We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tasting Room

Tasting Room
101 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
240-379-7772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 322 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church Street
Boyds, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I went to The Tasting Room to celebrate our 47th anniversary. It was early in the week but it seemed to be rather full. It is a small restaurant on a busy intersection in downtown Frederick MD. The people watching was fabulous! However, the noise level was horrible and my husband had a difficult time hearing when we conversed. Our appetizer of the fois gras was fantastic, our salads were very good, but the entrees (we both had fish) were just okay, nothing special. Our waiter was very nice and polite which we both appreciated. It had been a couple of years since the last time we were there and I think it will be a couple more unless they do something for noise abatement.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    22
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mt airy, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went for the first time last weekend. We had made a reservation, and were seated right away.
The service was very good. There were 4 of us. We shared 2 starters-calamari and beef carpaccio. Both were amazing! Two of us had the monkfish. It was served with Yucca and grapefruit in the dish. We both cleaned our plates. 1 of us had lamb, and the last of us had the duck breast special. The lamb dish was the best lamb we have ever had! We had the mexican chocolate tart for dessert, and were fighting for the last bite.
The only downside to this place is the size of the restaurant, and the noise level. I wouldn't choose to go here for an intimate, romantic meal. I would certainly recommend for an evening out with friends or family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
1 review
“take-home dissapointment....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant in downtown Frederick, Md. We really enjoy the high quality of food and service. Just one note... Do not let them pack up your leftovers for you... They may come mixed together in the same container :( Also, if you get any food for take home, do make sure you open the bag to ensure you are not disappointed later. Still one of my favorite restaurants in Frederick!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentines Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our dinner here. We had Justin who was an amazing server, was extremely knowledgeable about the menu as well as the wine list. He even convinced me to stray from my normal wine choice and go with a different varietal and I ended up loving it!

Had a pork belly and quail egg "play on breakfast" for our appetizer - delicious! I've had pork belly several times but this was the best. Every flavor worked well together.

For dinner I had the organic salmon and my fiancé had the duck 2 ways. Both great, not a complaint. Half way through we got a lobster mashed potato, if this is on the menu when you go - you must get it! I personally don't enjoy lobster but I found these mashed potatoes to be one of the best thing Ive tasted.

Dessert came and we weren't totally stuffed ( portions are good, I hate leaving dinner feeling too full ) got the banana bread bread pudding. Again, another amazing dish from Tasting Room.

I would go back in a heart beat and recommend this to anyone looking for genuinely good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This IS the place to enjoy a great meal with Great service. I would HIGHLY recommend this to EVERYONE.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.