We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food For a $$pecial Occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch's Daughter

Dutch's Daughter
581 Himes Ave, Frederick, MD 21703
301-668-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 340 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Food For a $$pecial Occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went here after hearing so much about this place. We ate downstairs in the "Dungeon." The service was great with a bar atmosphere. Can't say enough about the French Onion Soup or the Cream of Crab soup: awesome! We shared appetizers: bacon-wrapped scallops, shrimp, fried oysters, and calamari and all were very good. Entrees are very expensive, but for a special occasion, you might be able to justify paying $44 for steak with crabmeat. You can get fabulous food other places and not pay these high prices, so I don't think we'll ever go again. Glad we tried it, though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    84
    44
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dutch's Dungeon hits the spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love eating at the Dungeon, great food and ambiance. The bar is awesome. Great drinks, and might I say, " Not a bad choice " on the menu, everything delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Worst Food Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place had good service but the food was terrible. The chicken parmesan looked and tasted like it was made in a school cafeteria, the fish was either over salted or cover in a metric ton of breading and dry. This would be ok if the dishes were cheap but each one cost more than $25, making it unacceptable. To top it of the place looked as if it was my grandmothers house. It was dark and decorated in poor taste. The only positive thing I can say is that the server was courteous and attempted to make things better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore md
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes in Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Dutches Daughter in Frederick and Deep Creek Lake md is a great place for lunch or dinner , Great Staff and Food , I think they have Best Crab cakes any where , and if you want other seafood or steaks also great , They have a great appetizer Crab Bread or Shrimp bread that tasty
I do recommend Reservation at either location , I had a nice family get together at Deep Creek Location that was handle very Nice , also there Brunch on sunday is Second to None .
Frederick Location has a Bar in lower level called Dungeon , one at deep creek has a nice fore place in there bar area

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The meals at Dutch's Daughter are always terrific. Fresh ingredients and the entrees are always delicious. The Dungeon offers casual dining with the same great food choices. The service is excellent! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch's Daughter also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Dutch's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch's Daughter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.