We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Salisbury, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The check-in staff could not have been any friendlier. The young lady at the Check-In desk was helpful with local directions for dinner, and other locations. I will stay here again!!! My room was clean, as was the entire hotel property. I am a road warrior who stay in hotels 125 nights a year. THis was one of the nicest experiances in a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    70
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
86
57
18
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VW_Lupo_TD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Yes, even if you put up signs and call it a non smoking room - IT IS NOT !!! That is like putting up a sign on one end of the pool that says "no peeing zone". It was apparent that my room has been smoked in either against the rules of the hotel or that it was still lingering from the times that it was not yet a non smoking room.
I would wager that it takes 12 months, a new coat of paint, new carpet and completely new furniture before I would call it a non smoking room.
There was even a cigarette burn mark in the carpet right next to the bed. I was there one night on business and had a meeting early the morning after i checked out. The terrible night i had after sleeping in the nicotine and tar infested room was NOT made up for by a wonderful and tasty breakfast. Scrambled eggs ? Were those even eggs at all ? I would not be this harsh writing this review if I had not paid $130 for the night. In this price category things like these are simply NOT ACCEPTABLE. I travel all over the country for business and I hope that this was most definitely my last night in a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: do the leg work and see and "smell" a room first before you commit to it if you have to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My stay at the Hapton Inn was very good. The staff is excellent and the breakfast is very good. It is one of the nicest hotels next to Fort Detrick. The problem for me is the slow internet connection. The internet is complimentary and fine if you only need to do email. My problem is that I have need true high speed internet for business. I am willing to pay for it. The wired connection was not different from the wireless connection: 451kbps from cnet.com I have a Sprint 3G/4G Hotspot just for this problem, but I only get 1 bar from the top floor of the hotel. I will have to wait until I am on my American Airlines plane in order to get my business done. First rate hotel, 3rd World Internet.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice. No problem with the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the nicer Hampton's in terms of cleanliness and service. Breakfast was above average for this brand and the woman who was working breakfast was very helpful and friendly. Location is a bit odd, back in a residential area. We will stay again if travel brings us there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, il
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in a single King bed room. At check in, the clerk was friendly and explained the breakfast hours and amenities. We found our room to be extremely clean and very spacious. The sofa, unlike most hotel sofas, was very comfortable and the bed was top notch. We checked with a clerk later that afternoon for dining recommendations, and she was very friendly and helpful, offering a Frederick tourism book and explaining some options nearby as well as some favorites downtown. This young lady is a credit to the establishment. We enjoyed a nice continental breakfast with many options. Another thing I noticed is that they have coffee in caraffes near the clerk's desk 24 hours. We had to leave early the second morning as we had an early wedding to attend. All in all, this was a GREAT hotel and we were both extremely pleased. The staff really stuck out as being friendly and helpful and thorough. This showed through in everything from the way they interacted with guests, to the cleanliness of the hotel. I can't say enough nice things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good-sized clean room, plenty of free parking, very easy to find if you take US-15 to Frederick (as we did). Above-average breakfast (several hot items, make-your-own waffles, porridge, on top of usual suspects of pastries, cereals and fruit salad) and very decent selection of teas. Good-quality coffee too. This place delivers usual Hampton Inn combination of good accommodation and reasonable prices, and does it in big heaps. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We checked in to this hotel to celebrate our wedding aniversary and

The staff here is rude, sorely and combative. We requested a room with 2 queen beds and were give a room with 2 double beds. This is false advertising, because all of the rooms with "2 Queen beds" are actually rooms with 2 double beds.

The hotel was located in a residential area. I don't feel comfortable with this because of the high crime rates.

When we checked in we met the rudest individuals who did not want to haelp us. We asked several questions and it seemed as though they did not want to answer them.

The next morning we ask the housekeepning staff not to do our room (we even had our DND on the door) which they ignored. I complained and instructed the Front desk that we did not want our room sericed for that day, told the Housekeeper and had our do not disturb sign on the door. Finally they did not clean our room. The next four days we did not have any housekeeping service even tough we never told any one not to clean nor did we have our DND on the door. We had to return to the Front desk to get supplys and our garbage was so full we could not put anything else in it.

Breakfast was average, but the girls were great; Friendly and talkative. The front desk staff toward the end of our stay was nice, but by then it was too late.

I don't believe the GM even cares about the guest.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a king bed. Stay on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Address: 1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frederick
#2 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location in Maryland’s second largest city, the Frederick-Fort Detrick offers easy access to Fort Detrick along with all the other attractions of the city. Whether you prefer to take in the historical sites or stroll through the town, browsing antiques, this hotel is conveniently positioned for both business and leisure travel. And during your stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet service, free parking, an indoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.