We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wags

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wags
24 S. Market St, Frederick, MD 21701
301 694 8451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 321 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The food is just delicious! Burgers ,BLT's, veggie sandwich, fries...so good! It is a bar but the food is worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    18
    22
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent food in an underground bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a Saturday around 2pm, Wags was packed! This bar was recommended to us by a few locals as we passed through Frederick. Overall the burgers were decent, but did not live up to the hype. I liked the creativity of the burger toppings (like the Reuben or Philly Cheesesteak). However, the restaurant was literally underground, dark and hot. My biggest concern was that there was only 1 waitress and 1 bartender serving 60+ customers, which made for rushed service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fries and delicious burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We'd read reviews and have been wanting to dine here for a wile. We finally went this evening. A little dark and small. Some of the customers were loud, but the music was great and the waitress was friendly and efficient. The. Food was excellent. I had a blue cheese burger with bacon, cooked to medium rare perfection. I substituted fries for the chips. The plate came with a mountainous pile of the most delicious fries I've ever had--better than the kind you get at the beach. There was way more than a human should be able to eat, but I ate every last one of them. I couldn't stop--I swear, those things must have crack in them! Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly oldetime bar with great happy hour drink special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stopped here our first night here. It is a nice size basement bar... not big but not too small... kind of just right for a neighborhood place. The waitress was happy, the other patrons seemed happy as they should with 2 for 1 drink specials. The prices weren't inflated. The food was ok pub food. I didn't find the fries to be anything special as they were hyped up on the menu. A good starting point for an evening out in old Frederick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“best roast beef sandwiches anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great service and excellent food. They have several varieties of roast beef sandwiches which are all great. Also good burgers. yes, Wags is about 6 steps below street level and it is a little dark and dank - but I thought they call this "atmosphere?". In an age where most places look alike and serve the same hamburgers, etc Wags has a unique feel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wags also viewed

 

Been to Wags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wags, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.