We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool brew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's Alley

Brewer's Alley
124 N Market St, Frederick, MD 21701-5422
301-631-0089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 330 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cool brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A bar and restaurant built in the old Frederick Opera House, Brewer's alley is a gem in downtown Frederick. The craft beers are execellent but the food was a great surprise. Great salads and the entrees changes often to fit the season and are very tasty. I recommend it as a stop on the downtown Frederick food and beer hop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    111
    55
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great place for beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food here is more home style cooking. It's ok, not the best I have had, but a fun place when you can sit outside and have a sandwich and a beer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Frederick Restaurant Brew Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great local Brewq pub restaurant for bar scene, wood fired pizza and great food. Menu chages often and most things that I know of are homemade.
Nothing formal or high class buta good plate of food with taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Brewer's Alley seemed like a typical college/sports bar. Pretty good beer selection - including lots of local, craft beer - but nothing was spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Busy Night, March 17”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went to Brewer's Alley on an extremely busy night for a pub like restaurant. I had a yen for corned beef and cabbage and saw online that it was on the menu. When we arrived, it was super crowded, but we were seated within 10 minutes. I ordered said corned beef and cabbage, husband had fish and chips. He said that his meal was mediocre and bland. My corned beef dish came in a bowl and consisted of two thin stringy pieces of meat, that were hard to chew. I think the meat was cut in the wrong direction. Also, a small cut of cabbage two pieces of carrot and a tiny potato. So, needless to say it was a disappointment. We have been there before and it was good for a hamburger.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Alley also viewed

 

Been to Brewer's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.