We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab cakes...need I say more?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch's Daughter

Dutch's Daughter
581 Himes Ave, Frederick, MD 21703
301-668-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 319 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Crab cakes...need I say more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Being from Montana I don't often eat seafood. When I do though I want crab. This place has simply the best crab cake I have ever eaten. I sat at the bar in the basement and the atmosphere was relaxed. The service good. The food excellent. The bill was expensive. I'm looking forward to going back!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    136
    59
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shepherdstown wv
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A bit off the beaten path, Dutch's Daughter is an event locale, mainly weddings and corporate events. But on Sunday they serve a very nice brunch, with a fine array of breakfast items, including bagels, lox and capers, steamship round carved to perfection and plenty of sides. Save room for dessert!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“dont be deceived by the name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While visiting Maryland our friends took us to the Dutchs Daughter for dinner. It was a week night so the resturant wasn't crowded at all. We sat in the main dinning room next to the fireplace.
We started with spicy shrimp and spilit a bottle of wine. Next we each enjoyed a cup of the crab soup-this is a must try (amazing) and salads.
For dinner two of our four had crab cakes with crab imperial, one had crab cakes and the other had scallops. Everything was wonderful and worth the money.
However, the prices are on the high side..the dinner above was over $200 dollars. If you aren't up for spending the cash this probably isn't the place to go and truly enjoy a meal

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Not Truly Impressed with Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Ok, I've been to Dutch's Daughter on numerous occasions. I've been for brunch and dinner.

Overall, it's a very nice place to eat. But as for quality of food, I'm not impressed.

The first time I ate there, I had stuffed shrimp and a baked potatos, sorry folks. This potato tasted and looked like one of those potatos you see out of the frozen food section in your local grocer. Sad thing was it actully tasted like it too. Yuck! As for the stuffed shrimp it was ok, but I've had better.

Second time I was there for the brunch. As most people around Frederick rave about the Brunch, I've had better and for about $10.00 less.

Third was for dinner was with a co-worker and my husband one Sunday afternoon. We decided to swing by and have dinner in the Dungeon.

Prime Rib and a crab cake this time. It was ok, but again I think this place is just a bit overpriced for the quality they are serving.

Overall I wouldn't say it was awful food because I've had worse. I just find this place overpriced and the food not worth what they charge. Are you paying for the atmosphere? I think so.

As for service, it was just ok, nothing to write here about.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food is generally very good..There are some dishes below average. Defintely will pay the price for the atmosphere. Prefer seating in the Dungeon and the service is usually better.
Happy hour is very nice and has specials on appetizers and drinks.
We go often at Happy Hour. Also has a smaller portion menu which is good and salads.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch's Daughter also viewed

 

Been to Dutch's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch's Daughter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.