We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have been going here for 13 years...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch's Daughter

Dutch's Daughter
581 Himes Ave, Frederick, MD 21703
301-668-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 330 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I have been going here for 13 years...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I need to tell you that I have eaten seafood all of the place. The West Indies, Caribbean, Bermuda, Delaware, New York etc. The Dutch's Daughter is my favorite restaurant. I travel 1.2 hours away to eat here. And it is worth the gas and time. The crab dip is out of this world and cream of crab soup is wonderful. I have never eaten at a more consistent restaurant for my food to taste the same for 13 years says a lot. The crab crabs cakes are to die for.... My vote for best restaurant in Maryland...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    70
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you are looking for great food and service can't go wrong here. The price is high but worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I had high expectations for Dutch's Daughter. They were not met. I'll start with the good. The service was very good. Our waitress was funny, and very fast. Drinks were kept full the entire visit. The bad. Food just wasn't that good, we ordered the crab meat and asparagus. It was literally crab meat on top of bland, sautéed asparagus. Now, I know lumps of crab meat are something most restaurants skimp on, and usually use filler, they don't do that here, but the entire dish was very bland. My entree was the filet, rare. I've had better. Again, it was lacking on seasoning. Overall, there are tastier, and cheaper options in Frederick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been going to DD for years and have never had a bad meal. My husband's favorite is the fried haddock. He ends up with a meal and 2 lunches from the leftovers. My favorites are the crab cakes or, the very best, crab imperial. If you can afford the calories, the cream of crab soup is to die for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

One of the best Sunday Brunch layouts around!! Dutch's has the best Cream of Crab soup in the area! Highly recommend for a family outing - also recommend making reservations as their brunch is very popular.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch's Daughter also viewed

 

Been to Dutch's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch's Daughter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.