We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points Today!
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Standard Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel is a good value but overall just of average quality. We were staying under a group rate so we received a very good price.

Pro's - Polite staff at front desk. Check in was quick. Nice common area and breakfast dining room. The free breakfast was a big plus. The guest room itself was clean and included a nice size fridge and microwave. For business travelers, there was a nice size desk/work area. The hotel has wifi. We were here for a hockey tournament and this hotel is very close to the Skate Frederick ice rink. My son enjoyed using the indoor pool.

Con's - Plumbing was very loud and noticeable sounds of running water could be heard from adjoining rooms. Our room had lukewarm water at best when using the shower. The tub also drained very slowly so you end up standing in a couple of inches of dirty and soapy water. The mattress was very soft and the pillows were small and not comfortable. The tv was not set up to receive hd signals. Door key's did not work on 2 separate occassions leading to return trips to the front desk.

This was a 1 night stay so the con's were of a minor inconvenience. For what we paid including free breakfast for 3 people, the hotel did offer a good value. If i returned to Frederick, I would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    91
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
103
72
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I loved this hotel, especially the exceptionally nice staff. Rooms very clean, wonderful pool and fitness room. Breakfast is more than just continental. They let me ck in early when I was "rained out" of my touristy acitivities the first day. I had a little trouble turning on the shower and the night shift attendant said "bless your heart! we don't mind sending someone up there to help you!" I was touched (and I figured it out). I think they go out of their way to be extra nice, but it doesn't seem like a put on, it seems genuine. I just LOVED this hotel.

As another reviewer said, the location is a BIT (but only a bit) hard to figure out at first but after I did, I found it very convenient to many things. Actually there are several good restaurants within walking distance, easily found via a smartphone search.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Checked in and the place was beautiful and clean. Indoor pool was really nice. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
282 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The front desk staff was outstanding. The room had a great layout with suite-like features in the king room. Location was perfect for us, attending an event in Thurmont. Convenient to 15 although getting to the hotel a bit tricky. Usual Hampton hot breakfast - very clean, comfortable area. All-around good stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Every staff member was extremely courteous; rooms especially clean and comfortable; breakfast excellent, with many options, good access and parking

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was an attending an intensive training course that was being held at this hotel so I wanted the convenience of staying "on-site". Otherwise, Hampton Inn's generally aren't my first choice. I may have to reconsider that now because this place was great. Upon entering the hotel I thought it was a brand new property. Apparently the hotel was renovated a few months ago and it really shows. The common area and the rooms are all done really nice and have granite and other nice finishes I don't normally associate with Hampton Inn. On top of that, every hotel guest I encountered was very friendly and went out of their way for the guests. This property is obviously very well managed. I would categorize this as a 4-star hotel and it honestly was nicer than many high-end hotels I have stayed at in the past. I will stay here any time I am in the Fredericksburg area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed at this property for three nights and really enjoyed my stay. Arturo and Laura at the Front Desk were extremely helpful and personable. The lobby has recently been redone and the rooms are nicely appointed.

The location is very convenient to the highway and to Frederick.

Breakfast was a bit crowded on Saturday morning but it was worth the wait for the waffles!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Address: 1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frederick
#1 Family Hotel in Frederick
#1 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location in Maryland’s second largest city, the Frederick-Fort Detrick offers easy access to Fort Detrick along with all the other attractions of the city. Whether you prefer to take in the historical sites or stroll through the town, browsing antiques, this hotel is conveniently positioned for both business and leisure travel. And during your stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet service, free parking, an indoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.