We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for moderate price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
upstate New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good choice for moderate price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

I stayed in the Hampton Inn Ft Detrick at the end of September this year and found it a nice place to stay. The neighborhood is anything but rough. It's actually an upscale area just outside of Frederick, in a commercial area with a good selection of casual/ethnic restaurants and shopping. The community college as well as Ft Detrick are right up Oppossumtown Pike. I was visiting a couple of friends who live in Frederick and it was very convenient to get around the whole area from this location.

I'm not sure what a previous reviewer calls "not a good value" but for a base price of $109, I think it was fine. After staying in major cities where hotels start at $199 and go much higher on average, and don't include parking or breakfast, this seems like a bargain to me. I've stayed in the real bargain hotels, like Red Roof, and I'll gladly pay a little premium for someplace like this Hampton Inn.

I can understand why someone would be intimidated by pan handlers in the parking lot at night. I hope they reported the incident to the management of the hotel who certainly would have done something about that promptly. I saw no indication of problems when i was there.

  • Liked — new hotel with very convenient location at a good price
  • Disliked — Decor tends to be mundane, typical of Hampton Inns
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    72
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
89
58
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

This is a fairly new Hampton Inn with large nice rooms. The staff was very, very friendly. I asked for a recommention for someplace that would deliver pizza and they gave me coupons. One of the maintenance people overheard that the desk was out of menus and he got one from his office. They also sold beer in the hotel. The room was clean, quiet and it was an overall excellent stay.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

This hotel is new but the surrounding neighborhood seemed rough.

We where there with a wedding group and one evening when we returned from a restaurant, we were approached in the parking lot by some people asking for money. There was no security and the whole episode was rather intimidating. After that we were frightened to go outside the hotel after dark.

Oddly enough, despite the name of the hotel, we found out it only has one suite. Still, except for a stain on the carpet, the hotel room we did get was nice and we had no real complaints about the service. The hotel's hot tub was a nice feature.

Their breakfast could have been better. The french toast sticks we had one morning were tough and chewy. The following day they served eggs that looked like something on the space shuttle.

We weren't the only people in our group that thought the hotel was a bit expensive for that area. Not quite the value that we've come to expect from Hampton Inns.

  • Liked — Pool area.
  • Disliked — Rough neighborhood.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evanston illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

this is a nice quiet clean hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful,the complimentary breakfast was fresh and hot each morning we would definately recommend this hotel to a friend,this is a newer hotel so it was hard to find on-line but definately worth looking for.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — the pool closes at 10:00pm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I stayed at this hotel twice over the last month, each time for 4 days. My overall experience was excellent.

Rooms:
My first room had 2 queen beds and a sitting chair. The 2nd room, with a king bed, sofa bed, and coffee table, felt more spacious, although neither was crowded. There was also a 2nd table next to the fridge/microwave that was great for extra storage or to leave a suitcase on.

Nice things about the room include a large work desk, great lighting (not often seen in hotels), very comfortable beds, a choice of pillows ("soft" or "firm," with a noticable difference), and 2 large mirrors.

The bathroom was also good sized. The sink is in the same room as shower/toilet. My room with the queen beds had a shower/tub, and the king bed room had a shower-sized stall (no tub), so make sure to ask if you want to take a bath!

I have 2 minor complaints with the room: a somewhat limited channel selection on the TV (about 25 channels; hotels like the Hampton usually have more channels) and no newspaper on the weekend.

Common areas:
The first floor of the hotel has the check-in desk, meeting rooms, a pool with separate whirlpool (both very nice), a work-out room (which has 4 aerobic machines only - no weights), 2 computers with internet access and printing (free), and a small pantry. Opposite the front desk is a relaxing sitting area with couches, a fireplace and TV. Next to that is a large dining area that feels more spacious due to the 2-story high ceiling. There is an extensive, free, continental breakfast, supplemented with 1 hot entree. Coffee is available all day.

The common areas were very nicely furnished and created a very welcoming feel to the hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful; they were easily able to direct me to a local gym.

A big plus is the free in-room wired internet and free wireless throughout the hotel. They can even provide an externel wireless antenna connection if you don't have a wireless card.

Location:
The hotel is right off the highway and a few miles from downtown Frederick. A grocery store is within walking distance (although I'd probably drive since it's across a very busy road). Also a few miles away is a shopping center that includes another grocery store, Wal-Mart, Starbucks, Panera, Cold Stone, a few other restaurants, and a local chain called 5 Guys that had amazing hamburgers.

Overall, for a mid-range hotel, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet with free use of an antenna
  • Disliked — Limited TV selection
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

One of the newest design Hamptons. Very slick lobby. Nice rooms, expansive desk. Both wired and wireless high speed internet in the rooms. Dbls have Qn beds, great lighting, Micro/Fridge in the rooms, Marble Vanity. Nice breakfast and everyone friendly. Limited cable selection is the only less than "A" rated aspect. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

The room at the Hampton Inn was exceptional.

Plenty of parking and lighting in the parking lot. Felt safe.

Lobby is very large and spacious. Two internet terminals for use or you can use your laptop in your room.

Breakfast offers quite a variety, different coffees, and other juices, fresh fruit, biscuits, danishes, sausage and eggs, sometimes waffles.

The hotel offers 5 floors of rooms, and 2 elevators.

The room was super nice, with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Plenty of lighting in the room and bathroom. Mattress very nice, with 3 pillows for each bed. TV has plenty channels, weather channel, news channels, and regular channels, HBO and pay per view.

The bathroom was very nice, plenty of nice towels, curved shower curtain. Plenty of outlets in bathroom, some on each side of the sink.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Address: 1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Frederick
#1 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location in Maryland’s second largest city, the Frederick-Fort Detrick offers easy access to Fort Detrick along with all the other attractions of the city. Whether you prefer to take in the historical sites or stroll through the town, browsing antiques, this hotel is conveniently positioned for both business and leisure travel. And during your stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet service, free parking, an indoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.