We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just for Children!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums

Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums
1611 North Market Street, Frederick, MD
301 600 1646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 45 things to do in Frederick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums provides visitors with the opportunity to explore life in 18th & 19th century America. The 1790s Manor House was the retirement home of Maryland's first elected goernor, Thomas Johnson. In addition to the Manor House which includes period exhibits and is Children's Museum the property features an ice house, log cabin, blacksmith shop, carriage collection, gardens and Farm Museum.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not Just for Children!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the home and grounds...........and there was not one child in our group! Although Rose Hill Manor is promoted as a child-oriented site, adults will also enjoy it.

Our costumed tour guide led us though both the beautiful home and various outbuildings located on the grounds. Among the buildings we were permitted to enter were an ice house, a blacksmith's shop, a small log home, and a carriage house filled with gorgeously restored sleighs & carriages. Just to see them was worth the small admission price that was charged.

This is a site definitely worth visiting!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our costumed docent gave us an interesting and informative look into the lives of the families that lived in this house over the years. The house is in very good condition and is furnished well. There are several outbuildings on the pretty grounds, including an ice house, blacksmith's shop, small log cabin and a modern building filled with gorgeous, restored carriages and sleighs. The admission price is minimal and well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place for the little ones to see the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When my three girls were small, I took them to Rose Hill on more than one occasion. It is such an accurate representation of how homes were lived in, how food was cooked, etc. It really opens their eyes to the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
583 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“A Real Plantation in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited twice, last year and year before and both times it was an interesting and educational experience. The house and gardens, as well as outbuildings are open to the public and there are costumed docents who conduct the tours. The price is right, at about $5 or $6 for adults. This is a lovely way to spend a weekend afternoon.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Programs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is a great place to spend time, especially when there are special events and programs for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums also viewed

 

Been to Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.