We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's Alley

Brewer's Alley
124 N Market St, Frederick, MD 21701-5422
301-631-0089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 321 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bucks County PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We picked Brewer's Alley based on the reviews of other Trip Advisor contributors who were spot on! The food was excellent, the service prompt and friendly and the atmosphere was very pleasant. We were seated outside on the front patio so we could take in historic Frederick. The menu had many excellent selections from full plate dinners to pub sandwiches, pizza and appitizers. The kid's menu had the usual suspects -- chicken nuggets, pizza, pasta, etc -- nothing special here but just what the little one wanted. The bistro french onion soup was very tasty. The organic mixed green salad with champaign vinaigrette dressing was exceptional. The pulled pork sandwich was out of this world. It was served with pickle, shoe string fries and cole slaw. The spicy 3 pepper burger was juicy, very tasty and cooked to perfection. As for the pizza, there were many selections and the pie at the table behind us looked and smelled sooo good, I almost asked for a slice. Also the beer was good (try the nut brown ale) and the fresh brewed root beer was also a favorite. They had live music scheduled for 8pm but we left before the band started. Brewer's Alley is a selection you will not be disappointed in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    65
    97
    49
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had the Margherita Pizza and my wife had the Mandarin Spinach Salad, both were quite good. They had a reasonable slection of beers, I had the Hefeweizen which was very good. The restaurant permits dogs in the outside seating area which made for an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On my travels, I like to stop at brew pubs- Brewer's Alley was wonderful. It's located in historic Frederick, MD, and it's very difficult to both make good beer and serve good food- this brew pub is the whole package. I ate the Spanish-style flatbread pizza (cooked over fire) and it was terrific! My other traveling companions had great dishes and we all sampled each other's plates- all the food was quite well prepared. The beer is very good and paired well with our food choices. If you like brew pubs, this one's not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great variety of interesting dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were traveling past Frederick and love to stop for interesting food. This was no disappointment. The were a number of beers- most offered as 5 ounce sampler size for $1.50. Great since we were traveling. I was scared but tried the blackened fish Reuben- it was excellent. The Turkish stew was tasty and the chocolate creme brule was to die for

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Name is deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, but the beer selection was very small-only about 8 on the menu. Also they were listed by type, not brand. I had a good moibock, though, and the margarita pizza was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Alley also viewed

 

Been to Brewer's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.