We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewers Alley - The County's First Brewpub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's Alley

Brewer's Alley
124 N Market St, Frederick, MD 21701-5422
301-631-0089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gaithersburg
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Brewers Alley - The County's First Brewpub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

While visiting historic downtown Frederick during the July 4th holiday weekend, I paid another visit to Frederick County’s first brewpub. Brewers Alley is easy to find since it is located in a large brick building on the eastern side of North Market Street. According to the server, it once housed City Hall and a theater. Enter beneath the wrought iron archway and cross the patio into the entrance, where you come to the reception area. This is a large place with several dining rooms, but if the bar area is your goal, go through the door next to the reservation desk.

This is a moderate-sized area with high-tops and tables spread about; the bar is in the middle of everything. While quaint and comfortable, this room could probably do with some more natural light – perhaps larger front windows, so patrons can get a better view of bustling Market Street.

Although, advertised as a brewpub, Brewer’s Alley beer is made about 2 miles up the road at Monocracy Brewing. According to the server, they simply ran out of room for the brewing equipment – or did they just want more space for paying customers? Hmmmm.

The draft selection during my visits – once for lunch and dinner – consisted of a fruity kolsch, a crisp pilsner, the requisite pale ale, the mandatory wheat, oatmeal stout and a cask porter. The ones I had were well-crafted, tasty and fresh. Yummmm. In addition, they were all of moderate alcohol, and made great sessional quaffs. Another plus was the price: $4.00 a pint - minus a buck during weekday Happy Hour. Include some very attentive service along with an eclectic menu, which included some superb fish tacos, and Brewers Alley is a worthy goal should you find yourself in search of history

Frederick is a beautiful destination with plenty to see and do. Plus, the parking is plentiful ($1.00 on weekends). Will most certainly stop here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    103
    51
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We picked Brewer's Alley based on the reviews of other Trip Advisor contributors who were spot on! The food was excellent, the service prompt and friendly and the atmosphere was very pleasant. We were seated outside on the front patio so we could take in historic Frederick. The menu had many excellent selections from full plate dinners to pub sandwiches, pizza and appitizers. The kid's menu had the usual suspects -- chicken nuggets, pizza, pasta, etc -- nothing special here but just what the little one wanted. The bistro french onion soup was very tasty. The organic mixed green salad with champaign vinaigrette dressing was exceptional. The pulled pork sandwich was out of this world. It was served with pickle, shoe string fries and cole slaw. The spicy 3 pepper burger was juicy, very tasty and cooked to perfection. As for the pizza, there were many selections and the pie at the table behind us looked and smelled sooo good, I almost asked for a slice. Also the beer was good (try the nut brown ale) and the fresh brewed root beer was also a favorite. They had live music scheduled for 8pm but we left before the band started. Brewer's Alley is a selection you will not be disappointed in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had the Margherita Pizza and my wife had the Mandarin Spinach Salad, both were quite good. They had a reasonable slection of beers, I had the Hefeweizen which was very good. The restaurant permits dogs in the outside seating area which made for an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On my travels, I like to stop at brew pubs- Brewer's Alley was wonderful. It's located in historic Frederick, MD, and it's very difficult to both make good beer and serve good food- this brew pub is the whole package. I ate the Spanish-style flatbread pizza (cooked over fire) and it was terrific! My other traveling companions had great dishes and we all sampled each other's plates- all the food was quite well prepared. The beer is very good and paired well with our food choices. If you like brew pubs, this one's not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great variety of interesting dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were traveling past Frederick and love to stop for interesting food. This was no disappointment. The were a number of beers- most offered as 5 ounce sampler size for $1.50. Great since we were traveling. I was scared but tried the blackened fish Reuben- it was excellent. The Turkish stew was tasty and the chocolate creme brule was to die for

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Alley also viewed

 

Been to Brewer's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.