We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's Alley

Brewer's Alley
124 N Market St, Frederick, MD 21701-5422
301-631-0089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 316 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bucks County PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We picked Brewer's Alley based on the reviews of other Trip Advisor contributors who were spot on! The food was excellent, the service prompt and friendly and the atmosphere was very pleasant. We were seated outside on the front patio so we could take in historic Frederick. The menu had many excellent selections from full plate dinners to pub sandwiches, pizza and appitizers. The kid's menu had the usual suspects -- chicken nuggets, pizza, pasta, etc -- nothing special here but just what the little one wanted. The bistro french onion soup was very tasty. The organic mixed green salad with champaign vinaigrette dressing was exceptional. The pulled pork sandwich was out of this world. It was served with pickle, shoe string fries and cole slaw. The spicy 3 pepper burger was juicy, very tasty and cooked to perfection. As for the pizza, there were many selections and the pie at the table behind us looked and smelled sooo good, I almost asked for a slice. Also the beer was good (try the nut brown ale) and the fresh brewed root beer was also a favorite. They had live music scheduled for 8pm but we left before the band started. Brewer's Alley is a selection you will not be disappointed in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    131
    58
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had the Margherita Pizza and my wife had the Mandarin Spinach Salad, both were quite good. They had a reasonable slection of beers, I had the Hefeweizen which was very good. The restaurant permits dogs in the outside seating area which made for an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On my travels, I like to stop at brew pubs- Brewer's Alley was wonderful. It's located in historic Frederick, MD, and it's very difficult to both make good beer and serve good food- this brew pub is the whole package. I ate the Spanish-style flatbread pizza (cooked over fire) and it was terrific! My other traveling companions had great dishes and we all sampled each other's plates- all the food was quite well prepared. The beer is very good and paired well with our food choices. If you like brew pubs, this one's not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great variety of interesting dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were traveling past Frederick and love to stop for interesting food. This was no disappointment. The were a number of beers- most offered as 5 ounce sampler size for $1.50. Great since we were traveling. I was scared but tried the blackened fish Reuben- it was excellent. The Turkish stew was tasty and the chocolate creme brule was to die for

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Name is deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, but the beer selection was very small-only about 8 on the menu. Also they were listed by type, not brand. I had a good moibock, though, and the margarita pizza was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Alley also viewed

 

Been to Brewer's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.