines and weights, plus there were televisions on the cardio machines and earphones provided as well which made working out more fun. My boyfriend enjoyed the swimming pool and spa pool, both of which were clean and seemed well maintained. The business center was in the lobby and had three computers and a printer that were all in good condition.

Breakfast was very good; there was a nice variety of hot and cold items with some special touches like maple flavored sausage and toppings for the oatmeal (brown sugar, almonds, mixed variety raisins) Breakfast attendants were friendly, efficient and helpful; the breakfast area and seating areas were clean and comfortable.

If you're ever in Frederick, MD and need a clean, convenient and friendly place to stay that is a great value, this is it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Room was very nice. Two queen beds, mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV. Stayed here to be close to the wedding reception venue. Very convenient to a Walgreens, Weiss supermarket and several nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and found it to be a very nice hotel. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was good and the room was nice. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 was because the key to my room did not work several times and it was not near my phone, credit cards, or anything else that may have caused it to fail. When I went to the desk the day BEFORE my check out about my key, they indicated that I must have extended my stay but I was always going to be styaing for 3 nights, as confirmed with the very friendly gentleman when I checked in. Other than the frustration with the key (4 times) I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor away from the elevator. They have rooms with sunset and sunrise views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Address: 1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frederick
#2 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location in Maryland’s second largest city, the Frederick-Fort Detrick offers easy access to Fort Detrick along with all the other attractions of the city. Whether you prefer to take in the historical sites or stroll through the town, browsing antiques, this hotel is conveniently positioned for both business and leisure travel. And during your stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet service, free parking, an indoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn And Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Hampton Inn Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.