We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cheese and bacon fries ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wags

Wags
24 S. Market St, Frederick, MD 21701
301 694 8451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 318 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best cheese and bacon fries ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

To feel right at home in Frederick Maryland, slip down the stairs to a tiny local favorite, Wags. Great, friendly service. Burgers and fries cooked perfectly. Bar foods done well and served with a smile. A mountain of fresh real potato fries served with your choice of cheese, bacon, sour cream, ranch dressing - delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The food is just delicious! Burgers ,BLT's, veggie sandwich, fries...so good! It is a bar but the food is worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent food in an underground bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a Saturday around 2pm, Wags was packed! This bar was recommended to us by a few locals as we passed through Frederick. Overall the burgers were decent, but did not live up to the hype. I liked the creativity of the burger toppings (like the Reuben or Philly Cheesesteak). However, the restaurant was literally underground, dark and hot. My biggest concern was that there was only 1 waitress and 1 bartender serving 60+ customers, which made for rushed service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing fries and delicious burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We'd read reviews and have been wanting to dine here for a wile. We finally went this evening. A little dark and small. Some of the customers were loud, but the music was great and the waitress was friendly and efficient. The. Food was excellent. I had a blue cheese burger with bacon, cooked to medium rare perfection. I substituted fries for the chips. The plate came with a mountainous pile of the most delicious fries I've ever had--better than the kind you get at the beach. There was way more than a human should be able to eat, but I ate every last one of them. I couldn't stop--I swear, those things must have crack in them! Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly oldetime bar with great happy hour drink special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stopped here our first night here. It is a nice size basement bar... not big but not too small... kind of just right for a neighborhood place. The waitress was happy, the other patrons seemed happy as they should with 2 for 1 drink specials. The prices weren't inflated. The food was ok pub food. I didn't find the fries to be anything special as they were hyped up on the menu. A good starting point for an evening out in old Frederick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wags also viewed

 

Been to Wags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wags, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.