We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Vito!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

Il Forno Pizzeria
1035 West Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21702
301-846-0422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 339 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Try the Vito!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I got a Vito pizza (pepperoni and gralic), to go, last weekend, and it was delicious. I love the thin, hand made crust, and the little globs of garlic. These folks do pizza right, but don't bother with the sides. The salads are nothing special, and the fried zucchini is totally bland. Just sitck with the pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Il Forno has never disappointed us with their pizza. The pizza is cooked in a wood fired oven and the toppings are always fresh. The hardest part is deciding what to get on the pizza. Our last visit I wanted something "healthy", so I got the plain cheese topped with fresh spinach. They are generous with the cheese (lots of cheesy goodness) and the crust is always tasty. You never get a cardboard tasting crust here. Good selection of beers and a popular place for post softball game celebrations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Pizza In Frederick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten a lot of pizza but the pizza at Il Forno left me dreaming about how soon I could get back there to eat more! The menu offers a good variety of toppings - all fresh ingredients. Delicious! I was there on a crowded night after a concert. An adult baseball team was there and although they were loud, service was still good and the food was delivered hot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with kids. Pizza was a disappointment. Crust was crisp, which was nice, but too many toppings made the pizza wet, which made the crust soggy after a minute. Toppings were not that good, either. Staff obviously thought the place was there hang out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza Dough makes it one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a few visits I finally put my finger on what the dough reminds me of... fresh hand-rolled pretzels! If you like those, you will love this pizza, of any variety. Our favorite mix is pepperoni, mushrooms and pineapple.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Forno Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.